DUNU Falcon-C

  1. Zelda
    Dynamic Flagship
    Written by Zelda
    Published Mar 21, 2018 at 3:16 AM
    Dunu Falcon-C - Dynamic Flagship IEM


    Once again, a new Dunu in-ear set, and this time not in the hybrid drivers’ setup fashion. Instead, this new Falcon-C model is the current dynamic flagship and features a full range single driver of Carbon Nano-tubes diaphragm, which is a completely new take for the Dunu Topsound company. It doesn’t stop just there in a new driver, but with a brand new shell material and design, and unlike the last hybrids models it sits on a more attractive price bracket. So, how this new flagship performs…

    Falcon-C page 1, page 2

    • Driver: 9mm Single Carbon Nanotubes (CNT) dynamic
    • Shell material: Liquid Metal
    • Frequency: 10 Hz ~ 40 kHz
    • Impedance: 16Ω
    • Sensitivity: 108±3dB
    • Cable: Silver-plated copper wire (6N OCC), 3.5mm gold-plated
    • Weight: 28g

    falcon (2).jpg

    Price (MSRP): U$D 219

    Similarly to the previous Dunu products, the Falcon-C arrives in a hassle free package that consists of an outer paper cover with a flashy metal color theme and the black thicker inner box. While it may not look as classy as the DN-2002 and DN-3001 packages, it is as good as with the older DN-1000 and DN-2000 presentation. As usual, the Dunu accessory pack is very complete as it arrives with a large selection of eartips, case and adapters. There are no Comply Foam tips this time, but 3 packs of different eartips including the standard Spinfit CP-100 options.

    falcon (3).jpg


    The design and build quality level have always been one of the strongest characteristics of the Dunu earphones, and the Falcon-C is no exception and also presents a whole new design. While the hybrid IEM models have all used stainless steel for their shells, the Falcon-C is made entirely of “liquid metal” alloy which boosts some nice improvements above other metal options. It’s a good sign to see a company implementing new high quality materials for their now lower priced models instead of reserving that just for the top models. Better or not, the “liquid metal” has its own merits. For instance, the surface is more resistant to scratches and also doesn't show the ‘cold’ metal feel to the skin, it’s also smoother and a lighter in weight.

    falcon (4).jpg

    The included cable is of good quality, too, and has a more custom cable look on it with the four tightly twisted strands. It results more comfortable than the DK-3001 stock cables as it doesn’t carry the long memory wire on it and the fixed earguides (made of simple heatshrink tubes) are soft enough. The only downside is the more springy behavior and the strong memory effect it shows even after some days of use, and maybe also the rubbery surface on the outer coating. Apart from that, it is a good cable on its own, low in microphonics and easy to handle. The Falcon-C cable is also of standard MMCX, but the plugs have a very strong connection to the earpieces, similar to the DK-3001 cables but with a different ‘lock’ feature. If anything, the usual attached cable wrap is now missing.

    falcon (1).jpg

    Yet, the most positive part on the Falcon-C lies on the whole new shell form factor. Finally, we can see a well thought design that has a nice ergonomic shape and makes it the most comfortable earphone within the whole Dunu’s line, and also among many universal IEMs. The previous Titan 1 model was also quite comfortable despite the large dynamic driver inside and still I found the current Falcon dynamic flagship to be even more comfortable. The nozzle has certain angle towards the earcanal, and while the shell design doesn’t allow a too deep fit, the level of isolation is really good.


    Main sources: xDuoo X10, Aune M1s, Lotoo PAW Pico, Hidizs AP200; Headamp Pico Slim.

    It’s been a while since Dunu released a single dynamic driver earphone. Though the very first models were a mix of single dynamic and single BA, the real deal began with the Titan line, starting from the Titan 1 with its open design and nicely tuned Titanium coated driver, full of details and very airy that gain a very high feedback. However, the main downside was the lack of isolation due the half-ear shell.
    While the Falcon-C consists of a smaller 9mm diameter it is also the first company model that introduces the Carbon Nano-Tube (CNT) type of driver. It is certainly not something new, as we’ve already found those drivers within the large brand such as JVC and Audio-Technica with the FXD and CKN70 models. However, those were using a smaller micro-driver unit inside ~6mm, and while did show some strengths of the CNT type, they also had some limitations due the more compact driver. Right from the start, I’d say the Falcon-C has some similarities to those previous models but more in the Dunu fashion found on the Titan series.

    As most IEMs the Falcon-C is somewhat dependent on the eartips used. While the SpinFit provided the easier fit and seal, I found the sound to be more likeable with the narrow tips, and much better with the more open grey tips. However, the nozzle didn’t hold very well the grey tips, so I opted for similar eartips with an open bore for the more impressive sonic results. The good thing of the Falcon-C is that the nozzle is of more standard width and has the lip at the top, making tip-rolling much easier.
    A certain period of burn-in seems to play well for the CNT drivers, and so it is with the Dunu Falcon. The differences are not really major, but it takes some time to reach the best balance from lows to highs. Overall, the first thing to notice on the Falcon-C is the great balance and correct weight from lower bass notes to the upper treble. It shows the certain Dunu sound with some warmth on it, though in the lean and cooler tonality when compared to their hybrids models.

    Right from the start, the bass strikes with great quality. It has very good depth and high speed and great control for busier tracks yet punchy all the way up to the mid-bass. Quantity-wise it is above of being neutral, but far from overwhelming, presenting wide lively presentation with the right amount for most genres that still prevents the Falcon from sounding particularly thin as the Titan 1 was. The DN-2000 is probably the strongest in mid-bass strength, and even the quad hybrid DN-2002 sounds even fuller and thicker trough the lows next to the Falcon-C.

    The whole midrange is mostly neutral, both in position next to the lows and highs as it cannot be considered recessed nor too forward, and also in tonality as it doesn’t carry too much warmth but fails to be cold or thin. Not only it remains very clean from any mid-bass obstruction, but also has a very strong sense of transparency. The instruments balance and coherence is excellent, though will sound leaner next to the warm and thicker sounding DN-2000, but the Falcon-C wins in separation and speed. For vocals, lower ones (male) sound less pronounced and thinner in texture against to the upper and female vocals, though there is some extra energy and lack of sweetness toward the female voices.
    In occasions the Falcon-C can emphasize some sibilance, though it is not as sharp as the previous Titan 1 and DN-1000, or more v-shaped sounding sets like the RHA MA750 or Echobox X1. Personally, I found the three Dunu IEMs, Falcon-C, DN-2000 and DN-2002 similarly matched for voices and overall midrange, each of them with their strengths and weaknesses, staying behind the pricier DK-3001 upper model.

    As for the treble, here’s where the CNT driver material is easily noticed. The highs are definitely towards the brighter tone, from the lower treble up to the upper extension, which is very effortless and well extended in a natural texture. The Falcon-C is a quite revealing earphone and not too forgiving. The treble needs some break-in time to settle down, though it still remains above neutral in terms of quantities and can be energetic with more aggressive tracks. The micro-detail, is excellent and more than the ~$200 tag would suggest. The presentation is very airy and open with a wide stage effect and good imaging. The DK-3001 still surpasses in this regard but for a fraction of the current flagship price, the Falcon-C undoubtedly stands out on its own as the Dunu dynamic flagship.


    Priced just a bit above the $200 range, the new Dunu Falcon-C definitely deserves the ‘flagship’ tag from a well regarded company and makes an excellent contender among the so many new IEMs around. Like any Dunu release, the Falcon-C also has the upper hand in terms of build quality and now a brand new so comfortable design. More importantly, the sound quality is really good, well balanced and full in detail. It’s nice to see that Dunu don’t just keep the best material or design for just the upper models but can make a product that stands out on its own even among every previous earphone of the company. Again, well done, Dunu!
      getclikinagas and Dsnuts like this.
  2. narco dacunzolo
    Written by narco dacunzolo
    Published Mar 18, 2018 at 3:02 PM

    Dunu Topsound is a chinese company quite famous in the audiophile community. My first experience with this brand was their Dunu Titan 1, that was fantastic for its price range and right now is still one of my favourite IEM under 100 USD. Today I am going to review their new dynamic flagship: Dunu Falcon-C, but first, would like to introduce the philosophy and history of this company:

    “ With advanced technology and hi-end equipments, DUNU desires to be able to provide our products for Hi-Fi embracers. Delicate means extremely quality demanding on product process, from every little component to product manufacturing. DUNU has complete production line and equipments, including precise equipments, B&K frequency machine, IMD sputter, CNC machine, anechoic room, etc. Concerning design of product, DUNU also devotes to create unique outer appearance and balance in all sound frequency.

    Utmost is not only the expectation on products, but also the pursuit of an Earphone Manufacturer. The founder of DUNU, himself, has years experience in OEM/ODM earphone products in which many worldwide famous earphone Brands are included. However, in order to create the most enjoyable earphone on his own, DUNU’s president establishes the brand “DUNU” and implants many hi-end equipments and hires talented employees. From then on, DUNU takes the lead in developing the first Chinese made metal earphone, developing 5.8mm Driver unit and produce the very first Chinese Balance Armature Earphone, in 2014 DUNU release China first triple driver Dynamic and Balance Armature Hybrid earphone, All these preparation are to step on the world stage and to challenge renowned earphone brands. The ultimate goal of DUNU is to provide worldwide HI-FI embracers our earphone products, with Delicate Sensation, Unique Design & Utmost Quality”.

