Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Multi-IEM Review - 314 IEMs compared (Olasonic Flat-4 Nami added 04/13/14 p. 894)
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Multi-IEM Review - 314 IEMs compared (Olasonic Flat-4 Nami added 04/13/14 p. 894) - Page 738

post #11056 of 13438
Quote:
Originally Posted by ljokerl View Post


I would too. Someday...

 

Glad the thread has been helpful beerchug.gif

 

It is the closest thing to we have to a Holy Book in this religion we call audiophilism.

post #11057 of 13438

Hi Sir Joker, what can you say about these?

 

via TranslateGoogle

 

[New] [four-color detail exposure map] VSD1 series new details: Sao red fluorescent green √ √ √ sky blue black √. With VSD3 series and D5 is different, VSD1 new version of the shell with a smooth surface, while VSD3 series and D5 is used polished diamond irregular plane (outline style is more distinctive, polished design can improve the wearing comfort). VSD1 new price not yet set, time to market 2014.06.01.

 

[SOURCE]

 


Edited by jhii07 - 7/26/13 at 3:56pm
post #11058 of 13438
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhii07 View Post

Hi Sir Joker, what can you say about these?

 

via TranslateGoogle

 

[New] [four-color detail exposure map] VSD1 series new details: Sao red fluorescent green √ √ √ sky blue black √. With VSD3 series and D5 is different, VSD1 new version of the shell with a smooth surface, while VSD3 series and D5 is used polished diamond irregular plane (outline style is more distinctive, polished design can improve the wearing comfort). VSD1 new price not yet set, time to market 2014.06.01.

 

 


Someone who knows more than I do about these explained their purpose on page 736 of this thread. That was the first I'd heard of them except for the VSD7, which supposed to replace the GR07.

post #11059 of 13438
Quote:
Originally Posted by jant71 View Post

The whole range is:

VSD1 and S - ~$32
VSD3 and S - ~$49
VSD5 - $65
VSD7 and 7 Bass - ~$199
VSD9 - ~$500

The best thing is that the release date is almost a year from now. Then I have time to save up to buy all of them. Except for 9 maybe..
post #11060 of 13438

hmm. for the WooDUO 2 at $64 instead of msrp $125... would I be foolish *not* to get it?

post #11061 of 13438

You know since I got my TDK BA-200s I am really impressed how they sound. I have not heard super high end IEMs but I have heard a few mid to high and mostly use the standard headphones I own and really wonder 

if an IEM can really be had to sound like my full sized cans... I do not mind spending a little more but I DO wonder what the law of diminishing returns would be after awhile! 

I have seen nice customs like the CT-200 starting out a decent price but after awhile I wonder how much I really gain... I know there are IEMS lots better, that IS a given, it's the how much better I truly wonder about..

I think I saw somewhere posted that once you get past around $200 is matter of it being a personal thing... I want better, I have wait a little, these nicely priced TDKs work well...

I do want better but if spending double is getting me only marginally better I have to wonder if that works for me given my use overall use. 

 

I scoured the guides and reviews here. I heard the Astrotec AM-800s which for $50 are are very well reguarded! The TDK BA-200s at least to me are easily twice as good and cost JUST over double at $122...

From what I have read here the next step is wait for the new line of Vsonics to come at because if the pattern holds $240 with the new models coming out may sound twice at good as the TDKs... I have read a few

reviews where SOME members here liked the TDKs better than the GR 07s. I have no idea, I am happy for the moment... It will last me until the new models come out. I have to ask myself are CIEMs worth it to me, 

the CT-200s at the price are REALLY tempting.. I will stay tuned here and read... smily_headphones1.gif


Edited by KimbaWLion - 7/27/13 at 9:51pm
post #11062 of 13438

Joker, I'm curious.. many of the new top tier multi-armature IEM models all seem to have an upper midrange dip of varying degrees (Heir 4.Ai, UE 900 to a less extent, and now the SM64), slightly boosted bass, and an inoffensive treble presentation. I'm fine with the treble and bass, but why do people tune IEMs with an upper midrange dip that can cause a veiled effect, and a decrease in perceived clarity? (Most noticeable with female vocals). Is there some psycho-acoustic effect of the sucked out upper midrange that we're subtly enjoying? Or is it entirely developer preference to tune IEMs in such a manner? confused_face_2.gif

 

PS If anyone has any insight to this topic do share!

post #11063 of 13438

Amazing!! What an effort!

 

Any chance you'll be reviewing the JH16 Pro's?

post #11064 of 13438
Quote:
Originally Posted by RochRx7 View Post

hmm. for the WooDUO 2 at $64 instead of msrp $125... would I be foolish *not* to get it?

Where?

post #11065 of 13438
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by RochRx7 View Post

hmm. for the WooDUO 2 at $64 instead of msrp $125... would I be foolish *not* to get it?

 

Don't buy something just for the value - make sure it suits your needs first. The Wooduo 2 especially is a pretty peculiar earphone. It's got tons of very deep bass and slightly edgy treble. Not the most natural sound, but great for bassheads who like a clarity and less mid-bass bloat compared to mainstream bass-heavy sets.

