1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

1MORE MK801 Over-Ear Headphones with In-line Microphone and Remote (Red)

Rating:
4.5/5,
  1. alex2750
    Almost perfect
    Written by alex2750
    Published Aug 24, 2018
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Lightweight, solid build
    Comfortable
    Very good overall sound and tuning
    Excellent bass
    Incredible detail
    Cons - Sharp highs and some vocals are too sibilant
    Since joining Head-Fi, the only experience I’d had with 1MORE was the constant praise of their Triple Driver IEM; before this review, I had no idea 1MORE made over-ear headphones. Therefore, when Zoe from 1MORE reached out to me about testing the MK801, I was more than happy to accept and was interested in seeing whether 1MORE’s other products could live up to the expectations that the Triple Drivers set. Despite receiving these in exchange for my review, all opinions expressed are completely mine and I always write reviews as unbiasedly and honestly as I can.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    I'm a 21 year old college student who listens to music at every possible opportunity. I generally prefer IEMs to cans and wear them on the subway, between classes, doing school work, working out, and any other time it's socially acceptable to (as well as a few times it's not).

    I listen to a bit of everything but usually prefer male vocals and strong bass. I don't know how to describe my tastes by genre so I would say somewhere in the middle of Hozier, early Maroon 5, Bruno Mars, Queen, and Mumford and Sons is my sweet spot.

    All of my music is native and I use Samsung Music with UHD Upscaler and Surround Sound on my Samsung S8 and my Lenovo Yoga 720 with Dolby Atmos as my main sources.

    Some of my test tracks are:
    Sail - Awolnation
    Somebody That I Used To Know - Pentatonix
    Centipede - Knife Party
    In One Ear - Cage The Elephant
    Hallelujah - Rufus Wainwright
    All I Need - Awolnation
    Killer Queen - Queen
    Crazy Little Thing Called Love - Queen
    Hundred - The Fray
    Welcome to the Black Parade - My Chemical Romance
    Someone Like You - Adele
    Gasoline - Halsey
    Seven Nation Army - The White Stripes

    At the time of posting, the MK801 are $39.99 on Amazon, though they are quoted at $79.99 on the 1MORE website.

    Packaging and Accessories:

    The packaging for the MK801 was much nicer than I expected for the just-above-budget price point. Inside the 1MORE-branded box, the headphones sat in a foam cutout while the accessories - the cord, a soft carrying bag, and the instruction manual - came in a neat package at the top of the box.
    1.jpg 3.jpg 4.jpg

    Build:

    These headphones are built exceptionally well. According to the Amazon listing, they are built with TR-90 steel; all I know is that I’ve never experienced headphones or IEMs before with such solid construction while staying so light, weighing about half a pound. A thin strip of steel around the headband allows these headphones to be incredibly flexible and form to your head. A thin band of silver metal (it doesn’t have the finish that the rest of the metal does so I don’t know if it’s the same) separates the headband from the ear cups; in my eyes, the construction of the ear pads is the best part about these headphones. Rather than an extendable headband, the MK801 have made the ear cups and frame separate pieces, attaching them with a slider that aesthetically looks very sleek while also making adjustments easier and more precise than on most other headphones.

    5.jpg 6.jpg

    The cord is also built better than most others I have experienced. I usually deal with budget headphones, so take that with however many grains of salt you want, but I’m very impressed with the attention to detail 1MORE put into this cord. It is Kevlar-wrapped according to 1MORE; I find that it is durable and does not bend or crimp easily. Additionally, it resists tangling; in the past two months, I haven’t had to undo one knot or jumbled section of cable despite probably not treating it as well as I should. The cord also has a 3-button media control with a microphone, made of what feels like the same material as the headphones. The middle button has slightly raised edges on both sides, making it very easy to find and change/pause/play my music without looking.

    7.jpg 8.jpg

    Fit/Isolation:

    The MK801 are incredibly comfortable. Multiple reviews of these headphones mentioned that people found them uncomfortable due to the earpad not fitting all the way around their ears and giving them a headache after an hour or two; I don’t think my ears are any smaller than average but I haven’t experienced this in about two months of use. The soft cups fit all the way around my ears and provide a good layer of cushioning. The headband is also very comfortable and I honestly forget it’s there most of the time since it fits so well.

    9.jpg

    I’ve found that cans are generally worse at isolating than IEMs; these are no exception. I can hold conversations at a normal volume and hear the world around me if the volume isn’t cranked up all the way. However, there is very little noise bleed; wearing these feels more like I’m in a movie with an ever-present background song rather than struggling to hear my music more prominently than my surroundings or vice versa.

    Sound:

    Though I had high expectations for the MK801 due to the 1MORE name, I wasn’t ready for how good these sound. Notes come through rich and clear with more detail than I expected, leading to a wide yet intimate soundstage. My only qualm is sibilance - it only really shows on high vocals and cymbals but it’s a bit grating when the rest of the sound is very smooth and cohesive.

    Bass:

    The bass is exceptionally well-tuned. On almost every other pair of headphones or IEMs I own, bass this deep and rich is bloated and lacks either punch or bounciness. The MK801 is the best of all worlds, with strong bass and sub-bass that work in harmony rather than overlapping each other or bleeding into the mids. I tested bass with three songs and was impressed with them all:

    Drunk in Love (Beyonce): The bass intro was pronounced but didn’t steal the show; it immediately turned the song into a banger while remaining light and punchy enough to provide extra detail beyond just a beat.

    Sail (AWOLNATION): The song that forces most heavy bass to seriously bloat sounded incredible. Usually, budget headphones and IEMs have to pick between the thumping beat and the intense rumble, but the MK801 not only featured both but had some of the best balance between the two I’ve ever heard.

    Fairly Local (Twenty Øne Piløts): The bass is the focal point of this song, so the balance between bass and mids is very important. The bass was loud and deep and punchy but didn’t overpower either the vocals or the other sounds in the song.

    Mids:

    The MK801 has some of the best-sounding mids of any pair of IEMs or headphones I own. Both male and female vocals shine through and sound incredibly realistic, more like a private concert than headphones. This is especially true for a cappella - these headphones are the best for a cappella of all headphones and IEMs I own.

    Background mids also sound great and hold their own against bass and treble. The most impressive part of the mids, though, is their level of detail. Each instrument and individual sound comes through strong and distinct, leading to a cohesive blend of sounds rather than a solid wall of background. This is highlighted on songs like In One Ear by Cage the Elephant and Killer Queen by Queen but makes every song I’ve listened to sound better. On the other hand, sometimes songs with lots of intertwining parts can sound busy due to all of them being highlighted; while this may turn people off from the MK801 for complex songs, I actually don’t mind and am not considering that a true negative of these headphones.

    Treble:

    Treble is the one section where the MK801 fails to excel. Female vocals and high piano are very detailed and give good life to ballady or otherwise higher songs that sound lackluster on most budget headphones. They are light and melodic without being too airy, which I personally really like. However, there is more sibilance than I would like. It only happens on certain vocals and sharp highs like cymbals, but any excessive amount of sibilance turns me off from the song and the rest of the excellent sound.

    Soundstage:

    The soundstage is not the widest I’ve heard but makes up for it with incredible depth. Without the Samsung Surround Sound setting on, I can hear sounds in any range as long as they’re in front of me. Songs with a truly 360 degree sound (like All I Need by AWOLNATION) still sound much better than expected and much better than other headphones in this price range but aren’t quite up to the overall level of excellence of the MK801. The depth of the soundstage, though, blew me away. I can clearly hear the distinction between the foreground, midsection, and background; each has a strong presence and none overlaps or drowns out any other. This gives songs a sense of true stereo sound and life that I haven’t heard in any other headphones to date.


    Final Thoughts:

    1MORE outdid themselves with the MK801. I usually prefer IEMs; however, these headphones have changed my mind. They sound incredible, are built very well while being very stylish, and are some of the most comfortable cans I’ve ever worn. I really wanted to give them five stars but the sibilance on sharp highs held me back. I haven’t experienced any other 1MORE headphones or IEMs but finally understand the hype and could not recommend these more.
  2. glassmonkey
    1MORE MK801: Sexy looking and sexy sounding, a bargain headphone with natural timbre and a detailed presentation
    Written by glassmonkey
    Published Oct 22, 2016
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Nice natural timbre, detailed, nice imaging, good bass thump
    Cons - Upper mids/treble can be a little fatiguing, standard comfort complaints with on ears, sound stage can feel a bit intimate

    Acknowledgment   

    Thanks 1MORE UK for providing this review sample in return for my honest opinion.
    black_1024x1024.jpg

    Introduction

    I heard about 1MORE from a fellow HeadFier, @canali, who told me I should check out the triple driver, so I went searching. The triple driver is in such high demand that there were none available when I asked. According to the 1MORE rep I’ve chatted with, the 1MORE MK801 and 1MORE EO323 are great introductions to their sound, so I’ve be reviewing both of these offerings. In the future I'll be reviewing even more 1MORE. As of this writing I have 3 more headphones to review.
     
    According to the Wall Street Journal, 1MORE was founded in 2013 by three former Foxconn executives with an in investment from Xiaomi, one of the largest mobile gear manufacturers in China among other venture capital investments. The company is based out of Shenzen, but has roots in the USA in San Diego—a really nice place to have roots with all the great beer, great food, great culture, great weather and endless beaches—and a distributorship in the UK. 1MORE aims to have a global brand to match Apple’s big money monkey, Beats, I say monkey because a monkey could have tuned the ones I’ve heard. Unlike Beats, 1MORE wants to make premium quality headphones at midrange prices, instead of making low quality headphones at premium prices. As of the Wall Street Journal blog entry in 2015, achievements included 10 million in earphone sales in China, and I imagine since their triple driver won a couple of awards, that those sales numbers are way up.
     
    The 1MORE MK801 is currently available for $79.99 from the us.1more.com, and £79.99 from uk.1more.com. That just goes to show how shoddy the Brexit vote has made the exchange rate over here. Given that the USA price doesn’t have 20% VAT added to it, the price in the UK is fair. Let’s see what this little black mamba has to offer.
     
    Like most sensible people I started falling in love with music as a child. My first portable audio device was a Sony Walkman (the cassette kind) that I got when I was 10 years old (24 years ago).  I listened with the cheap Sony on ears that came with the Walkman until I bought a Koss CD boombox and started listening to UAF College Radio and 103.9 (alternative rock at the time) in Fairbanks, Alaska. I once listened to Louie, Louie for 3 days straight, and I’m not insane—did you know there is a Spanish gospel version of Louie, Louie?
     
    Like political tastes and tastes in friends, my musical tastes evolved through association and then rebellion and experimentation. From the songs of my father (The Beatles, Rolling Stones, Bob Dylan, ZZ Top), to the songs of my peers (Dr. Dre, Green Day, Nirvana, Weezer), my tastes evolved, expanded and exploded into the polyglot love that is my current musical tapestry. Like a Hieronymous Bosch mural, my tastes can be weird and wonderful: dreamy Japanese garble pop, 8 bit chiptune landscapes percolated with meows, queer punk, Scandinavian black metal; or they can be more main-stream with minglings of Latin guitar, Miles Davis trumpet, and banks of strings and percussion in the Mariinsky Orchestra. Mostly my audio drink of choice is a rich stout pint of heady classic rock and indie/alternative from my musical infancy and identity formation (the 90s). Come as you are, indeed. Beyond the weird, the wonderful, the interesting and accepted, I’m a big fan of intelligent hip-hop artists like Macklemore, Metermaids, Kendrick Lamar, Sage Francis and Aesop Rock. I even dabble in some country from time to time, with First Aid Kit and the man in black making cameos in my canals.
     
    My sonic preferences tend towards a balanced or neutral sound, though I’ll admit to liking a little boosted bass or treble from time to time. If I have to choose between warm and bright, I’ll choose bright almost every time. A few screechy high notes are preferable to me than a foggy unfocused bass guitar. As my tastes are eclectic, and a day of listening can involve frequent shifts in my sonic scenery, I don’t generally want headphones that try to paint my horizons in their own hues. I need headphones that get out of the way, or provide benign or beneficial modifications. I desire graceful lifts like an ice-dancing pairs’ carved arc, not heaving lifts like a man mountain deadlift.
     
    My last hearing test with an audiologist was a long time ago and under strange circumstances. However, I have heard tones all the way down to 10hz and all the way up to 23Khz using headphones in my collection. Either my headphones tend to have a hole in frequency at 18kHz or my hearing does, because I never seem to hear it. I’m sensitive to peaky treble, and treble fatigue, even when I can’t hear what might be causing it. I do enjoy smooth extended treble. I like deep tight bass and impactful drums, and dislike upper mid-bass emphasis.  I like my vocals crisp, so stay away from Josh Tillman’s voice you nasty upper mid-bass hump.  I like air in the stage, not just cues to distance and height, but the feeling of air moving around and through instruments. Soundstage shouldn’t be just about hearing, I need to feel it. I listen at volume levels that others consider loud (78 to 82 dB), but I just set it to where the dynamics peak. I’m not here to shatter my eardrums. I like them just how they are.
     
    I generally don’t believe in using EQ, not even for inexpensive headphones, especially in reviews. I won’t claim that I haven’t done it, but I generally try to avoid it.
     
    I believe that burn-in can make a difference, but I also acknowledge that there isn’t any measurement that appears to give conclusive proof that burn-in exists. I trust my ears, fully acknowledging that my brain may fill in expected details, may colour my interpretation, or may be subject to its own settling period with a headphone. In my experience, burn-in effects are not as large as proponents of burn-in tend to advertise. I’ve also noted that using white/pink/brown noise, I almost never observe changes beyond 24 hours of burn in. When people tell you that you shouldn’t listen to your headphones until they have 200 hours on them, I think these people need to be ignored. No matter what, you should be listening to your headphones at different stages, right out of the box and at intervals. How can someone observe a difference without baseline observations and follow up observations to measure change trajectories? If you really want to be serious about controlling for effect, you need volume matching, source matching, and tip/pad matching.
     