    New Falcon-C model shows an advanced CNT diaphragm drivers, with new enlarged MMCX plug and a new silver-plated copper 6n OCC wire.

    Dunu C-Falcon unit was sent me as a sample , I am not affiliated with the company and all observations and opinions will be only my own. Would like to thanks Vivian and Dunu team for sending me this unit giving me the opportunity to experience such an innovative product.

    LINK OFFICIAL SITE: http://www.dunu-topsound.com/

    LINK FACEBOOK PAGE: https://www.facebook.com/DUNU.FANS/

    perf.jpg perf2.jpg


    Packaging is rich with a lot of accessories. First of all, you can find a lot of eartips of high premium quality. Very compliment Dunu for these features. For universal models eartips are very important for the sound: they can change the overall reproduction, for example changing bass response or soundstage; so eartips like the sources are very important for the final result. In the box you can find: transparent gray tips, blue-tube tips and SpinFit ones. I tried many and at the end tips with blue bore not only gave me the better fit, but overall a more natural reproduction with great and lively vocals. In the box you can find one protective plastic case, the IEM and various instructions with warranty card and an airline adaptor. I don’t know why Dunu doesn’t give shirt clip like in the other models in catalogue.

    Build quality is excellent and really surprised me: new Falcon-c shows a “new liquid metal jacket with its non-grain boundary is three times stronger than stainless steel and has an excellent acoustic character that restrains harmonic resonance to achieve a firm and more coherent sound”.

    The IEM is very comfortable and lightweight and thanks to the MMCX angle I was able to listen to my music for many hours without any fatigue. The carry case is a bit small so has enough room inside for only the IEM. The new high quality cable with enlarged MMCX plug and a new silver-plated copper 6n OCC wire has great build quality and never noticed any microphonics issues.

    In terms of comfort i found C-Falcon perfect and thanks to its rounded shape and small structure I never found any annoyance or fit problems.

    Isolation is quite good, but not one of the best: Falcon makes a good job in blocking outside noise, but in noisy environments like metro, bus you could find some problems.


    All my sound consideration has been made after 100 hours of burn in as suggested by Dunu company, with different DAPs such as Opus1s, fiio x3, x5, iFi Nano Idsd black label and my iphone 6 too.

    Overall this IEM offers a v-shaped sound sig. Voices are a bit laid back but offers a good amount of details, for example in Lana Del Rey “Tomorrow Never Come” you can hear all the sensuality of this singer. With male vocals I found a lack of body in certain tracks, but with female voices this IEM can bring all the delicacy and sensuality typical of a female voice.

    Highs are very clean and detailed . They are refined and you can find a lot of sparkles, you will get an extended treble response but without harshness and sibilance issues, indeed, i could be able to listen to this IEM and never find any listening fatigue. I don’t understand why some says highs on C-Falcon are harsh. I did notice this thing with cold sources or with my iPhone 6, but with a warmer source like Opus 1s or iFi Nano I found a more controlled sound with good amount of sparkles and bass.

    Bass of this IEM is just perfect, I would say it was just tuned with an “audiophile bass”: it is not one of the strongest, but is really fast, with great impact and decay. You will get a good amount of mid-bass that will give just a touch of warmth, but will never cover mid frequencies. If you loved bass of the previous Dunu dynamic model: Titan 1; new Falcon will offer you the same quality, plus a more mature and controlled bass response.

    Dynamic is very good, maybe not one of the best, but for the price tag is more than average. With my iPhone 6 I found dynamic a bit “anemic”, so I really suggest you to invest in a DAP or DAC/AMP in order to unleash the full potential of this IEM.

    Soundstage is very good with a coherent sense of space both in width and depth, you will not get a “speaker-like” soundstage, but a natural and coherent one. I found the soundstage a bit narrower and a bit less holographic than Dunu Titan 1.

    With its low impedance is quite easy to drive, you can drive easily with your Smartphone, but obviously with a good DAP you get an overall better sound, with better dynamic and a stronger bass response.



    C-FALCON VS PERIODIC AUDIO Ti: these two IEMs share a V-shaped sound signature. Dunu has a better build quality and more premium feel, with detachable cable and is more ergonomic. Falcon has better bass response that is very fast and intricate with excellent decay. Voices are a bit recessed on both these two IEMs, but Ti make a good job with both male and female voices. On the other side Falcon makes an excellent job with female voices, but with male ones can lack of body. Soundstage on Falcon is wider than Ti, but Periodic Audio IEM has more depth. Both of these IEMs are quite easy to drive, maybe Ti needs more power to really shine.

    C-FALCON VS Ibasso IT01: iBasso IEM has a more fun sound sig. with stronger bass and more sparkles. On the other side Dunu IEM shows a more mature sound with a more controlled bass and a bit less recessed voices. Soundstage on IT01 is wider, but Falcon has a more natural and coherent extension.

    Falcon costs more or less twice, but you have to consider that has better build quality and a more premium feel. Plus with Falcon you will get better quality ear-tips.

    C-FALCON VS ORIVETI NEW PRIMACY: ORIVETI has a more warm and romantic sound with more focus on voices. Primacy has more mid-bass quantity and a less detailed sound reproduction. On the other side Falcon has a more “audiophile” bass response with good impact and great speed and decay.

    New Primacy has wider soundstage, but C-Falcon has more depth.

    C-FALCON VS TITAN 1: it’s quite interesting to compare these two Dunu models. Titan 1 has a more v-shaped sound with more bass impact and more sparkles. Voices are more recessed on Titan 1. On the other side C-Falcon shows a more mature sound with more detailed voices and less listening fatigue. Soundstage on Titan 1 is wider with a more holographic feel thanks to the five bores in the shell.



    FALCON WITH OPUS 1S: Falcon has a great synergy with this DAP: bass gets more body with more rumble. Male voices acquire more body and fullness. Highs are less in evidence and this thing can help to reduce harshness and so listening fatigue. With Opus 1s soundstage is quite wide with a good instrument separation. I can drive quite easily Falcon with high gain at 80 volume level.

    FALCON WITH IPHONE 6 + AUDIRECT WHISTLE: thanks to this small DAC/AMP voices have more body and presence. Soundstage is not as wide as in Opus 1s. Audirect whistle will help a lot to reduce any hiss problems.

    FALCON WITH IPHONE 6: my Iphone can drive quite easily C-Falcon with wide soundstage, but voices are too thin and lacks body, Plus with my iPhone i noticed more harshness on top-end frequencies.

    BASS: 8.6

    MIDS: 8.4

    HIGHS: 8.5

  3. Cinder
    DUNU Falcon C Review: Carbon Nano Tunes
    Written by Cinder
    Published Feb 7, 2018
    Pros - Great physical design, comfortable, good set of accessories, great detail retrieval, novel sound signature, great timbre
    Cons - Treble can be sharp on certain sources, case has DUNU URL pressed into it
    DUNU Falcon C Review: Carbon Nano Tunes
    DUNU is an established brand on the audiophile block. Under its belt DUNU has some very well received IEMs, many of which set new standards of audio quality. Yet the hands of the R&D department at DUNU do not lay idle, as they have brought us something new an innovative: the Falcon C. It does away with the traditional DUNU approach to IEMs, sporting a “liquid metal” ergonomic shell, a brand new dynamic driver, and a set of upgraded MMCX connectors. These are some compelling marketing points, but do they translate into compelling buying factors?

    You can find the DUNU Falcon C on sale on Penon Audio for $220 here.

    Disclaimer: This unit was provided to me free of charge for review purposes. I am not affiliated with DUNU beyond this review. These words reflect my true, unaltered, opinion about the product.

    Preference and Bias: Before reading a review, it is worth mentioning that there is no way for a reviewer to objectively pass judgment on the enjoy-ability of a product: such a thing is inherently subjective. Therefore, I find it necessary for you to read and understand what I take a natural liking to and how that might affect my rating of a product.

    My ideal sound signature would be an extended sub-bass with a leveled, but textured, mid-bass. The mids should be slightly less pronounced than the treble, but still ahead of the bass. I prefer a more bright upper range.

    Source: The Falcon C was powered like so:

    HTC U11 -> USB-C adapter -> earphones


    Hidizs AP100 3.5mm out -> FiiO A5 3.5mm out -> earphones


    HiFiMAN SuperMini -> earphones


    PC optical out -> HiFiMe SPDIF 9018 Sabre DAC 3.5mm out -> earphones

    All music was served as MP3 @320Kbps or as FLAC.

    Sound Signature
    Initial Impressions:

    The Falcon makes use of a single dynamic driver. Its diaphragm is made from carbon nano-tubes. This is a fairly novel material, and to my knowledge there aren’t too many other drivers like this out there. I loaded up my DAP plugged in the Falcon C, and from the very first song I heard through it I was thoroughly impressed. It has a bright, but full-bodied, sound signature with fast and natural attacks and decays. The Falcon C wowed me with its detail retrieval and sonic placement, immediately working its way up my “favorite dynamic IEM” list.

