Advice for earphones - Phonak PFEs or Future Sonics M8
Jul 20, 2009 at 4:43 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 8

A_Dying_Wren

100+ Head-Fier
Hi guys. I'm a bit new to this whole hi-def sound. My current set-up is a CX300 plugged into a noisy N91. I do intend to change the N91 to something more modern but I'll probably only go so far as smartphones for my portable music needs. I live in Singapore and its not terribly easy to get or try earphones. soundearphones.com is probably the best I can do.

I'm considering really stepping up and getting some proper earphones. I've looked at reviews of the Phonak PFE and the Future Sonic M5/M8 and both seem excellent. Which should I opt for or should I really just get something more along the lines and budget of the vibes? Are there others in this rough budget I should consider?

I listen to an assortment of music -
  1. some jazz along the lines of sonny rollins, miles davis and count basie,
  2. alternative rock like evanescence, death cab for cutie, muse, kasabian, snow patrol
  3. and various tracks I just happen to like

Thanks guys

Jul 20, 2009 at 6:31 AM Post #3 of 8
Well, my CX300's bass is a bit too overwhelming for me. I dunno if that means much though since these earphones are supposed to have way overpowered bass.

How would the M8 compare to the CX300 in terms of the strength and quality of the bass?

Edit: Also, how do the Phonak and the M5/M8 compare besides the quantity of bass?

Jul 22, 2009 at 6:07 AM Post #4 of 8
Bump. Can anyone help please?

Jul 22, 2009 at 6:32 AM Post #5 of 8
as said before, totaly different earphones, one is warm and bass rich, (the M5/M8) while the other has better highs and clarity oriented, but might sound more flat and less fun,

it depends on the type of music and sound signature you like,

Jul 22, 2009 at 8:20 AM Post #6 of 8
These happen to be the two mid-fi IEMs I have owned
smily_headphones1.gif
(well, I have the m5 but that doesnt matter :p)