PINT rocks! (i.e. Tangent better be making a replacement!)
Jun 12, 2006 at 5:46 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 43

Iron_Dreamer

Sponsor: Audeze
Landscape-Photo-Fi
Organizer for Can Jam '09
So this weekend I recieved and built the PINT kit sold by [ak]zip, and I must say, this is a fantastic DIY project. Great sound from a very small and inexpensive package, that isn't too difficult to put together. I am not fully informed on all matters concerning why this project was discontinued, but I really hope they are problems that can be resolved, simply because I hope others can have the opportunity to build the same great little amp.

It sounds a little strained driving my lower impedance cans (but then again, look at the only other amp I've got to compare it with). Anyone know what the ouput impedance of the amp in this Mini Cubed configuration is (I'd guess 33ohms, based on the ferrites, but I'm no expert)?

I'd never really needed a portable amp, and really only bought this kit to give my new Metcal station a trial by fire, but now that I have it up and running, it's a fun amp to have around (plus I don't have to max out my DAP's volume on occation with my K270S
wink.gif
). I can see very easily how a successful build can really get one into the DIY disease
biggrin.gif

So Tangent, thanks for the PINT design, and best of luck at coming up with a suitable replacement/successor.

Jun 12, 2006 at 6:46 AM Post #2 of 43
Quote:

Originally Posted by Iron_Dreamer
Anyone know what the ouput impedance of the amp in this Mini Cubed configuration is (I'd guess 33ohms, based on the ferrites, but I'm no expert)?

More like < 1Ω at audio frequencies.

Jun 12, 2006 at 7:29 AM Post #3 of 43
Quote:

Originally Posted by Iron_Dreamer
I am not fully informed on all matters concerning why this project was discontinued, but I really hope they are problems that can be resolved, simply because I hope others can have the opportunity to build the same great little amp.