    The treble is the most noticeable aspect of the Falcon C’s personality, followed closely by the bass. Just below the bass are the mids, which are fairly evenly represented, and have a natural timbre.

    Treble: Songs used: In One Ear, Midnight City, Outlands, Satisfy

    The treble extension on the Falcon C is nothing short of commendable. It does a very good job reaching far into the upper register and is tonally very even and measured, not coming across as overblown or too hot.

    Treble is quick quick as well. This gifts the Falcon C a laudable textural range in the upper register. I am particularly impressed with the Falcon C’s recreation of high hats, modulated synths, and string instruments.

    Speaking of high hats and speed, the separation of these instruments is among the best I’ve ever heard from a dynamic-driver IEM. You can really tell over the course of In One Ear.

    That said, the Falcon C did exhibit minor sharpness. This only affected me on certain source configurations and only at higher volumes.

    Mids: Songs used: Flagpole Sitta, Jacked Up, I Am The Highway, Dreams

    I found that the Falcon C consistently maintained a near-perfect balance between a “neutral” and “fun” mid-range. While I can’t say it was perfectly reference, I can say that I never heard any strange coloration or uneven emphasis. In fact I found that guitars and pianos both sounded quite lifelike in my tests of live recordings, something my IEMs seldom achieve.

    But the Falcon C’s mid-range excels in another way: it is neither too thick nor too flat: it is nearly completely transparent in timbre. I can’t praise this sonic approach enough. I don’t want to hear the preferences of the engineer who drew up my IEM, I want to hear the music I’m listening to.

    Both male and female vocals were above-average in terms of intelligibility. The Falcon C weights male vocals well but has a preference for female vocals. They are portrayed with a kind of sweetness that just makes you want to turn the volume up!

    Bass: Songs used: Moth, Gold Dust, In For The Kill (Skream Remix), War Pigs (Celldweller Remix)

    Bass was my main concern with the Falcon C coming into this review. The bar was set pretty high for it by the outstanding Cappuccino Mk. II, but the Falcon C did not back down from the challenge. Bass response is definitely more metered, but it is not stingy or lacking.

    Gold Dust’s drops were palpable, full of impact and had a really nice wetness to them that I often must forgo when listening to BA IEMs. While the bass doesn’t envelope you the way it might on a set of basshead headphones, I found the Falcon C to perform well enough to meet my preferences.

    The Falcon C has almost the same amount of sub-bass as it does mid-bass, which makes for a really good visceral feeling when it reaches down into the 100Hz–50Hz range. It never bleeds over into the mids nor masks them and always retained a high level of solidity. A great bass performer all around.

    Packaging / Unboxing




    Construction Quality

    The Falcon C’s driver housings are made from a material that DUNU refers to as “liquid metal”. This is the same material that the uber-expensive IEMs made by Campfire Audio use. Really it’s just metal that has been injected into a mold, much like ABS is, but don’t tell them I told you that.

    All marketing aside, this extrusive processes yeilds some pretty good looking, and solid feeling, IEM shells. The individual plates from which the driver housings are made are all immaculate and the panel separation gap puts the likes of RHA to shame.

    You can also find some pretty huge vents on the inside face of the Falcon C. They’re made from a perforated polished metal that contrasts very well with the otherwise dark housings.

    There’s a fairly long nozzle which is capped off by a durable debris filter made from the same material as the vents.

    The MMCX connectors are completely flush with their portion of the shell and have no flex or mobility within it. The cables I have tested have all sealed very well to the Falcon C and have not have excessive amounts of rotation.

    The Falcon C’s stock cable is durable and well constructed. It is made from four individually-insulated copper wires, each of which is coated in a black translucent plastic.

    The MMCX connectors are placed inside a durable, 45 degree-angled, housing. Connected to that are the rubber earguides which seem to not be prone to any form of kinking (as I tried very hard to get it to rupture or deform). I’m actually quite happy with these are I find that they are usually the first part of my cable that goes bad.

    The stock cable is terminated with a right-angled 3.5mm jack. It is housed in plastic with a red metallic circle placed just above the jack for stylistic purposes. There is ample stress relief so I’m not too concerned about the longevity of that connection.


    The Falcon C also comes with a balanced 2.5mm silver cable. It is well built and visually attractive. The silver cable caught a lot of eyes in the cafe where I often tested it.



    The silver cable works well with my DAPs, and has caused me no problems. It definitely has a more premium feeling, as the Y-splitter and jack housing are both made from a well-finished metal, most likely aluminum.


    The Falcon C bucks the trend of previous DUNU flagships; it’s not an uncomfortable brute like many of its siblings. In fact, it is among some of the most comfortable metal earphones I’ve ever worn. Using the included Spinfits it almost completely disappears into my ears and was very comfortable during my extended listening sessions.


    DUNU equipped the Falcon C well with accessories. Inside the box you will find:

    • 1x airline adapter
    • 1x 1.4in jack adapter
    • 3x pairs of silicone eartips
    • 4x pairs of Spinfit eartips
    • 3x pairs of extra solid-core silicone eartips
    • 1x hard carrying case
    The carrying case is quite good, if not a bit over-branded. Unlike some other cases where all I needed to do was strip off some plastic or some paint to get rid of a particularly aggressive branding scheme, DUNU actually pressed their logo into the metal. I would not have a problem with this if they hadn’t chosen to press their website’s URL into it too. That’s not cool, and I don’t want to pay over $200 for my IEM’s case to advertise someone else’s website. It’s just a tacky, you know?

    The Falcon C makes use of some very cool technology and is among the very first IEMs to ever make use of a carbon nano-tube diaphragm. Given the novel nature of such a material, I am shocked as to how free from flaws the Falcon C is. For its solid construction, attractive design, excellent comfort, and impressive sonic performance, I give the Falcon C a hearty recommendation
  4. HiFiChris
    Graf Falko von Falkenstein
    Written by HiFiChris
    Published Feb 5, 2018
    Pros - •excellent resolution etc.
    •price & value
    •correct vocal timbre (thanks to no upper midrange/lower treble lift)
    •s@xy design
    •nice cable
    Cons - •6 kHz elevation a bit too much
    •treble can come across as somewhat strident and a little rough/edgy
    •thin storage case that opens too easily (adjusted version of Titan series' storage case would have been better)

    Alle Vögel sind schon da.
    Jürgen Vogel.
    Forsthaus Falkenau.
    Die Vogelhochzeit.
    The list could go on and on… And it would be a pleasure for me to do just that.

    Diese englischsprachige Rezension befasst sich mit einem besonderen Vogel, einem Falken. Doch nicht irgendeinem Falken, sondern dem neuen DUNU Falcon-C In-Ear.
    Wie er klingt und performt, auch im Vergleich mit drei anderen technisch sehr starken In-Ears, kläre ich im Verlauf dieses Reviews.


    Is it a Bird? Is it a Plane? Well, actually yes, it sort of is a bird – a falcon, more specifically the new DUNU Falcon-C dynamic driver in-ear that is supposed to be the company’s reasonably priced dynamic driver flagship.


    DUNU’s Titan series in-ears are already really good products on the technical level and in terms of price-performance-ratio – so how will their latest creation fare in comparison? This is what this exact review will clarify.

    Full disclosure:
    I was given a free sample of the DUNU Falcon-C for the purpose of an honest, unbiased test and review without any restrictions or requirements, no matter how it would turn out, and have treated it exactly like I have treated all of the other in-ears that I personally possess.

    Technical Specifications:

    MSRP: $219
    Drivers per Side: 1
    Type of Driver: dynamic (carbon nano-tube, 9 mm)
    Frequency Range: 10 Hz – 40 kHz
    Impedance: 16 Ohms
    Sensitivity: 108 dB (+/- 3 dB)
    Cable Length: 1.2 m
    Weight: 28 g

    Delivery Content:

    The eagle Falcon-C has landed!

    The plastic-covered cardboard wrapper is designed in shiny silver-grey colour and contains some information about the in-ear and what it’s made of.

    The actual packaging has got a magnetically attached lid, which will probably appear familiar to you if you’ve already owned several of DUNU’s in-ears, just like the Max Barsky promo on the inside of yonder lid that we’ve seen before as well.

    Inside, one will find an airplane adapter, a 6.3 to 3.5 mm adapter, the in-ear itself, as well as four pairs of dark grey silicone tips with blue stem, three pairs of grey silicone tips, and last but not least four pairs of SpinFit tips.
    No foam tips are included though, which I personally, as someone who doesn’t use or like foam tips with in-ears at all anyway, find a little sad given that the Falcon-C is DUNU’s most expensive dynamic driver in-ear to date.

    Looks, Feels, Build Quality:

    There seems to be a thing with Asian dynamic driver in-ears’ storage cases – just like the iBasso IT01’s, the Falcon-C’s is nicely bolstered and protective on the inside, however the lid on the unit I received fits a bit too loosely and might come off unintentionally.
    In addition, I think that the metal used for DUNU’s tin box is just a bit too thin. Frankly, I fully prefer the Titan series’ plastic carrying case.

    DSC04983-small.JPG DSC04985-small.JPG DSC04986-small.JPG DSC04987-small.JPG

    The included cable is of high quality – below the metallic y-splitter with rubber chin-slider, it consists of four twisted conductors wherefore you won’t find any solder joint in the y-splitter.
    It’s a premium cable with good strain relief. It does have a bit of a slight rubbery-ness to it, however it is super flexible and soft. And its MMCX plugs are nicely tight and don’t rotate unintentionally.
    Something I am quite happy about is that DUNU’s signature cable tie isn’t permanent but can be removed on the Falcon-C.


    The Falcon-C itself is quite a stunner as well – its black amorphous metal coating (also known as liquid metal) shells are uniquely designed and, at least in my opinion, pretty beautiful. And when I first saw its design without knowing the final retail price, I genuinely thought that it would turn out to be a more expensive in-ear.
    Build quality is excellent, and on the inside of the shells we can find a tiny front cavity vent as well as a larger and mesh-covered rear cavity vent of the single dynamic driver (in my opinion, the Falcon-C would have looked even nicer if that mesh grille covering the rear cavity vent was black instead of silver).

    Comfort, Isolation:

    Since the shells mostly lack any sharp edges or corners and are rather ergonomically designed, most people should get a good and comfortable fit with the Falcon-C, which is the case with my large ears anyway.

    The cable has got pre-shaped ear guides that however don’t contain any memory wire, so they automatically adjust to one’s unique ear shape.
    Wearing the Falcon-C with the cables down would be possible by swapping the sides and using a different cable without ear guides/memory wire if that is your thing and you prefer that style over the more professional, standard wearing style with the cables around the ears that improves fit and reduces microphonics, wherefore almost all stage musicians wear their monitors that way.

    Noise isolation is rather average, probably a tad better, which was to be expected given DUNU’s latest dynamic driver in-ear is vented.


    My main sources for listening were the iBasso DX200 (AMP2 module) and HiFime 9018d.

    At first, the ear tips that I used were the largest included grey silicone tips – the dark grey ones with blue stem just didn’t want to provide a nice and easy seal for my ear anatomy. Then and for all comparisons, I however switched over to the included SpinFit tips, even though I personally generally don’t like them, but in case of the DUNU they reduce the somewhat sharp treble edge a bit to my ears.

    Frequency response measurements can be found here: […]

    The measurements were performed with my Vibro Labs Veritas coupler.
    Below is the information about the measurements with that coupler:

    Please note that my measurements weren't recorded with professional equipment but with my Vibro Veritas coupler that was pseudo-calibrated to more or less match a real IEC 711 coupler’s response with applied diffuse-field target, hence the results shouldn’t be regarded as absolute values but rather as a rough visualisation.
    Especially at 3, 6 and 9 kHz, there are sometimes greater deviations from professional plots – but for a general, rough comparison between various in-ears and a rough idea of how they sound, the results are sufficient, and in the mids and lows, they are even (very) accurate.

    ear tips.jpg
    effect of included ear tips (yellow/untitled = included SpinFit)

    effect of blocking the front cavity vent

    vs others.jpg
    vs other models


    The Falcon-C’s sound is quite fit- and insertion depth-dependant – depending on fit and insertion depth, especially its treble output might vary rather noticeably. Especially the latter is affected quite a bit depending on individually different insertion depth, wherefore the in-ear might sound tendentially edgy and sharp in some ears and only moderately bright in others. In my ears and with my ear anatomy, the first is rather the case.

    Depending on your individual ear anatomy, the small front cavity vent might remain either free (= a mild bass boost of ca. 5 dB compared to an in-ear that has a diffuse-field flat bass, such as the Etymotic ER4SR/S, would be the case then) or will be completely blocked. A sub-bass difference of ca. +6 dB (= a bass boost of ca. 11 dB in relation to an in-ear that has a diffuse-field flat bass, such as the Etymotic ER4SR/S) compared to a fully open vent would be the case with a blocked front vent, with the sub-bass being the strongest area – in my ears, the vent remains rather free, and what I am hearing is a boost of ca. 7 dB compared to an in-ear that is diffuse-field flat bass, such as the Etymotic ER4SR/S, and it mainly takes part in the upper and midbass, with the sub-bass being slightly behind in quantity but not lacking either.
    This elevation stays nicely out of the vocal range and fundamental range wherefore the Falcon-C is no thick or full sounding in-ear, which is because the elevation starts climbing at 500 Hz and reaches its climax right below 100 Hz, wherefore it, as just mentioned, stays nicely out of the midrange.

    Mids are, which is nice, on the flat and neutral side, although they aren’t the closest in the mix due to having lesser quantity compared to the bass and highs, but they also do not appear hollow or thin as it can be the case with in-ears that are on the brighter side in the highs. Yes, voices are rendered with correct timbre, as it is desired and expected from a higher-end in-ear, and the Falcon-C avoids the 3 kHz upper midrange glare/presence range forwardness that some of DUNU’s other models have – in fact, the in-ear is even very slightly relaxed here.

    Not exactly the same is what I would say about the treble – it is generally on the brighter side, and while it isn’t really peaky, it can come across as a bit edgy due to a forward 6 kHz range, as well as emphasised 8 kHz, 12.5 kHz and 16 kHz, the latter two obviously being in a less important area (although that 12.5 kHz lift adds air and subtle super treble extension and glare to the sonic presentation). Of these, the 8 kHz lift is unproblematic, but the 6 kHz emphasis is a bit too pronounced and therefore introduces some sharpness.
    While the sound isn’t exactly unpleasant, treble-sensitive people should certainly look elsewhere, and the treble presentation, especially cymbals, gains a slightly unnaturally metallic and somewhat sharp edge due to that elevation.

    - - -

    So all in all, one could say that the DUNU Falcon-C has got a brightness- and clarity-oriented, balanced v-shape, which is no surprise and kind of represents DUNU’s house sound, however its 6 kHz elevation can be a bit too strong and adds more edginess and a bit more unnaturalness to the treble (mainly cymbals) than how the sound should be and compared to what I would expect to find above $200. Reducing that 6 kHz lift leads to an audibly better treble timbre with still plenty of glare and splashiness, but clearly lessened edginess.
    So the general tuning is done well for most parts, but that middle treble 6 kHz lift is just somewhat too much and almost twice as loud as it should be using the grey or blue stem silicone tips that come included. It works with some tracks, but most recordings with cymbals suffer a bit from an edgy/metallic hi-hat timbre that is not like this in real life.

    However, there is one thing that improves the tonal tuning – treble realism becomes audibly better with the included SpinFit tips (that I actually generally don’t like much, but whatever, they work rather well with the Falcon-C) to my ears since they reduce the glare to some degree by reducing treble quantity a bit (but using them also leads to a bit more forward upper mids), but the 6 kHz range is still a bit too forward and not yet perfect with them, although noticeably tamed compared to the other included tips. Yes, I definitely recommend the Falcon-C with the included SpinFit tips when it comes to tonality since they reduce edginess in this case. It still sounds somewhat too strident though if there’s too much treble action going on at the same time, so those tips won’t cure the 6 kHz lift completely but will still tame it a bit.


    The Falcon-C delivers just what you want from a technically capable dynamic driver in-ear at this price point – a pretty tight, clean and fast bass for dynamic driver standards, a detailed midrange with good speech intelligibility, a well-separated and detailed treble (unless you are really sensitive to highs, the DUNU can still pull off its emphasis due to the good treble resolution) and sharp, precise instrument separation.
    Here’s not much to describe, the Falcon-C just delivers and doesn’t really show technical flaws.

    There isn’t any area that really lacks behind the rest, and the details appear distributed quite evenly, and not much surprisingly for a single-driver in-ear, the Falcon-C sounds coherent.

    Given that the Titan series in-ears however already performed exceptionally well for dynamic driver in-ears at their price point, the Falcon-C doesn’t have much room for further technical improvements and only appears slightly tighter in the lows in comparison and has got just a small edge in terms of midrange details – on the whole, their resolution is however quite similar.


    The imaginary room the Falcon-C presents is quite spacious and appears open – not fully as much as the Titan 1, but a bit more than the Titan 5 that was already really good in this regard.

    So there is plenty of width that early exceeds the base between my ears, with some spatial depth as well, however the general soundstage seems rather oval than circular.

    Instrument separation is precise and clean and just as good as on the Titan series in-ears while it doesn’t fully reach the level of good multi-BA in-ears.


    In Comparison with other In-Ears:

    DUNU Titan 5:

    The Titan 5’s sound, especially bass and warmth, will also depend on individual ear anatomy and by how much its vent is covered. I am one of those people who are lucky and get a good fit and seal with it, with rather covered but not fully blocked vents, hence the sound doesn’t lack bass or warmth and isn’t thin despite having bright highs.

    Given how both in-ears are sitting in my ears, the Titan 5 is a bit more elevated in the bass, especially with the stronger sub-bass emphasis. It has also got a bit more body and warmth in the lower fundamental range as well to my ears.
    High upper mids are more linear and neutral on the Falcon-C whereas they are a bit lifted on the Titan 5.
    While the Titan 5 is actually brighter in the highs, its treble appears less edgy and slightly smoother in comparison to my ears.

    Bass appears slightly tighter on the Falcon-C, which is likely due to the Titan 5 having more presence in the lower fundamental range. Speed and control are namely similarly good and neither of the in-ears has problems handling complex and fast bass lines.
    Both resolve and separate equally well in the highs.
    In the mids, both are rather close, but to my ears the Falcon-C is a notch above the Titan 5 when it comes to small midrange and vocal details.