    I’m a firm believer that cables can make a difference, but I don’t think they always do. When I tried out Toxic Cables line, they were in a bunch of baggies at the Cambridge 2015 HeadFi meet without any labels tell me what I was listening to. The cheapest looking one was the one I liked the best. I was excited that I wouldn’t have to spend much to improve my sound. It turned out that the cheapest looking one was the Silver/Gold top of the line cable. I’ve heard the difference that USB cables can make, from upgrading from the crappy cable that came with my Geek Out 1000 to a Supra USB, and then again when upgrading to the LH Labs Lightspeed 2G with the iUSB3.0. When I picked up a cheap shielded power lead from Mains Cables R Us to replace my standard kettle lead on my integrated amplifier, I heard more crunchy and clearer treble. I switched the leads with my wife blinded and she heard the same difference. I didn’t tell her what I heard and let her describe it herself. But cables don’t always make a difference. When I switched from my standard HD650 cable to a custom balanced cable (Custom Cans UK, very affordable), the sound stayed exactly the same when hooked up via a top tier (custom made by my local wire wizard, @dill3000, out of  silver/gold Neotech wire) 4-pin XLR to 6.3mm converter. Balanced mode made a difference in clarity and blackness of background—this indicates that the amp was the deciding influence, not the cable. Your mileage may vary and you may not hear a difference, but I have.
     

    Vital Statistics (specs from manufacturers and distributors)

    In this section of my reviews I try to let the manufacturer’s story about their product be told. Manufacturers and retailers always have something to say about their products, some of the time it’s accurate. The review sections will tell whether that is the case here.
     
    The technical details given on uk.1More.com are really sparse, most of the detail below is from the box. I’d personally like to see every manufacturer list the full specifications of their headphone on their site. Also, for the love of Pete can we please get some frequency response charts? We all know you guys measure these. Share the information! Rant over, I think.
     
    Specifications
     
    Driver
    Not listed on box or online, appears to be around 40mm
    Frequency response
    20Hz - 20kHz
    Impedance
    32Ω
    Sensitivity
    104dB
    Maximum Power
    50 mW
    Cable
    1.2m enamelled copper wire wrapped around a Kevlar core, with microphone and inline remote
    Jack
    3.5mm
    Weight
    235g
    Accessories
    Cloth pouch

     
    The uk.1MORE.com site doesn’t have a huge amount of salesmanese on their website, except for that repeating video when you enter the site. 1MORE time through the video is too much. It might not be as bad if the voiceover muted on the second time through and beyond. At least it won’t cause seizures like the USA 1MORE website. Holy crap that is a lot of rapid flashing lights—it needs a warning for people with epilepsy!
     
    The people in the video are cool and definitely sell the image that if you buy just 1MORE, you’ll be cool as cucumbers in an Arctic Circle icebox in January.
     
    icefish.jpg
    Image from greatlandofalaska.com

     
    Here is what you get with a couple clicks to the MK801 page:
     
     
    Like I said, not too much bluster. Though I must admit there is a little bit in there. One bluster element is the clear suggestion that the 1MORE MK801 will make you more fit, sexy and confident. Like Meze Headphones, 1MORE puts some serious sex-appeal on their website. Look at how casual that dude is, that pouty I’m emotionally available but strong look. Look at the girl, she’s gorgeous and confident enough to dispel inappropriately limiting mainstream female body concepts. That little touch of pit hair makes me happy. You go, girl!
     
    over_ear_black_5_1024x1024.jpg
    mk-801_1024x1024.jpg
    over_ear_black_1B_1024x1024.jpg
    over_ear_black_3_1024x1024.jpg

     

    Form & Function

    For the most part the MK801 are comfortable. Like all on ears I’ve ever used—probably due to how my ears stick out on my head—the 1MORE MK801 causes pressure on my ears after an hour or two that grows in noticeability the longer I wear them and results in a lingering ache after removal. I had similar complaints with the Meze 99 Classic’s original pads, but at least the 1MORE MK801 doesn’t claim to be circumaural. This isn’t 1MORE’s fault, it’s just I have lots of problems with on-ears.
     
    The MK801 felt a little bit hard on the headband when I first put them on, but by rotating the band to be angled toward the front of my head this comfort issue was resolved. The sliders allow good adjustment for the headphones and the grip is sufficient to keep the headphones on your head. The headband is rubberised, which means it should be pretty easy to clean. This will be pretty good on sweaty muggy humid redundant weather like the UK has been having lately.
     
    When walking about town with the 1MORE, I can hear a fair bit of wind noise, as the pads are a bit firm for making a perfect seal on top of the ears. These don’t isolate very well for me. Folks with different ears may have a different experience. On ears are very finicky on fit, and isolation is entirely dependent on fit.
     
