AD8066 circuit tuning
Aug 1, 2006 at 9:17 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

mnaglik

New Head-Fier
Hi All,
First of all forgive me that I'm complete beginner if it comes to circuit design.

Because I wanted to have good quality DAC for my Alessandro MS-1 (Grado) I've built usb DAC based on PCM2702 / OPA2134 / BUF634 from circuit that I got from one of my friend (attached).

The problem is that because of lack of OPA2134 I used Analog AD8066 and the result is that in my opinion the output is just to bright and harsh (It's a little better on Sennheiser).

Do I need in fact tune the circuit to play properly with AD8066 instead of OPA2134?
Maybe sth is completely wrong?
Thanks for any hints.

Marcin

Aug 1, 2006 at 9:56 AM Post #2 of 9
is that supposed to be connected to a amp after or drive theheadphones directly? I think you could use a simple resistor based I/V. Much easier and cheaper than OPAMP+buffer.

Aug 1, 2006 at 1:39 PM Post #4 of 9
I'm not sure if I'm correct but you should increase C7 to about 4.7uF because otherwise it creates a low pass filters. In the datasheet of the BUF634 there is a schematic for a headphone driver Using and opamp plus buffer configuration. It is a simple configuration but simple to implement and should sound good. There was a picture of such an amp built by a member here and he stated that it sounded bery good. You could also go with a 3 channel design similar to PIMETA or PINT.

Aug 1, 2006 at 4:40 PM Post #5 of 9
leave C7 alone - it is part of the "multiple feedback" 2nd order filter - you can't change just one part without changing the filter Q and corner frequency - you really want to know you're doing here

a likely problem is that the AD8066 is simply too fast for this circuit - I would expect oscillation in the 10s of MHz when wrapping a 140 MHz GBW op amp around a 30 MHz BUF634 without any frequency compensation