    Both have got a rather comparable soundstage to my ears with the Falcon-C’s sounding just slightly more open. Separation appears to be slightly cleaner on the Falcon-C.

    - - -

    The Falcon-C isn’t a revolution, which wasn’t really what I expected anyway given the Titan 5’s already really good basis. It is just tuned a bit more balanced in comparison, with slightly improved midrange resolution and instrument separation/spatial cleanness. It’s more like a small evolution than a revolution.

    iBasso IT01:

    The IT01 has got the stronger bass and sub-bass elevation, with the warmer lower fundamental range.
    Midrange timbre is comparable with the IT01 having just a little more openness in the upper mids.
    The IT01 is also a bit on the brighter side in the highs, however it is more linear here and therefore audibly somewhat more realistic in the middle treble in comparison, and it lacks the 6 kHz stridency the DUNU has.

    Bass speed, tightness and control are equally good on both in-ears.
    When it comes to minute midrange details, the DUNU is slightly ahead.
    Treble separation on the other hand is a bit cleaner on the iBasso in comparison.

    The DUNU has got the somewhat more open, wider soundstage while the IT01 has got a bit more spatial depth. In terms of separation and imaging, the IT01 is slightly more precise.

    - - -

    The point is: both in-ears deliver really high technical performance for dynamic driver in-ears at their respective price points and are quite close overall. The IT01 however ultimately wins when it comes to treble realism, since it’s also bright here, but not as strident.

    Sennheiser IE 800:

    The IE 800 is stronger and warmer in the bass than the Falcon-C, with the more pronounced sub-bass, and has got somewhat more forward lower fundamental range.
    Midrange timbre is comparable between the two in-ears.
    Where they differ though is the highs – the Falcon-C is bright and a bit splashy in the middle highs where the IE 800 is relaxed, whereas the Sennheiser is bright and splashy in the upper highs (and here, it is noticeably brighter and splashier – however not edgier, albeit splashier and less realistic with cymbals in terms of timbre; the Sennheiser has timbre “issues” in the upper highs around 9-ish kHz, whereas the DUNU in the middle highs around 6-ish kHz. Using the Titan-C with the included SpinFit tips, I would give the DUNU a little more points when it comes to treble realism).

    The Sennheiser seems slightly softer in the bass in comparison, while having just a tad more control with fast and complex tracks.
    In the mids and highs, the Sennheiser is minimally ahead when it comes to minute details, but the difference is that small that one can say “indeed, technically well-performing dynamic driver in-ears in the more ‘reasonable’ price range have definitely improved when it comes to price-performance-ratio in the past few years”.

    The Sennheiser’s soundstage appears even a bit wider to my ears, however with less depth. Separation is quite similar.

    - - -

    The IE 800 is a technically well-performing dynamic driver in-ear – despite probably appearing a bit “dated” to some people, its technical delivery doesn’t get worse over the years and the development in dynamic driver in-ears isn’t improving either, let’s be honest and face it. However, we definitely do see several really well-performing in-ears popping up at price levels of $200 and even below that are very close to the IE 800’s performance – and the Falcon-C is one of those. While ultimately still being minimally behind the Sennheiser when it comes to minute midrange details, the DUNU comes with a removable cable that is of higher quality than the Sennheiser’s, and its treble, while definitely not perfect due to the 6 kHz lift, is overall a little less splashy than the IE 800’s.


    When it comes to price-performance-ratio for dynamic driver in-ears, DUNU’s Falcon-C simply delivers. It sounds detailed, tight, clean, controlled and fast, just like you want a great dynamic driver in-ear to perform. It is also spacious and nicely open sounding.


    While it is definitely a technically convincing in-ear with great build and a unique, beautiful design, it doesn’t come without its unique flaws though – its 6 kHz elevation is, even with the included SpinFit tips, for example just a bit too strong and creates a treble timbre that isn’t perfect but rather strident, and something you probably don’t want in an in-ear costing more than $200, especially if you are treble-sensitive, and the included carrying/storage case isn’t as great as one would probably wish for an in-ear that is called dynamic driver flagship by the company.
    1. Dobrescu George
      Quite the excellent take!~
      Dobrescu George, Feb 10, 2018
    2. HiFiChris
      HiFiChris, Feb 10, 2018
  5. cleg
    Perfect bass, good overall sound
    Written by cleg
    Published Jan 24, 2018
    Pros - build quality and materials, fit comfort, sound isolation, perfect bass, good overall sound
    Cons - treble can be bright for treble-sensitive, in rare cases mids can sound too light
    I won't make this review really big, if you want more details about the box, unpack impressions and other stuff like that, there already are few really good and in-depth reviews, done by other head-fiers. I'll try to summarize most subjective things — audio and other personal impressions.
    1-Main Pic.jpg
    First of all, I'd like to thank Dunu for providing me a review sample in exchange for my honest and unbiased opinion.

    So, brief part: package and accessories set: really good. Nice box, lots of tips, great storage box. The only question is — why the hell Max Barskih on the inner part of the box? Did he once save Dunu's director favorite pet? I don't see other explanation.
    Build and comfort. Hallelujah, at last Dunu found someone with regular ears to test earphones. DK-3001 was a big step in comfort's direction, but Falcon C is a salvation for all the pain we've got trying to fit DN-2002. Well, maybe I'm painting the devil blacker than he is.

    Falcon C is made of "liquid metal" (marketing name for some really hard metal alloys) that gives them both durability and good sonic qualities. Previously, "liquid metal" was used by Campfire Audio, but now you can simultaneously enjoy both progress in the creation of materials and warm feeling of having your two kidneys in place.
    IEM bodies are sleek, slim and fit into ears really nicely, providing above the average sound isolation (anyway, in planes or subways you'll need something even better isolating). Cable is replaceable, Dunu used regular MMCX connectors of good quality, they aren't too loose and aren't too firm. The cable itself is also nice, it's made of high purity silver plated copper, it's soft, nicely braided, has almost zero microphonic (thanks to soft earhooks near the connectors). It can tangle sometimes, but it won't take too much time to fix that. I will really miss that Dunu's ribber thing, used for winding that is used now widely by FiiO (did they bought all that rubber tongues from Dunu?), but cable's quality reduces my regrets almost to zero.
    Oups, look like I didn't keep my promise to be brief… Well, let's move on to the sound part.

    Probably I'll prove myself being Captain Obvious, but this IEMs are very tip dependent, so you'll need to spend some time, trying different options. I usually prefer SpinFits' comfort, but this time they won't be good enough for me sonically, so I've had to stick with regular single flange tips.
    I gave Falcons about 72 hours of burn-in, but noticeable sound changes were only at the early beginning of this process.

    The first thing you'll notice in this IEMs — it's the bass. Luckily, it's not because of its domination, but because of quality. Subjectively speaking, for me, it's the best lows in sub $500 range. It's perfectly balanced in terms of quantity, goes deep, has good control and combines both punch and weight with a small tilt towards the last one. Of course, Falcon C has great texturing and building melody's foundation. When necessary, lows are dominating with confidence, other times they stand in their place.
    Mids are traditional for modern models with slightly V-shaped signature. They have a good level of detalization (for dynamic driver model), but not dives into thin and unnatural sound that some armatures offer. Upper mids are accented a little bit, from one hand it gives a great sense of presence to vocal, especially female, from another hand, this accent in rare cases makes upper mids sound too thin. The imaginary stage is pretty spacious, bigger than average in width and about average in depth, but with perfect layering and instruments separation, giving IEMs representation great sense of spaciousness.

    Treble is elevated a little bit, so for treble-sensitive persons, this model can sound too bright, but for me, highs here don't cross the "too much" line. Treble has the good level of details, nice attacks and extended decays, so treble here sounds "reach" and effective. Of course, Falcons lacks treble layering of expensive TOTL IEMs, but for their price range, it's totally expectable. So, "for its price", highs here are really nice, not as great as lows, but anyway good.
    7-With Cable.jpg
    The review won't be complete without few quick comparisons, so here they are.

    MEEAudio Pinnacle P1 Actually, both models justify their names. Pinnacles are aimed to highs, offering an uncompromised treble extension, Falcons dive to lows, offering great bass. So, choosing between this two models are really straightforward.

    iBasso IT03 Good hybrid model for those, who prefer more neutral and technical representation. If we'll skip ergonomics (some people have fit problems with IT03) and speak only about sound, Falcon C have more natural lows, and IT03 offers more resolving mids (it's BAs anyway).

    Dunu DN-2002 And yet another case, when we'll pass on ergonomics comparison, as Falcon C will be the absolute winner in terms of comfort. Sonically, those two models are really different too. Dunu's Hybrid model makes the accent on mids, with a bit recessed bass and treble, while Falcon C vice-versa has lowered mids.
    8-With LPG.jpg
    So, it's time for some conclusion. I've really liked this IEMs, and if you are a fan of good lows, I can really recommend you to pay a close attention to them. Also, I suppose that Dunu will release hybrid model with this driver for lows and few armatures for mud and treble, and that'll be a really TOTL model.