    There are a couple myths I’d like to dispel from the minimal bluster of the website blurb.The 1MORE MK801 does not come with a durable soft carrying case. It comes with a thin fabric pouch that inspires absolutely no confidence in its ability to protect the headphones from anything but minor scratches that might occur when you throw the headphones into your backpack. I’ve put the headphones in my backpack a lot over the last month, and they haven’t been scratched yet, but when I think durable soft carrying case I imagine padding and the ability to take a drop—this case won’t do that. The MK801 also doesn’t come with an attractive storage case, unless they are counting coming in a presentation box, which these do come in, but nothing near the quality of unboxing experience that the 1MORE EO323 double driver or 1MORE E1001 triple driver IEMs provide. The outside of the 1MORE box is attractive, and there is a foam insert that is uncommon for this price range, so some points should be given for that. It also has a nice designated box for the cable. The presentation is good, but not spectacular like other 1MORE offerings.
     
    My pictures aren’t as sextacular as 1MORE’s, but I’m obligated to provide them. Sorry for the letdown after what you’ve previously seen. The first picture in this review is from uk.1MORE.com, and does a better job of highlighting the refractory glitter speckling on the black MK801. It is quite a handsome effect. I like it.
     
    I gave a brief phone test. It sounded fine and I didn’t have a complaint about my voice. I don’t really spend much time on the inline control features or mic and headset features of headphones because that isn’t what they are about for me—they are about telling the world to shove it. I’m busy, leave a message, I’ll call back later. Also, my phone is a crappy source, so no winning on that level either. Not gonna do it, wouldn’t be prudent.
     
    [​IMG]

     
    1MOREMK801-3.jpg
    1MOREMK801-4.jpg
    1MOREMK801-5.jpg
    1MOREMK801-6.jpg

     
     
     
    1MOREMK801-8.jpg

     

    Audio quality

    I’ve had these as my primary headphones for a bit over a month, and I think I’m getting a pretty good idea of how these sound. They have good texture throughout the spectrum. Their Grammy winner knows how to tune. Good on you Luca Bignardi.

    Comparisons

    The setup for comparisons was the Geek Out V2, fed by my iUSB3.0 using a LH Labs Lightspeed 2 split power and data USB cable (yes it makes a difference). I played tunes in JRiver Media player with volume levelling on, for the most part. There are some times with compressed metal music where it turns the volume down too damn much. I used an SPL meter to casually match volumes using white noise to ~78 SPL. Volume on the computer was as follows:
    1. 1MORE MK801 = 48
    2. SoundMAGIC Vento = 52
    3. Ausdom M05 (using Vento’s cable) = 45
     
    The tracklist was as follows:
    1. Be’lakor – Abeyance/Remnants (off Vinyl Remaster 2016) (guitar attack, speed, presence—I turn off volume levelling for this one because metal needs to be loud)
    2. Massive Attack – Teardrop (bass, female vocals)
    3. Amber Rubarth – Tundra (thanks Brooko and Chesky Records) (soundstage, instrumental mids)
    4. Kraftwerk – Komettenmelodie2 (treble torture test)

     

    _1240293.jpg

     
     

    Be’lakor – Abeyance/Remnants

    On Be’lakor – Abeyance/Remnants, the MK801 really rocks out. It has clear transients and a detailed presentation. I feel a touch of fatigue, which makes me wonder if there is a little bit of a treble spike. This would have the effect of boosting detail, whilst also causing some fatique
     
    Compared to the Ausdom M05 the soundstage on the 1MORE MK801 has a more intimate presentation. The Ausdom M05 has less crisp bass with a bit of bleed into the mids. It’s slightly veiled in presentation compared to the MK801. The sound of the M05 is smoother, with less detail. The soundstage is good, but mids are a bit forward.
     
    The Soundmagic Vento has recessed mids, and good clarity and detail. Comparatively, the 1MORE MK801 has a more natural timbre. The mids are better placed in the stage on the MK801. Soundstage is about equal across the two.
     

    Massive Attack – Teardrop

    I start this one out with the Vento. This track is a bass showcase. The bass drops low, with lots of texture. If a headphone doesn’t do bass right, this track will show it. The Vento lack the presence and rumble that I’m looking for on this track. The soundstage feels a bit closed in. I feel no treble fatigue with the Vento.
     
    With the MK801 the bass has more thump than the Vento gives me, but the sound is less rounded. I’m still missing that firm rumble that I look for on this track. The upper mids and treble have more weight, and the mids are airier. I far prefer the mids on the 1MORE MK801 to the Vento.
     
