12AU7 PCB Starving Student Hybrid Amp - zammykoo Build Log
Aug 30, 2011 at 12:35 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 59

zammykoo

100+ Head-Fier
Hey all, this will be my 12AU7 SS build log. I wanted to separate my design thread from the actual build, but for reference you can find it here

Many thanks goes to Dsavitsk and TomB!

Etch today, drill tomorrorw:

Aug 30, 2011 at 9:56 PM Post #4 of 59
Thanks fellas,

The top side of this board looks good but the ground plane got a bit messy. I'm going to try and make a better pcb for the build. This is my first time making double sided copper boards, it's quite tough.

I did this with the good ol' toner transfer method
smily_headphones1.gif

Aug 31, 2011 at 12:35 AM Post #5 of 59
Hey! Can I use your PCB design too? I'm doing a project in school and I wanted to etch a board with CnC the drill it. I was about to post for something I could put into MasterCAM but it looks like I found it! Can you send me a PM or post up your design sheet so I can take it learn from it then etch a PCB for class?

Thanks!!!

Aug 31, 2011 at 8:55 AM Post #7 of 59
Try some of the advice here for your next etch and you might
get a better ground plane.
Otherwise, good job for a first try at a double sided board!

Aug 31, 2011 at 10:53 AM Post #8 of 59

Quote:
Try some of the advice here for your next etch and you might
get a better ground plane.
Otherwise, good job for a first try at a double sided board!

Funny that you mention this because I found that thread just last night! I'll definitely give that a try. But to be honest, I think I just didn't apply enough heat to the toner on the ground plane side. Since I've never had to transfer such a solid area before I didn't know how long to expect.

Sep 5, 2011 at 5:53 PM Post #9 of 59
Been super busy so I've only been able to do a bit at a time. Etched a couple more pcbs and got the ground plane down pretty good.

Question for PCB experts: