The "noob's" review on the Sony MDR-EX500's
Apr 11, 2010 at 5:13 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 51

Totally Dubbed

aka 1337 Gamer
aka totallydubbed2
aka TotallydubbedHD

Video review

Written Review

First off, i am no expert neither do i have much experience.
But that's what i like when i read reviews. Not technical information i don't understand, but easy accessible information from others.

This review will explain what the earphones are about, and what makes them stand out in comparison to their competitors.
Alongside this, I will publish some photos, for you, the customer, like myself to see and get a bigger/better picture of what you are in fact buying.

First off, I would like to say, that I am quite keen on music.
I listen to mainly R'n'B music, with the accompany of Dance and some classic guitar songs, such as some Santana.

I will explain the basics of what makes these earphones (genetically) better than the rest.
I have to admit when I bought these I had to ask some good friends and look online to find out what a diaphragm was. (I never took Biology seriously anyway...:p)
It basically is the coil inside your speaker that produces the waves which are the sounds that come to your ears.
Therefore the Multi Layer Diaphragm means that there are 2 coils operating at the same time.

Now you might ask yourself: But how do these help my hearing?
Basically, 2 is always better than 1, and therefore this means your earphones will produce different sounds at different given times.
Thus in conclusion they give you different sounds at once.
A good example of this would be when listening to guitar music, when you hear the guitar, the bass, and the vocals all in one sound wave.
Whereas normal earphones under £20 would jumble these sounds together, these earphones differentiate the sounds and give you an altogether better experience.

Now enough about the facts, and explanations.
Now I will give my personal input/experience with these earphones:

-The shape/form: