~$300 to BLOW!
Apr 16, 2010 at 10:39 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 41

ohhgourami

Headphoneus Supremus
Hi everyone! This is my first post on this forum. I'm kinda new to this whole audiophile thing. Throughout my life, I've always loved music and it's the thing that makes my day complete.

I was planning on spending this money on a phone but since I'm getting that phone for free now, I have ~300 to spend on some IEMs. Shure SE530's are kinda what I'm leaning to but I'm not sure if that's what's best for me. I'm usually big listener of extreme metal, but I go off on long tangents with Chinese pop and 80's music (let it be metal or just all that pop stuff). I'm currently using a 3rd gen ipod nano (garbage I know...) but I plan on getting a Cowon J3 when it's released and have the cash for it
biggrin.gif

I'm not sure on what to get. It seems like balanced armature seems like the way to go for IEMs but my friend says dynamics have more feel. He just got his Monster Miles Davis headphones and they seem pretty damn good. The bass is strong but it could use a lil more clarity. I want clarity but I also want it to feel like I'm at a live concert. Is it possible to have the best of both worlds? My friend says the Shure 530s are kinda old now and better technology has replaced them.

Guys got any IEMs you can recommend me?

Apr 16, 2010 at 11:23 AM Post #4 of 41
The OP said he wants IEM, so we should recommend him some IEMs. So have your friend burned in his Miles Davis? Are you a basshead at all? Dynamic usually does not have a transient speed that's as fast as balanced armature phones, and transient and speed is quite important in listening to rock.

Audio Technica Ck-10 or CK-100 is pretty good for their mid and highs, but those two might be a bit shy on the bass. Shure SE530 is quite old now, and the improved SE530, SE535 is coming out soon.