 

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by KimbaWLion View Post

You know since I got my TDK BA-200s I am really impressed how they sound. I have not heard super high end IEMs but I have heard a few mid to high and mostly use the standard headphones I own and really wonder 

if an IEM can really be had to sound like my full sized cans... I do not mind spending a little more but I DO wonder what the law of diminishing returns would be after awhile! 

I have seen nice customs like the CT-200 starting out a decent price but after awhile I wonder how much I really gain... I know there are IEMS lots better, that IS a given, it's the how much better I truly wonder about..

I think I saw somewhere posted that once you get past around $200 is matter of it being a personal thing... I want better, I have wait a little, these nicely priced TDKs work well...

I do want better but if spending double is getting me only marginally better I have to wonder if that works for me given my use overall use. 

 

I scoured the guides and reviews here. I heard the Astrotec AM-800s which for $50 are are very well reguarded! The TDK BA-200s at least to me are easily twice as good and cost JUST over double at $122...

From what I have read here the next step is wait for the new line of Vsonics to come at because if the pattern holds $240 with the new models coming out may sound twice at good as the TDKs... I have read a few

reviews where SOME members here liked the TDKs better than the GR 07s. I have no idea, I am happy for the moment... It will last me until the new models come out. I have to ask myself are CIEMs worth it to me, 

the CT-200s at the price are REALLY tempting.. I will stay tuned here and read... smily_headphones1.gif


If the BA-200 is as good as everyone says it is (i.e. top-tier or near top-tier), it's not likely you'll find something twice as good on the market, period. However, quantifying sound quality improvement is a tricky thing so who knows, maybe the VSD07 will be twice as good to you.

 

 

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peculier View Post

Joker, I'm curious.. many of the new top tier multi-armature IEM models all seem to have an upper midrange dip of varying degrees (Heir 4.Ai, UE 900 to a less extent, and now the SM64), slightly boosted bass, and an inoffensive treble presentation. I'm fine with the treble and bass, but why do people tune IEMs with an upper midrange dip that can cause a veiled effect, and a decrease in perceived clarity? (Most noticeable with female vocals). Is there some psycho-acoustic effect of the sucked out upper midrange that we're subtly enjoying? Or is it entirely developer preference to tune IEMs in such a manner? confused_face_2.gif

 

PS If anyone has any insight to this topic do share!

 

My guess is to avoid the perception of hard treble and edgy vocals with complaint-prone mainstream users who crank the volume all the way and then listen to 96kbps mp3s. It's just a "safe" tuning compared to going the GR07 route. There are plenty of other IEMs (dynamic and armature) that do the opposite - the PFE232, Sony EX1000, and Westone 3, just to name a few. By the way, I've heard from a few people now who found the UE900 treble excessive for their purposes so for them even the UE tuning isn't quite inoffensive enough.

 

By the way, I have seen the measurements for the SM64 - saw them before I got a chance to try it. I expected to dislike it but I had to be honest with myself and say that the opposite is true, that I enjoy the SM64 more than several other established high-end earphones. While it is probable that the SM64 would sound even better with a flatter upper midrange and lower treble, in listening to the earphones I can’t say that the issue bothers me as much as, for example, the sibilance of a VSonic GR07, the broader upper midrange dip of the SM3, or the bloated bass of a Sennheiser IE8. 

 

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by edyeded View Post

Amazing!! What an effort!

 

Any chance you'll be reviewing the JH16 Pro's?


I only have the JH13Pro, which I will add in due time. I like it quite a lot. 

post #11066 of 13438

Hello, again...

 

I'm looking for an IEM to use in the gym, and would like to avoid using my W4s. Is there a cheaper sub $100 alternate... while possibly still keeping the same sound signature? I know the clarity won't be the same, but would like a similar tone...

post #11067 of 13438
Quote:
Originally Posted by Change is Good View Post

Hello, again...

 

I'm looking for an IEM to use in the gym, and would like to avoid using my W4s. Is there a cheaper sub $100 alternate... while possibly still keeping the same sound signature? I know the clarity won't be the same, but would like a similar tone...

hifiman re400, head-direct.com - 99$

post #11068 of 13438
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Change is Good View Post

Hello, again...

 

I'm looking for an IEM to use in the gym, and would like to avoid using my W4s. Is there a cheaper sub $100 alternate... while possibly still keeping the same sound signature? I know the clarity won't be the same, but would like a similar tone...


Was going to recommend a BA but if you're going to use it at the gym that's probably not a great idea - armatures don't handle moisture well. RE-400 would be a good choice, then, though I am not sure how the cable will hold up to sweat (it might harden in the long run). 

post #11069 of 13438

I just received the new and improved NuForce NE-700X.  For anyone looking for IEMs around $50, check these out as well as the Zero Audio CB-DX210 Carbo Basso and CB-DX200 Carbo Tenore.

post #11070 of 13438

I just received my Vsonic GR02 Bass Edition and I really enjoy them. However, when the plug is moved I hear a static sound. How worried should I be?

Edit: to add on to this when I move the plug while listening to music, in addition the static sound the music sounds as if it's in the background for a few seconds then return to being in the "front"

Edit2: Nevermind, I stuck a qtip in the jack and now the static is gone.


Edited by Thr0waway - 7/29/13 at 3:35pm
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Multi-IEM Review - 314 IEMs compared (Olasonic Flat-4 Nami added 04/13/14 p. 894)