128kb bitrate worth getting new headphones?
Oct 26, 2009 at 12:06 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 28

henrylee

100+ Head-Fier
Hi ,i'm a sorta a newbie to all the audiophile things . I was wondering from a ipod with 128kb bitrate mp3 file would it be worth it to consider new headphones ? Now i got the cx300 ,se110 and i'm about to get the es7 . Since is coming stright from the 3.5m jack of the ipod classic and through the format i mentioned earlier ,would new headphones do much to the sound quality ?

since i have 8000 songs which is in that format i can not do much to change my music source .

thanx in advance

Oct 26, 2009 at 1:35 AM Post #2 of 28
My personal experience has lead me to believe that it cannot hurt. I have a 50,000+ lossy library that I listened to for many years. When I started out I was using generic crap headphones. When I upgraded to Senn HD280's I was able to get a lot more out of the music. In other words, I was able to get more detail instead of having the tracks low quality revealed which made it a worthwhile upgrade.

Of course you walk a fine line when you upgrade. If you try to play 128's through really good equipment they could just sound terrible. However, if you get a reasonably price 'can that isn't too bad I think that you can get more out a 128 then you can get with something like a discman generic headphone.

Oct 26, 2009 at 1:51 AM Post #3 of 28
Of course it will change, though I will not say upgrade because it is all down to personal taste. The benefits of having higher quality headphones go far beyond being more analytical or revealing, they may show the problems in the source more but the improvement or change in sound will be there no matter your source.

Oct 26, 2009 at 1:54 AM Post #4 of 28
I cannot imagine an iPod and ES7 are revealing enough to make 128k a problem, though buying or ripping your music in 320 or FLAC would help a lot as far as SQ.