Audio Technica ATH M50 vs Ultrasone HIFI 580 Vs Denon AH D1100 vs Sennheiser HD25-1 ii vs AKG K181??
Jul 19, 2011 at 8:35 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 41

Ciaran Van Don

Head-Fier
Hi I am new to headfi but I listen to predominantly trance and techno.  I have a pair of AKG k518 at the moment but I find them to be quite bass heavy but have that boomy resonant bass with a long decay period, with somewhat recessed mids and veiled highs to my ears anyhow (I have removed the ear pads and burned them in but really had no success there).  I would be interested in something like the Ultrasone hifi 580/780, Audio Technica M50, Denon AH D1100, AKG K181 or Senheiser HD25-1 ii the industry standard as it seems.  I am looking for a headphone with good bass extension ie bass with impact in lay mans terms I need a headphone that can handle complex bass lines without making it sound boomy.  I would also like the mids to be more forward I think and highs to be less veiled because I like vocal trance, I like to get immersed in the music but the AKG K518 was not good with vocal trance with it's uncontrolled slightly bloated bass response.  I am not sure if I should look for a more neutral analytical headphone or opt for a warmer or dark "can" that has more musicality, if that makes sense.  I am running my headphones from my PC with a fairly good sound card but would be prepared to amp with something like the FiiO E7 if required.  

1) Good Bass Extension impact
2) Mids slightly more forward less recessed
3) High's (treble), well controlled smooth not muffled

I am hoping someone on headfi with their experienced knowledge can help steer me in the right direction and help me make an educated purchase/decision etc :)   

Jul 19, 2011 at 8:56 AM Post #2 of 41