    Moving on to the M05, the thump at the beginning of the track less present than the MK801. Bass on the M05 is less defined. The overall tonality is much smoother. The soundstage is much more three-dimensional on the M05.
     

    Amber Rubarth – Tundra

    Starting with the M05, the soundstage was as good as expected. The stage has good height, and above average width and depth.
     
    The Vento really excels with the violin and strings in general. Violin has a beautiful presentation with clearly defined bow swipes rasping across the strings. The detail is wonderfully done. This is easily the Vento’s best showing on a track.
     
    The MK801 has more forward mids than the M05 and a more intimate stage. However, within that stage instruments have better placement and more natural timbre. Compared to the Vento, the detail is still there but the MK801 has better impact on drums, more speed, and a more aggressive feel. I’m known to like aggressive. I definitely like it here.
     

    Kraftwerk – Komettenmelodie2

    The MK801 has good treble extension, which is what this song is really about. This song is about harsh treble, so if this song doesn’t sound the slightest bit cacophonous, then your headphones aren’t accurate—they might sound nice, but they aren’t accurate. The MK801 lets the treble be it’s naturally cacophonous self.
     
    The Vento shows a bit more grain from the recording—this is a vinyl rip. The mids are less present and the treble is smoothed out a bit. Smooth treble on this track is wrong.
     
    The Ausdom M05 is the smoothest of all, but has the best depth as the sound advances from the back of the stage in the intro. The treble sounds a bit thin.
     

    Conclusions

    Overall, I’m very happy with the MK801. The MK801 has an overall balanced signature with a little bit of upper mids/treble emphasis. It has good detail and a natural presentation of instruments. I used these for well over a month and found the signature very satisfying and the price a bargain. When comparing these to the new Soundmagic Vento ($price, £price), I found them to have a superior soundstage, more accurate treble, better defined and more groovy bass, and a more natural timbre for less than half the money.
     
    These are a great bargain, especially for people who have no comfort issues with on ear headphones. If you or someone you know is thinking about getting a Beats Solo, smack them across the face with these puppies. They are stylish, well packaged, and sound excellent at a very reasonable price.
     
    Batman-Slapping-Robin1MORE.jpg
      ostewart, SpiderNhan and dbaker1981 like this.
  3. moedawg140
    Review: 1MORE MK801 Over-Ear Headphone with In-line Microphone and Remote
    Written by moedawg140
    Published Apr 5, 2016
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Snazzy look, build quality, commendable sound for the price
    Cons - Larger ears may touch inside of earcups/headphone
    This will house the TL:DR version of my full review.  The main version is here: http://www.head-fi.org/t/804057/review-1more-mk801-over-ear-headphone-with-in-line-microphone-and-remote.
     
    Taken from the Final summary portion of the full review:
     
    "A vibrant and upbeat sounding headphone that is light and comfortable is great.  Add in the fact the price of admission is such that a lot of people can afford, means not only can you purchase one for yourself and give it away if you don’t like it, but you can purchase multiple if you do like it and in multiple colors as well!  This is one headphone that I thoroughly enjoy and is worth a listen and purchase, especially since you can have your cake (the headphone) and eat it too (purchase whatever you’d like in your life)."
  4. HiFiChris
    fancy Style, good Sound, excellent Value - the surprisingly capable 1MORE Over-Ear Headphones
    Written by HiFiChris
    Published Jan 27, 2016
    4.5/5,
    Pros - excellent value, quick and arid bass, resolution really good, doesn't sound cheap, build quality, durability, soundstage, aesthetics
    Cons - look foldable but aren't, remote control's buttons feel cheap, just slightly less fundamental tone would be what I personally wish
    IMG_20160121_094354.jpg
     

     
    Preamble:

    The 1MORE Over-Ear Headphones (http://www.gearbest.com/headsets/pp_265776.html) were sent to me by GearBest for the purpose of an honest evaluation. The MSRP is $79.99; the headphones were prices at $50 on the GearBest website at the time of this review.

    The Chinese company 1MORE was founded in 2013. Mainly focussing on audio products, especially headphones and in-ears, the manufacturer became more or less well known after just a short time.
    To find out how their over-ear headphones, which are advertised as being tuned with the help of an internationally renowned sound engineer, assert themselves sonically and if they are worth their price, just read the following few paragraphs below.

    On the GearBest website, the 1MORE Over-Ear Headphones are listed as “Super Bass Headphones” – whether “super” means “good” or “plenty” in this case will be found out during this review as well.


