AKG Q701 Quincy Jones Signature: Help choosing an Amp and DAC!
Dec 30, 2011 at 12:18 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 5

phah0124

New Head-Fier
So I'm new to head-fi and just ordered my q701s from Amazon. I did a lot of research and am pretty confident that they best fit my style in both aesthetics and sound. I'm having a huge problem deciding what amp and DAC I should get though. I would be listening from my desktop, which has a dedicated sound card, my Macbook, and my iPod. I would be using these mostly for music and movies, but also a little gaming. I want to keep it under $300 for the amp and don't even know if I need a DAC. If I do, I'd like to keep that under $200.

After doing some poking around on the forum, I've thought up some combinations but have no idea if they would work or not. I would like to have a portable amp/DAC combo be the DAC and then a separate amp to actually power these cans. I don't know whether to be a cheapy and just go with the FiiO E7/E9 combo, or go with a different portable amp/DAC like Total Bithead and pair it with a Matrix M-stage or a Schiit Asgard. Any suggestions? Would I even be able to use a portable amp/DAC combo with a bigger amp so that I have a lot of power with my desktop, but can still use an amp on the go with my Macbook?

Dec 30, 2011 at 10:19 PM Post #3 of 5
Hi
I am almost in the same boat, except my Q701 hasn't arrived yet, I am getting impatient. For the $300 budget for a HP amp it seems like the matrix m-stage is getting a lot of praise around here, but that's me talking not from my own experience. By the way there's a new version of the m-stage with a built in USB DAC, but you lose one RCA connection out of the two available, you might want to check it out, on tam audio.
As I live in Lebanon, good gear is not readily available, so I order my stuff from the US, mostly from Amazon, get it sent to me through DHL Express Lebanon. So it's usually a long wait before I get my stuff, 20 to 30 days.