A few amping questions. Please help me find what I need
May 24, 2008 at 10:17 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 7

Shlonglor

100+ Head-Fier
Hello everyone,

I'm new to the Hi-Fi world, but I'm looking to make a full-headed plunge. I already have some nice stuff (HD280s, Super.Fi 5 Pro, M-Audio Revolution) and now I'm looking to join the big league. I've spent a lot of time reading in the last few days...

First of all, I am probably going to order the Denon AH-D2000s as soon as possible. I also want to amp them properly, so this is the main drive behind this post. I am currently using an old Porta Corda amp I borrowed from a friend (coupled with the M-Audio's headphone amp).

Since I already have a nice sound card, I guess I'd just get a normal desktop amp to power my headphones, but there's another issue - I'm going to spend a few months every year in the foreseeable future in another place with only my laptop with me. Since it only has a ****ty sound card with only one stereo output, I've been considering getting an amp+DAC combo (something that can be connected through USB) to bypass that problem.

Questions:
1) Assuming my sound card is a good one and I only play music through the computer, is there any reason to get an amp that also has speaker outputs? My current speakers have their own amp and I suppose any speakers I'll buy in the future have their own amp as well. The only problem is that I won't be be able to use speakers with the laptop properly since it's a ****ty source and I can only connect two speakers to it.

2) I'm considering getting an amp+DAC combo, like the Meier Cantate. This one's already a bit on the other side of my budget border, but still reasonable... if it's good, which I have no way of knowing. That leads me to other questions:

3) How do I know what quality the DACs on these amps actually have?