AMB M3 capacitor coupling question
Nov 20, 2009 at 9:24 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 8

mewrei

Head-Fier
I'm looking over the schematics of the AMB M3 and I'm trying to figure out if the required 100uF and 330uF aluminum electrolytic capacitors are even in the signal path (debating whether to get some nice boutique capacitors like some Elna's or just go with high-grade Nichicon KW's, and save some money)

I'm not an electrical engineer (hobbyist at this point, not gotten to the electronics sections of my major), so I'd like to verify this information before I dump a bunch of cash into boutique capacitors.

Thanks

Nov 20, 2009 at 9:44 PM Post #2 of 8
Quote:

Originally Posted by mewrei /img/forum/go_quote.gif
I'm looking over the schematics of the AMB M3 and I'm trying to figure out if the required 100uF and 330uF aluminum electrolytic capacitors are even in the signal path (debating whether to get some nice boutique capacitors like some Elna's or just go with high-grade Nichicon KW's, and save some money)

I'm not an electrical engineer (hobbyist at this point, not gotten to the electronics sections of my major), so I'd like to verify this information before I dump a bunch of cash into boutique capacitors.

Thanks

The M^3 is a Direct-coupled, so there are no caps in the signal path. However that is not exactly true, IF you have the bass boost feature you do have 2 caps in the feedback so those two caps cbb can benefit from "boutique" parts.

The ones you mention are not in the signal path so just stick with the recommended parts.

Nov 20, 2009 at 11:22 PM Post #3 of 8
Alright, thanks man

Nov 20, 2009 at 11:40 PM Post #5 of 8
Quote:

Originally Posted by MisterX /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Looks like someone forgot about C1, C2 and C3....

Are those in the signal path? I guess Cbb and C1-3 would be good for boutique caps. I'll have to brush up on good boutique film capacitors.

Nov 21, 2009 at 10:01 AM Post #6 of 8