A few questions about Music quality (SACD/FLAC/CD)
Jul 20, 2011 at 4:00 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 3

DaggothReborn

Head-Fier
Alright. I have a handful of questions about music quality. Let me get my equipment out of the way first.

Computer>Foobar2000>X-FI Titanium HD>Decent set of cables (~$200)>Schiit Valhalla>Byer DT770 600Ohm

I will be picking up Schiit's new "Bifrost" DAC as soon as its released, so that will replace the weakest part of my setup.

Except for my music. Maybe. 

I went from MP3s when i was a complete noob, to now FLAC. I have most of my music in 24/96+ FLAC rips. But i still have some questions.

• Will my computer play a SACD or DVD-A? If so, is there a difference between a 24/96 FLAC file and a physical SACD or DVD-A?
  • Will a regular, physical CD sounds as good as a copy of the song in 24/96 FLAC?

Jul 20, 2011 at 4:23 PM Post #2 of 3

Quote:
Alright. I have a handful of questions about music quality. Let me get my equipment out of the way first.

Computer>Foobar2000>X-FI Titanium HD>Decent set of cables (~$200)>Schiit Valhalla>Byer DT770 600Ohm

I will be picking up Schiit's new "Bifrost" DAC as soon as its released, so that will replace the weakest part of my setup.

This is kindly meant. Your existing soundcard is technically superior to your proposed upgrade. There is no technical department in which the Schiit is notably technically superior. Far from being a weak link your soundcard is already really good.

Except for my music. Maybe. 

I went from MP3s when i was a complete noob, to now FLAC. I have most of my music in 24/96+ FLAC rips. But i still have some questions.

• (a)Will my computer play a SACD or DVD-A? (b)If so, is there a difference between a 24/96 FLAC file and a physical SACD or DVD-A?

(a) Almost certainly not for SACD and very unlikely for DVD-A. A PS3 will play SACD but not DVD-A