hd 600 disappointment..
May 23, 2003 at 5:16 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 50

neggy

100+ Head-Fier
Anybody else disappointed with the hd 600's i find the sound too laid back. I have read that you can upgrade the cable and such but I am a student right now and i dont have funds laying around that can go towards upgrading a cable that shouldnt have to be upgraded, and buying a 500 dollar amp. I am leaning towards the grade sr325, would those work well off of a weaker amp compared to the hd 600s? Maybe the hd 600's arent suited for rock music or something?
confused.gif

May 23, 2003 at 5:23 AM Post #2 of 50
The sr325 would definitely sound better with a weak amp than the hd600's. You need a very powerful amp to get the hd600's to their full potential. Also, if you're into rock, the sr325's are the best rock headphones out there, according to most people here.

May 23, 2003 at 5:27 AM Post #3 of 50
What MusicLover said. Except sex is also good for depression.

Maybe if you gave your listening habits and dollar amount we could be of more help. You certainly though don't need to spead $500 on an amp.

[EDIT: Okay, I looked at your profile. Now I'm not going to make any comments about America, but yeah, without any amp (even a $50 used DIY), a 600 is not going to sound great by itself. Grados are certainly an option.]

Assuming though you could potentially sell the 600's what is your total price range? I'm sure people here can make recommendations.

May 23, 2003 at 5:42 AM Post #4 of 50