Adding juice to the Porta Corda?
post-150074
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 4

Fenster

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 1, 2002
Messages
102
Reaction score
10
Joined
Jun 1, 2002
Posts
102
Likes
10
How do I add voltage to the porta corda? External battery pack? If so, how do I do this? (I believe it was Nezer who said that the PC really responds to added voltage).

Thanks!
 
     Share This Post       
post-150351
Post #2 of 4

taoster

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 12, 2001
Messages
1,868
Reaction score
10
Joined
Dec 12, 2001
Posts
1,868
Likes
10
If i remember correctly, a regular porta corda can accept up to 27-28v thus you are free to make any combo battery pack up to 27v.

i use a psu 24v 1amp at home and the porta corda does respond well to the extra juice.
 
     Share This Post       
post-150594
Post #3 of 4

Fenster

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 1, 2002
Messages
102
Reaction score
10
Joined
Jun 1, 2002
Posts
102
Likes
10
When using a 24v 1amp battery pack, are you feeding the porda corda a constant 24 volts? Or are the batteries running in parallel to feed it a constant 9 volts for a longer life? Sorry if I'm coming off as a little bit slow here, I'm just not very familiar with electrical applications and I want to be safe about this. A constant 24 volts wont melt my amp will it?
 
     Share This Post       
post-150675
Post #4 of 4

KurtW

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
971
Reaction score
13
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Posts
971
Likes
13
A constant 28 volts will not damage the amp. Keep in mind though if you want to use an unregulated walwart supply instead of batteries, that the rated voltage is for a fully loaded condition and it will deliver higher voltages at lower currents like the porta corda requires. If you get a regulated 24 volt walwart supply you should be fine, and it can be a lot cheaper than batteries in the long run.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top