    Technical Specifications:

    Sensitivity: 104 dB
    Frequency Response: 20 - 20000 Hz
    Maximum Power: 50 mW
    Impedance: 32 Ohms
    Weight (without cable): 235 g
    Cable Length: 1.2 m


    Delivery Content:

    The in-ears arrive in a black box with paper sleeve that has got a glossy silver “Voice of China” logo on the front and the technical specifications on the back. Removing the sleeve, the actual packaging which has got a 1MORE logo and a red impulse-wave-like pattern on its front gets visible.
    Inside is the headphone which is securely covered in foam; a small red cardboard box contains the cable, a carrying pouch as well as a quick-start guide.
     

    IMG_20160120_193048.jpg   IMG_20160120_193152.jpg
    IMG_20160120_193228.jpg   IMG_20160120_193558.jpg



    Looks, Feels, Build Quality:

    Having seen the headphone in real life for the first time, I was quite stunned because of how awesome they look – the 1MORE is matte red metallic, with a very smooth soft-touch surface that clearly differs from many inexpensive headphones, as it is neither soft nor prone to scratches. The headphone is made of lightweight and very tough/sturdy TR-90 metal (the headband can be bent and twisted without any damage); the headband is bolstered on the inside.
    Below the 1MORE logos, there’s a silver element on each side that may lead into thinking the headphone was foldable – unfortunately that is not the case!
    The headband adjustment mechanism reminds me of the Sennheiser Momentum’s and is steplessly adjustable; the ear-cups have got a structure on the outside in the centre, which looks very nice upon close inspection.
    The pleather pads don’t only look but also feel nice, solely the side markers inside the cups (why do some manufacturers even print them inside?!) look a bit cheapish.
    The replaceable cable is quite good and flexible.

    The visual and haptic impression of the 1MORE is excellent.
    Solely it’s a bit sad that the headphone isn’t foldable (although it looks like it was) and that the side-markers are printed inside of the ear-cups (which I detest, as it doesn’t look good imho).
     

    IMG_20160120_194133.jpg   IMG_20160120_194155.jpg
    IMG_20160120_194210.jpg   IMG_20160120_194240.jpg
    IMG_20160120_194310.jpg   IMG_20160120_194341.jpg
    IMG_20160120_194416.jpg   IMG_20160120_194505.jpg
    IMG_20160120_194522.jpg   IMG_20160120_194608.jpg
    IMG_20160120_194624.jpg



    Comfort, Isolation:

    I have got rather large ears and an average/smaller head, therefore the headphones are not over-ears but on-ears for me, but the pads are quite small in general.
    People with (quite) large heads may have problems getting a good fit, as the largest expansion of the ear-cups might not be enough for them.
    Although the ear-pads don’t surround my ears but lay on them, the headphone doesn’t feel much unpleasant, as pressure isn’t too much (though not too little either) and the pads are quite soft.
    After some time, some heat builds up underneath the cups, although it doesn’t increase over time and remains on an identical, comfortable level.
    The bolstered head-band offers a good pressure distribution but I wouldn’t mind if it was a bit softer.

    Noise isolation is not bad for closed-back headphones and better than average. Exterior noise sounds damped but also a bit darker.
     

    IMG_20160120_193851.jpg   IMG_20160120_193924.jpg
    IMG_20160120_193953.jpg   IMG_20160120_194007.jpg



    Remote Control, Microphone:

    Unfortunately the buttons feel quite cheap and don’t do justice to the headphone’s nice looks – in my opinion, they could have been left out.
    The microphone’s speech quality is average; voices sound slightly darker than natural and a bit coated.


    Sound:

    My main audio players for this evaluation were the iBasso DX80 as well as DX90. Music was stored in FLAC-, Hi-Res and MP3-format (320 kBps); just in case the headphones were burnt in before critical listening took place.

    Tonality:

    I would describe the sound as bassy-smooth and dark.

    Down from 600 Hz, the lows’ emphasis starts slowly and evenly rising, reaching its climax at around 80 Hz as sort of a hump of about 7 dB – the focus lays on upper bass, however mid-bass and fundamental tone are audibly emphasised as well, with rather warm lows. Sub-bass at 30 Hz is still present with enough pressure yet less level.
    Mids are a bit on the darker as well as slightly warmer side, though without much colouration.
    Treble is very even, without any spikes or dips, and more in the background, yet not too much so that tonal balance is still good and the sound doesn’t shift into the dark and muffled direction too much but is just smooth-dark. Presence area and upper treble have slightly less level than middle treble.

    Tonally, certain similarities with the Brainwavz HM2 and Sennheiser Amperior are undeniable due to the smooth-dark character – the 1MORE is a bit more balanced sounding than the HM2 (slightly less bass, slightly more treble, no muffled mids); the Amperior has a tad less bass but also the more relaxed middle treble with more level in the upper highs.

