$300 headphone (+amp?) recommendation
Mar 30, 2007 at 10:11 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 21

svines

New Head-Fier
I wanna buy some phones mainly for home use and I have about 300 dollars (could be a little more). Im a newbie on earphones (I own an old pair of AKG 66 and a v-moda vibes for my iriver clix). Wich is the best choice for my bugbet, buy only the headphones or headphones+amp? Wich phones or phone amp combo can you recommned me for this money? Thanks

Mar 30, 2007 at 10:17 PM Post #2 of 21
what kind of music do you listen to? what are you going to be running them out of? do you need isolation or does it not matter?

Mar 30, 2007 at 10:31 PM Post #3 of 21
Im gonna use them at home so I dont need isolation or very portable phones. I listen a lot kind of different music, new wave, pop, rock and even some classical. I also cant go and try some phones at a store cause I live in Chile and here the headphone offer is very limited.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sh0eBoX /img/forum/go_quote.gif
what kind of music do you listen to? what are you going to be running them out of? do you need isolation or does it not matter?

Mar 30, 2007 at 11:22 PM Post #4 of 21
Audio-Technica ATH-A900 + Xin Supermacro IV, maybe
smily_headphones1.gif

Mar 31, 2007 at 8:45 AM Post #5 of 21
how Xin Supermacro IV cost? my 300 buks budget should include both headphones and amo, I can spans 400 if it really worth it

Quote:

Originally Posted by undo /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Audio-Technica ATH-A900 + Xin Supermacro IV, maybe
smily_headphones1.gif

Mar 31, 2007 at 9:06 AM Post #6 of 21
Just get phones first. $150 phones plus a $150 amp will never be as good as $300 phones. Big sound change from amps comes at a higher price point.

I would get MS2i $300 USD and then get an amp down the track, the sound in the interim will still be excellent. Mind you I love the Alessandro sound.