UE Super Fi 5 Pro earbuds are loose...
Dec 24, 2008 at 7:13 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 13

ceekay84

100+ Head-Fier
I've been using my super pro IEMs for 2 years now when I work (6 times a week) and the just now the wires' prongs seem to connect very loosely to the earbuds. The earbuds seem to disconnect themselves (slides off) from the wires very easily. Has anyone experienced this before? If so, is there a quick fix to this problem?

Dec 24, 2008 at 7:16 PM Post #2 of 13
You might want to consider buying a new cable from UE (~$20) in order to diagnose if the problem lies with the cable or the IEM itself.

Dec 24, 2008 at 7:21 PM Post #3 of 13
I did and it still slides off as easily as the old ones... Can't even jog without the earbuds falling out...

Dec 24, 2008 at 7:22 PM Post #4 of 13
it may be worth purchasing a new cable, but if you have taken the cable off numerous times in those 2 years theres a possibility the actual connection on the earphones is worn and the cables are not holding.

this is because the cables are not actually designed to be constantly removed and upon doing so the components that hold the cable in place may have worn and gotten wider, there are cables with longer prongs but im not sure about thicker which you would require.

however you could email UE and see what they can do for you, because they are most likely out of warranty you may have to pay a small fee for a replacement set.

there is no real quick fix and if your lucky it may well just be the cable thats worn the prongs and the earphones may be fine, hence...this is why it may be worth purchasing a new cable, theres a 75% chance a new cable with new prongs will fit snug again, however the other 25% is a chance the connectors on the earphones are worn, if a new cable has the same problem you know its time to contact UE.

or contact them first anyway to see what they think.