    Resolution:

    Detail retrieval is very nice, especially for $50 – sound is cohesive and only slightly lacks behind well-established models like the Shure SRH440 or Sennheiser Amperior; compared to the Brainwavz HM2, the 1MORE Over-Ears are a definite upgrade.
    Vocals are rendered with a good amount of details and without any veil, though because of the tonal tuning, this headphone wouldn’t be my personal first choice for vocal-heavy music. The HM2’s muffled vocal veil is completely missing on the 1MORE, mids have audible more details.
    The highs are very even, seem natural and not really artificial.
    Lows are very controlled, quick and arid.

    Soundstage:

    For a closed-back headphone, the 1MORE generates a quite natural imaginary room in my head, sounding relatively airy and open.
    The soundstage isn’t congested at all, with about average width and really good depth with decent layering. Instrument separation is very precise as well, keeping the price in mind.

    ---------

    IMG_20160121_072116.jpg

    Vs. Brainwavz HM2:
    1MORE’s isolation is better.
    The 1MORE has a bit less bass (about 2 dB less) and doesn’t sound as dark.
    The HM2 is a solid headphone for the price – the 1MORE however is a very good one, easily surpassing the Brainwavz regarding sound quality and resolution. HM2’s midrange veil is clearly lacking the 1MORE.
    Treble and mids sound more natural, also being more detailed.
    1MORE’s bass is faster, more arid and has better control and details.
    1MORE’s soundstage is larger with the better instrument separation as well as layering.

    Vs. Shure SRH440:
    The Shure isolates slightly better.
    The SRH440 sounds much more balanced/neutral, with quite flat lows and fundamental tone plus audible more treble, hence sounding brighter by quite a bit. 1MORE’s bass extends deeper.
    Regarding resolution, both headphones are surprisingly close, with a slight edge towards the Shure in the mids and treble where the SRH440 is minimally cleaner. In terms of bass speed and lows’ details, both are on par, though the Shure sounds subjectively faster as its fundamental tone area is much leaner, hence it conveys a better sense of speed.
    The SRH440 imho always had a really good soundstage for a closed-back headphone. The Shure’s generated imaginary field of sound is a bit larger and has got the airier and more precise instrument separation.
    Overall, the Shure is technically better, however by much less than half a class.

    VS. Sennheiser Amperior:
    Amperior’s isolation is quite a bit better.
    Tonally, both have got a more or less comparable character: Amperior’s lows are slightly less present by about one dB, mids are somewhat darker and more relaxed as a result of the more recessed middle treble. Sennheiser’s upper treble has more level than 1MORE’s, adding little more sparkle to compensate for the relaxed middle highs.
    Just as compared to the Shure, both headphones aren’t far apart when it is about resolution, and the Amperior’s advantage isn’t that much, only being a slight bit more differentiated and cleaner. Also in the bass department, both are identically fast and dry, however the Amperior is a bit more differentiated and detailed, but then again by less than half a class.
    I’d be lying if I was talking about soundstage when describing the Amperior – it has never been known as having some kind of expansive stage, though its “location precision” is excellent.


    Conclusion:

    Very often, fancy and nice looking portable headphones suffer from bad sound, but not in this case – for the quite little price, the 1MORE Over-Ear headphones don’t only offer excellent looks, flawless build with decent stability, but also a very well-made sound that is just as good as the headphones look and feel (and believe me, I find them very good looking).

    Let’s get back to my initial question – what does “Super Bass” mean in this case? The 1MORE offers a good mixture of emphasised and qualitatively valuable bass, so it is no bloated bass monster with undifferentiated lows but offers quite enjoyable sound, with strong however not overpowered lows.

    Ladies and gentlemen, we have a clear winner for the price that does many things right and therefore scores 93% or 4.5 out of 5 stars – solely the inline remote could be better and it would be nice if the headphone was foldable, plus the fundamental tone area could be slightly less present for a better sense of speed.
      SpiderNhan, peter123 and twister6 like this.
    1. View previous replies...
    2. HiFiChris
      @Tom22
       
      When I got the 1MORE, I was very sceptical, too, and thought it was just a fancy headphone with mediocre sound. After playing the first beats, I first raised my eyebrows and then smiled. I smiled even more after the comparison with the Shure and Amperior, after it got obvious how close the 1MORE comes. Before first listening, I thought about comparing it to something in the $30 to 50 range as I thought it would be an average headphone. I was so wrong and after the first days, I knew that I had to compare it to the Shure and Sennheiser.
      HiFiChris, Feb 11, 2016
    3. HiFiChris
      PS: I don't know whether that's their first full-sized headphone or not.
      HiFiChris, Feb 11, 2016
    4. Laura Jia
      @HiFiChris excellent review. Hello I am Laura. Could you review our BT earphones? 
      here is my email: laura@ivafee.com
      I don't know how to get touch with you.
      I look forward to your reply.
      Best Regards,
      Laura
      Laura Jia, Feb 16, 2016