$700(ish) DAC/Amp combo upgrade recommendations needed
Nov 19, 2017 at 11:24 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 20

Jamie G

Head-Fier
Hi,

Just joined up so be gentle with me!

So a brief rundown of the situation. I'm fairly new to the headphone world and am pretty much hooked! I'm on the second rung of the ladder at the moment having started with a Dragonfly Black and a pair of X2's, the upgradeitis soon kicked in and i moved to a Schiit Modi/Magni with a pair of HD650's. The 650's have taken my expectations of headphones to another level, but i get the feeling there's more (better) to be had from them. On certain tracks they sound a bit 'thin' and 'shouty' (excuse the terminology, not sure how best to describe what i hear). So my thinking is to upgrade the Schiit stack. Would like balanced preferably, i've heard good things and am curious. Got a few options that i'm considering so far:

• Schiit Jotunheim (seems to a fans favourite with 650's, but trying to get one in the UK is almost impossible)
  • Audio GD NFB-11 (ok, not balanced but cracking reviews and a good price)
  • Audio GD R2R 11/15 (again, not balanced but again cracking reviews and an even BETTER price...although reports of audible 'popping' when changing tracks is a off putting)
  • Aune S6 (Ooooh...screen :D Reviews seem pretty favourable but nothing amazing. Unfortunately also difficult to get in the UK and am not keen on buying direct from China)
  • Anything second hand that would fall in or around my budget (almost pulled the trigger on an Oppo HA1 on ebay)
Anyway, i'd be really grateful for any opinions or suggestions. Maybe i've not noticed some glaringly obvious $400 DAC/Amp from God! Doubtful but you never know. If it makes any difference my listening is done via a media PC running Windows 10 using Foobar as my player.

Thanks in advance guys, and any help or advice you can give will be very much appreciated.

Nov 19, 2017 at 11:40 AM Post #2 of 20