    1. Dobrescu George
      Nice review!

      I actually just got them today, but I really like the treble!|^^
      Dobrescu George, Jan 25, 2018
      cleg likes this.
  6. Moonstar
    The DUNU Falcon-C and the new CNT Driver
    Written by Moonstar
    Published Jan 17, 2018
    Pros - Genre friendly tuning & detailed sound,
    Solid build quality,
    Lot’s of accessories,
    Nice Stock Cable
    Cons - Needs lot of burn-in,
    The upper midrange needs more presence
    The DUNU Falcon-C and the new Carbon Nano-Tube Driver



    First of all, a big thanks to Vivian from DUNU for providing me a free sample of the Falcon-C for this review. I am not affiliated with DUNU beyond this review and these words reflect my true, unaltered opinions about the product.

    About DUNU:

    DUNU was originally an OEM/ODM manufacturer established in 1994 and focuses on development, manufacture and marketing of professional earphone and ear bud products. DUNU’s manufacturing plant is located in Dong Guan City, Guangdong, China.

    Official Website of DUNU (click here)

    The Price:
    The MSRP price for the DUNU Falcon-C can is around 219,00 USD.

    Purchase Link

    Package and Accessories:

    The DUNU Falcon-C comes in a nice packed black paper box with a silver colored protective cover that shows the illustration of the IEM itself. This box contains the IEM itself and the following accessories;

    • DUNU Falcon-C IEM
    • 10 sets of Eartips
    • 3.5mm Female to 6.5mm Male Adapter
    • 3.5mm Female to 2-pin Flight Adapter
    • Carry Box
    • Shirt Clip
    • Warrant Card & Manual


    The DUNU branded black carrying box is made of metal (I think aluminum) and has a nice looking elegant design. Inside the box is a velvet coating that is a nice detail, because this coating will avoid any possible scratched to your IEM.



    The 4 braided and handcrafted stock cable of the DUNU Falcon-C is made of high purity Silver Plated Copper (SPC) and has MMCX connectors. The cable itself is very well made and the plastic coating is avoiding any microphonic effects.


    The male and female MMCX connectors of the Falcon-C are the best MMCX connectors I've seen so far. It sits perfect like a 2pin connector and is not loose like on other IEM’s I have tested before. The right connector has a red marking while the left connector is completely black.


    The cable has a gold plated, right angled 3.5mm TRS headphone plug that looks and feels very resistant. The memory wire is made of a shrink tube coating that is comfy.


    There is also a Y-Splitter (made of metal) and Chin Slider (made of plastic), that are both in black color. The Y-splitter has the classic DUNU brand logo printed on them.


    Design and Build Quality:

    The Falcon-C is relative small and has a very ergonomic design. The housing is according to DUNU made of liquid metal. This liquid metal material and its non-grain boundary would 3 times stronger than stainless steel, which should give an excellent acoustic character that would retrains harmonic resonance to archive a firm and more coherent sound.

    Indeed, the Falcon-C looks and feels rock solid and the black colored shell has a nice appearance.

    There is a grill at the inner surface that has no effect to the sound and according to my experience it looks like only an aesthetic choice. There is also small bass vent near the nozzle of the monitor.


    Fit, Comfort and Isolation:

    The DUNU Falcon-C has an ergonomic design and is comfortable to wear. The fit and seal is relative good but not the best when I compare it to IEM’s with a semicustom design language like the HiFi Boy OS V3 or Ibasso IT03. The isolation of the Falcon-C is above average.


    Technical Specifications:

    Driver Type:
    9mm Carbon Nano-tube Driver
    Frequency Response: 10 – 40 KHz
    Sound Pressure Level: 108+/-3dB
    Impedance: 16 Ohm
    Connector Type: MMCX Connectors
    Cable Material: 6N Silver Plated Cooper Wire
    Plug Size: 3.5mm Gold Plated
    Chord Length: 1.2m
    Weight: 28g

    Drivability (Impedance):

    The DUNU Falcon-C has an impedance of 16 ohm and is easy to drive. This makes it ideal for all type of portable Digital Audio Players (DAP’s). Even my Samsung Galaxy S8 could push the Falcon-C to very loud volume levels.



    Albums & tracks used for this review:

    Alboran Trio’s – Cinque Lunghissimi Minuti (Tidal Hi-Fi)
    Otto Liebert & Luna Negra – Up Close “Album” (DSF) – Binaural Recording
    LP (Laura Pergolizzi) – Lost On You (Tidal HiFi)
    Emmanuel Pahud (Claude Debussy) – Syrinx (Apple Music)
    Melody Gardot – Who Will Comfort Me (Flac 16bit/44kHz)
    Aretha Franklin – I Say a Little Prayer (Apple Music)
    Bryan Adams – MTV Unplugged Version Album (Tidal Hi-Fi)
    Queen – Greatest Hits Vol. II (Apple Music)
    GoGo Penguin’s – Muration (Flac 16bit/44kHz)
    Lazarus A.D. – The Onslaught (ALAC)
    Opeth – Damnation (Tidal Hi-Fi)
    Daft Punk – Get Lucky (Flac 24bit/192kHz)
    Bro Safari, UFO! – Animal (Tidal Hi-Fi)
    Lorde – Royals (Flac 24bit/48kHz)
    Michael Jackson - Billie Jean (DSF)
    Yosi Horikawa – Bubbles (Flac 16bit/44kHz)

    In Ear Monitor : DUNU Falcon-C, HiFi BOY OS V3, Whizzer A15
    DAP/DAC : Cayin N5II, Aune M2 Pro, Chord Mojo, Zishan Z2, Samsung Galaxy S8 Plus

    20180107_182227.jpg 20180107_182501.jpg

    Sound Analysis and Comparisons:

    This DUNU Falcon-C review is written by me after an intensive burn-in process of 180 hours. The sound characteristic of the Falcon-C changes drastically with every tips selection that I will mention in this review. I have used the Spinfit silicone tips due this review that is a nice Bonus from DUNU to its consumers.

    Sound Signature and Tonality:

    DUNU Falcon-C is an IEM with a V-shaped sound signature. The tonality of the Falcon-C is on the warmer side due a slightly bass presence.


    The frequencies:

    One of the first things I have noticed about the frequency region of the DUNU Falcon-C, was the very well controlled bass that hits quite hard when called upon.

    I hate IEM’s with to much boomy bass and a muffled presentation, luckily the Falcon-C is not one of this IEM’s. DUNU did a good job by tuning the lows of the Falcon-C relative balanced and not too dominant.

    The sub-bass region around 20-50 kHz goes deep and rumbles with a nice and natural decay. The EDM song “Animal” of the group “Bro Safari, UFO! shows me, how deep the sub bass of an IEM can reach in to my ears and the Falcon-C does this job very well. Maybe bass heads won’t be satisfied with the bass amount, but this is a matter of personal preference.

    The bass, especially around 60 – 220 kHz is capable of being very articulate and full sounding at the same time and it has also great texture without overpowering the whole sound spectrum.

    The legendary performance of Bryan Adams – MTV Unplugged Album Version is a good reference Album for testing the bass guitar presentation of any IEM. The DUNU Falcon-C excels very well in this area with its overall smooth presentation.

    Due the V-shaped sound signature, the Falcon-C has a little bit recessed midrange presentation. Don’t get me wrong, the vocal and instrument presentation of this IEM is quite detailed. Vocals, especially female vocals like Laura Pergolizzi (LP), Melody Gardot, Diana Krall etc. have a nice sense of emotion. I must admit, that the detail retrieval is really good for an IEM with a single dynamic driver.

    Laura Pergolizzi’s life performance in the song “Lost On You” is a good example to shows us, that the DUNU Falcon-C performs very well with some Female Vocals and even with a soprano level voice.

    Maybe some people will prefer an even more emotional vocal presentation, but this is also a matter of personal preference.

    The upper midrange area of the Falcon-C had some sibilance and harshness problems at the very beginning (the first 20-30 hours), which almost completely disappeared after a burn-in period of 100-120 hours.

    The Dunu Falcon-C has a relative bright sounding top end with some nice crispy treble and a quite good extension. My ears are quite sensitive to overpowered treble levels. The Falcon-C is bright but has not the sort of upper treble response that could fatigue your ears after some long listening periods.

    For example: Emmanuel Pahud’s (Claude Debussy) – Syrinx side flute (transverse flute) performance has some nice sparkle and sounds quite realistic. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t want to say that the Falcon-C has the detail level of a Oriolus Forsteni (that nearly costs twice the price), but it performs very well, even better than some higher priced IEM's I have listened before.

    Regarding to speed, the Falcon-C is not the fastest IEM with its 9mm single dynamic driver, but has enough speed to excel in some complex tracks like GoGo Penguin’s – Muration (an epic contrabass performance) or even Lazarus A.D.’s epic song “The Onslaught”.


    Soundstage and Imaging:

    The soundstage of the Falcon-C is relative wide and airy and the depth is above average. There is a nice sense of space in some instrument intensive tracks like GoGo Pengin’s – Fanfares or Lazarus A.D’s – The Onslaught that gives you a nice imaging of the performance itself.

    Choosing the right tips:

    The bass character of the Falcon-C is tips dependent. When I use the transparent gray tips the sub bass, especially the mid bass amount is more noticeable than these of blue tube tips. That means that the gray tip is adding an additional mid-bass hump.

