Vinyl music
Sep 6, 2010 at 8:20 PM Post #16 of 26
I guess what tru blu was implying went way over my head.  After reading all the feedbacks, and reading my post, I can see how I may have sounded like a noob.  I just wanted some questions answered, didn't expect a lesson on terminology.  Anyways, thanks for all replies.

Sep 6, 2010 at 9:10 PM Post #17 of 26

Quote:
I'm new to this vinyl thing, and had some questions:  
-How does vinyls from 30 years ago differ from present vinyl?
-Are some vinyls better sounding than others?  If so, which vinyls?
-Does vinyl get worn out if played alot?  So, new vinyls are better sounding?
-vinyls from Best Buy good vinyls?

And lastly, recommend me some music that sound very good on vinyl. 

1) How does vinyls from 30 years ago differ from present vinyl?
They don't differ much. The main difference is that now most vinyl that is cut is cut with the use of a preview head that automatically tells the cutter head to narrow or widen the groove based on the amount of audio information coming in. This in turn allows for a more dynamic record that also saves more space for more music or the same amount of music with less distortion.

2) Are some vinyls better sounding than others?  If so, which vinyls?
Yes. 45RPM albums will sound better than 33.3RPM albums. Also, vinyl put out by companies like Audio Fidelity, Classic Records, Analogue Productions and Music Matters are usually top of the heap.

3) Does vinyl get worn out if played alot?  So, new vinyls are better sounding?