    But when I select the Spinfit tips, the bass rumble is strong like on the gray tips, but it adds additional clarity to the midrange that I have lost with the gray tips.

    When I chose the blue tube tips, the sub- and mid-bass amount goes down, but the upper midrange and the top end is more present than before.

    Silicone Tips.jpg

    Some Comparisons:

    Vs. Whizzer A15 Pro (125 USD):

    As I mentioned in some of my previous reviews, the Whizzer A15 Pro is a fantastic IEM regarding to its price to performance in the categories build quality, accessory package and sound quality.

    Design, Fit & Build Quality:
    Both IEM’s have a great build quality and share a black metal housing. The main difference is the material they use; the A15 Pro has an aluminum housing while the Falcon-C is made of liquid metal that is according to DUNU 3 times stronger than steel.

    The Falcon-C has the upper hand when it comes to fit and ergonomics. The shell of the A15Pro is small but not as comfy as the DUNU, that makes the Falcon-C to the better choice if you listen to music for long hours.

    The sound:
    When we compare both for the sound I can say that Falcon-C has a relative warmer tuning compared to the A15 Pro. The DUNU Falcon-C has also the better bass response; speed and decay than the relative neutral or better say, bass-shy A15 Pro.

    The A15 Pro sounds more clinical at the midrange but is missing the emotion that the Falcon-C is presenting with male and especially female vocals. The Instrument separation is on par, or even slightly better on the A15 Pro. The Falcon-C and the A15 Pro have bright sounding top end and both are well controlled in this area. The DUNU Falcon-C has more upper treble sparkle.

    The detail level of both IEM’s is good, but I like the DUNU’s presentation more because it sounds not as cold as the A15 Pro, that is otherwise a great performer.

    The A15 Pro has a wider soundstage while the difference is not too much. But there is no doubt that the DUNU has the better depth and imaging.

    Vs. HiFi BOY OS V3 (199 USD)

    HiFi BOY is a relative new company in the Hi-Fi arena that has released its first IEM at the market these days, the OS V3.

    Design, Fit & Build Quality:
    The HiFi BOY OS V3 and the DUNU Falcon-C sharing different design languages. The OS V3 has a semicustom housing made of medical grade resin, while the Falcon-C has metal shell with a more industrial look.

    Both are comfortable to wear but the overall isolation of the OS V3 is a step above of the Falcon-C. Both are well made, but the DUNU Falcon-C look more solid to my eyes due the metal construction. The DUNU has also the upper hand in accessory quality and quantity.

    The sound:
    The first noticeable difference about the Falcon-C is that it has more sub-bass quantity and extension than the OS V3. The sub bass goes lower and the bass of the Flacon-C hits harder when it called for. The bass the OS V3 is smoother and more linear than those of the Falcon-C.

    The OS V3 and the Falcon-C have a V shaped sound signature, but the OS V3 has more forward vocals than the Falcon-C. The main difference between this two IEM’s is the midrange clarity. The Falcon-C sounds cleaner because of the upper midrange presence. The OS V3 sound a bit grainy, and not as live like as the Falcon-C.

    When it comes to vocal presentation, I think that male vocals sounding more realistic with the OS V3, while female vocals soundings delicious with the Falcon-C. The detail level of both IEM’s is nearly identical and above there price league.

    The DUNU Falcon-C has more treble presence and upper treble sparkle, which gives as result a brighter sound presentation then those of the OS V3. I think that the HiFi BOY OS V3 sounds more engaging on this frequency range, while the Falcon-C is more energetic and has additional micro detail.

    The soundstage of both IEM’s is not monstrous, but they are performing very well for there price category. The HiFi BOY OS V3 has a slightly wider presentation, while the Falcon-C wins in depth and imaging. Both IEM’s have an airy and engaging presentation.


    The DUNU Falcon-C is a well build IEM with lots of accessories, which has a nice sound tuning that is suitable for many genres, from Pop to Jazz or even Metal music. But you should note that the single dynamic (Carbon Nano-Tube) driver needs time to show its true potential, so a burn-in of at least 150 Hours is a must have.

    All-in all great job done DUNU!


    Pros and Cons:

    + Genre friendly tuning & detailed sound
    + Solid build quality
    + Lot’s of accessories
    + Nice Stock Cable

    - Needs lot of burn-in
    - The upper midrange needs more presence

    This review was originally posted on "Moonstar Reviews" :
    1. View previous replies...
    2. Moonstar
      Thank you mate!
      Moonstar, Jan 17, 2018
      Dobrescu George likes this.
    3. Dohyun
      Great review! Would these be good for classical?
      Dohyun, Jan 17, 2018
      Moonstar likes this.
    4. Moonstar
      Thank you mate, yes I think it would...
      Moonstar, Jan 19, 2018
  7. ustinj
    Dunu Falcon C: beautifully designed, resolving IEM
    Written by ustinj
    Published Jan 13, 2018
    Pros - excellent resolution and detail, extension in both extremes, elegant and attractive design, build quality, tip selection
    Cons - sticky cable, slightly unnatural midrange timbre

    I'd like to thank Vivian from Dunu for providing me with the Falcon C to sample and review. All words are my own and my honest opinion.​


    DSC02632.jpg DSC02620.jpg

    The Falcon C comes in a metallic silver cardboard sleeve, which slides out to reveal a matte-black folding box secured by a magnetic latch. Upon opening the box, you are presented with the IEMs themselves and the metal carrying case. The metal carrying case itself is not very pocketable due to its height and rigidity, but is a nice addition included with the overall package. The convex aluminum surface is somewhat thin and compressible, pressing down on it will cause it to go flat and spring back once pressure is released. It is internally lined with a thin felt surface, and closes by a seemingly snap-lock system.

    Within the metal case are the Falcon C's accessories. You get a 3.5mm to 6.3mm adapter, flight adapter, and a plethora of tips. There are 3 pairs (S/M/L) of the default blue-core 'bass' tips (medium bore), 3 pairs (S/M/L) translucent-grey 'clarity' tips (wider bore), and 4 pairs of (XS-L) Spinfit tips. The IEMs themselves also come with a pair of medium blue-core tips installed, so there are a total of 11 pairs of tips included in the box (impressive)!


    The Dunu Falcon C is very well put together. It sports an attractive, dark and sleek design that looks great -- it is undoubtedly the first Dunu IEM that has caught my eye. The housing material is formed with 'liquid metal', perhaps similar to that of the Campfire Vega / Dorado / Lyra II line -- it is smooth and cool to the touch, feeling very premium regardless of its asking price. The housings are coated in a dark-grey shade, with a hint of metallic tinge beneath the surface. The metal shells are surprisingly hefty, but not to the point that they are noticeably heavy in the ear. I applaud the design of the Falcon C, as it is both pleasing to look at and comfortable to use.
    The housing is ergonomically shaped, reminiscent of a curved and smoothed teardrop. Once I was able to find the correct tips, they fit very securely without any discomfort. The angled MMCX connectors are also a great help to this. The design sits flush with my ears, I would go as far as to say these are sleepable IEMs.

    On the proximal side of the housing, there are a few visible seams that are apparent. They aren't rough or unrefined however, as the housings remain entirely comfortable. There is also a large driver venting, covered in a flat silver sheet with perforations. Left-right indicators are clearly legible and engraved into the surface.


    The Falcon C's cable is a mixed bag for me. It is a good-looking cable, shaded in dark brown with the internal wiring subtly glimmering from beneath the sleeving. It is also soft and quiet, reducing cable noise to a bare minimum. The ~45 degree angled MMCX connectors are great for ergonomics and pair well with the housing design. However, it is not without its issues. The cable itself is fairly springy, it tends to create funky loops when dangling between your ears and DAP/phone pocket (it is caused by rotation / mild twisting of the cable). Additionally, the material has a 'sticky' rubber texture, tending to grab onto the things it touches -- specifically clothing and itself. When the cable has mild tangles or loops, you can't really run your fingers through the wire to sift out the kinks; with the Falcon C's stock cable, you have to pick the wire tangles apart carefully as the rubber tends to grip to itself.



    Personally am not a huge believer of burn-in, but I gave the Falcon C ~90 hours of runtime before sitting down for a final listening session. I didn't hear that much of a difference between initial unboxing and current sound -- if something changes in the next 50 hours, I will update the review.

    The Falcon C is v-shaped in tonality, with excellent resolution and clarity. Lower midrange sits behind in the mix, creating a spacious and clear sound with above average imaging. Bass is enhanced with a favor towards midbass; upper midrange rises gently carrying momentum noticeably into the lower treble, which extends gently beyond into the upper treble.


    The Falcon C's bass is one of its stronger assets. Subbass extends deep, though the lowest registers aren't as pronounced, still rumbling with authority. Midbass is impressively impactful and agile; speed is definitely above average, resulting in a relatively tight and technically apt presentation. Bass presentation will never come off as slow or syrupy. Bass is also fairly dynamic, it does not come off as one-noted or 'wooly' in texture like some other dynamic IEMs (an issue I felt to be present with the Pinnacle P1/X). In terms of quantity, the bass is undoubtedly lifted above neutral. Falcon C's bass quantity will likely please many low frequency lovers, but might not have enough for the most diehard bassheads.


    Midrange is usually tricky to get right, as my ears are more sensitive to noticing quirks and mishaps in the mids. Being an overall v-shaped IEM, the Falcon C's lower midrange is subdued in relation to its neighboring bass and upper midrange frequencies. Upper midrange is forward with excellent texture and resolution, though may come off as slightly tizzy at times. Female vocals are stand out as airy and detailed in a track, while male vocals have a clear biting edge but less body. This trait presents itself as a double-edged sword, resulting in an occasional metallic timbre associated with vocals.


    Falcon C's lower treble carries its momentum from the lifted upper midrange, with noticeable emphasis on its lower treble. For this reason alone, I would not recommend the Falcon C to those who are sensitive to treble; it really dances on the borderline to sibilance for me. However, it offers fantastic clarity throughout its treble presentation, without any noticeable or substantial dips / valleys. Resolution is nothing short of impressive, especially in its price bracket. Extension into the high frequencies is not lacking -- it presents itself with an above-average sense of spaciousness / airiness and sufficient sparkle.

    The Dunu Falcon C is a beautifully designed universal IEM, sporting a v-shaped tonality (leaning towards bright) with excellent resolution and extension in both directions. Build quality feels premium in both quality and aesthetics, its metal shells coated in a dark matte-grey and detachable MMCX cables reassuring durability. Bass is impactful and quick, with fantastic treble detail and extension. Falcon C's Achilles heel is within its occasionally energetic upper midrange, lending itself to come off as unnatural. But for those looking for a premium IEM with impressive bass and treble performance in this price bracket, it becomes seriously hard to rival the Dunu Falcon C in its strengths.

    1. mgunin
      Thanks a lot for reviewing! Do you think Falcon-C outperforms AAW Nebula 2?
      mgunin, Jan 24, 2018
    2. ustinj
      @mgunin I'd have to say a conditional yes to that -- in my opinion, the Falcon-C's midrange sounds a bit more correct than the Nebula 2's (though not completely natural itself). The Nebula 2's midrange sounds to have a more emphasized brightness to it (a problem the Falcon C had, but less obvious on the Falcon C). It generally sounds more coherent overall. Build quality and fit of the Falcon-C are hands down superior to the Nebula 2 IMO.
      ustinj, Jan 25, 2018
      mgunin likes this.
  8. audio123
    Dunu Falcon-C - Dynamic Destiny
    Written by audio123
    Published Jan 10, 2018
    Pros - Sub-Bass Reproduction, Clean Treble, Packaging
    Cons - Needs slightly more body

    Dunu is a Chinese company established in 1994. They specialize in the production of in-ear monitors (IEMs) and earbuds. The Titan and DN series are very well-received. Dunu’s last product release was the DK-3001. Recently, they have released a new product in the Falcon-C. I would like to thank Dunu for the review unit of Falcon-C. At the moment, you can purchase the Falcon-C from https://penonaudio.com/dunu-falcon-c.html .



    • Driver: 9mm carbon nano-tube
    • Frequency Response: 10-40kHz
    • Sound Pressure Level: 108 +/- 3dB
    • Impedance: 16 ohm
    Unboxing & Accessories

    The Falcon-C comes in a black package that has a silver protective cover. On the cover, there are the brand name, image of the iem, model name, description, high resolution audio logo and SpinFit logo. On the back of the cover, there are descriptions of the components in the package. After opening the package, you can see the iem and a carrying box. Inside the carrying case, there are 3 packs of silicone tips, flight adapter and headphone adapter. At the bottom of package, there are warranty card and instruction manual. There is no lacking in accessories.



    IEM Build & Design

    The Falcon-C is made of liquid metal and there is a smooth surface to it. On the faceplate of each side, there is the brand name printed on it. The shell has a nice gunmetal grey color. On the inside of the iem, there are L & R markings on the left and right side respectively. There is a vent near the marking for both sides and near the nozzle too. The nozzle is slightly angled with metal mesh. The iem utilizes customised enlarged MMCX plug to ensure stability as well as ensuring compatibility with other MMCX cables. The Falcon-C has an ergonomic design with a comfortable fit. The build quality is good.





    Cable Build & Design

    The cable has a 4 core braided design and it is made of silver plated copper (6N OCC). It has MMCX angled connectors. Each connector has an opaque black housing. There are L & R markings on the left and right side respectively. In addition, there is a black and red stripe on the left and right connector respectively for differentiation too. There is a memory wire section whereby the cable is being enclosed in a transparent heat-shrink tube. The chin slider and y-splitter are black in colour with the brand name printed on them. Lastly, the jack is 3.5mm gold plated right angled with strain relief.


    Sound Analysis


    The Falcon-C has moderate sub-bass quantity and it is extended with great depth. The sub-bass reproduction is delightful. The rumble is quick with a smooth touch. Each bass note is being articulated precisely. There is good tightness and control. Bass decay is pacey and there is a very engaging performance. There is good dynamics with sufficient punch. The mid-bass has moderate quantity to it and the slam is not hard hitting. Bass texture is moderately smooth. The bass does not have a visceral impact but it takes on a lively approach with clinical attack.


    The midrange is slightly recessed. There is a good level of transparency with cleanliness. It does not operate in a thick and lush manner. The lower mids has a moderate amount of body and male vocals are being expressed in a pleasant way. The upper mids has great forwardness to it and it benefits female vocals. Female vocals are presented with intimacy and there is a strong engagement. There is finesse and the control on the vocals prevents it from being shouty. The details retrieval is excellent with good definition.


    The treble has a great extension and it is bright. There is no sibilance and harshness. The Falcon-C is able to extend the treble to a certain extent and it showcases good technicality. The crisp is moderate with sparkle. This elevates the engagement. The amount of air rendered is good and gives a nicer airy presentation. The treble is expressed well with definition and it gives a detailed listening experience.


    The soundstage has a rather natural expansion in its width. The magnitude is quite good and it gives an open feel to it. The depth has a moderate amount of space and it does not feel close in. Vocals and instruments positioning is precise. There is minimal congestion.



    Dunu Falcon-C vs Mee Audio Pinnacle P1

    The Falcon-C has more sub-bass than the P1 with a greater extension. Its sub-bass reproduction is able to deliver more kick and it is able to create an impactful performance. The mid-bass on the Falcon-C has more body with a stronger slam. Bass decay on the Falcon-C is more pacey and the agility helps to elevate the overall engagement. Bass texture on both is smooth. Each bass note on both is expressed with a clean hit but there is more authority with the Falcon-C. Rumble on the Falcon-C is quicker. The lower mids of the Falcon-C has more body than the P1 and it sounds fuller. Male vocals are better expressed on the Falcon-C. The upper mids on the Falcon-C is more forward and female vocals sound engaging. Details retrieval on both is similar. Moving on to the treble section, P1 has the edge for the crisp and sparkle. Falcon-C takes on a smoother approach. Treble on both is detailed. The amount of air rendered on the Falcon-C has a greater amount for an airier presentation. Lastly, the width on both has similar magnitude and P1 has the slightly better depth.

    Dunu Falcon-C vs iBasso IT03

    The Falcon-C has less sub-bass quantity than the IT03. The IT03 is able to extend its sub-bass deeper and there is more punch. The engagement level on the IT03 is higher. The mid-bass on the Falcon-C has slightly more quantity than the IT03 but the slam on the IT03 is more powerful. Bass decay on the IT03 is quicker but Falcon-C is not very far behind. The Falcon-C has a smoother bass texture. Each bass note on the IT03 is expressed with authority. The lower mids on the Falcon-C has more quantity and it is able to tackle male vocals better. The upper mids on both are quite forward but the Falcon-C has the edge with its finesse. Vocals are presented with more intimacy on the Falcon-C. The treble on the IT03 is slightly more extended with extra air and sparkle. On the other hand, the Falcon-C treble is less bright and there is control. Lastly, the Falcon-C has a more natural expansion while the magnitude for the IT03 is greater. The depth of IT03 is slightly better.

    Dunu Falcon-C vs Hifiman RE800

    The Falcon-C has more sub-bass quantity than the RE800 and the RE800 extends with a greater depth. There is a quicker rumble to the RE800 and decay is more pacey. Bass texture on the Falcon-C is smoother. The mid-bass on both has moderate quantity and the slam on the RE800 is expressed more cleanly. The lower mids of the Falcon-C has slightly more quantity with great texture. The upper mids of the RE800 has extra forwardness and it sounds cleaner with crisp. The midrange definition on the RE800 is better. The treble on both is well extended but the RE800 has the advantage with more air and sparkle rendered. The Falcon-C presents its treble with additional smoothness. The treble articulation on both is accurate and they demonstrate good details retrieval. The RE800 has slightly more technicality. Lastly, the Falcon-C expands it stage with a very realistic feel. The RE800 has the better magnitude and depth with more space rendered.


    The Falcon-C is a bright v-shaped sounding iem with a lively sub-bass reproduction and clean extended treble. It is able to produce a detailed yet engaging sound. Moreover, it has a solid construction with a great cable to pair with it. The overall packaging is impressive with plenty of accessories. The Falcon-C is a wonderful product from Dunu.


    For more reviews, visit https://audio123blog.wordpress.com/ .