Stax impulse response of 007 and 009.
Mar 15, 2017 at 1:09 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 5

ginetto61

1000+ Head-Fier
Hello to All !

i have a curiosity.
I am looking at the response to impulse of the wonderful Stax sr-007 here below (the best HP i have ever heard for realism)

http://www.innerfidelity.com/images/Stax_007_graphs_all.jpg

I am not an expert but it looks connected with phase inverted ? 
I read that when a speaker is connected with the phase inverted the sound results "strange", like weak.
When i send a positive signal in i would expect a positive signal out. 
Am i missing something ?
Needless to say this is a very peculiar behaviour.  Almost all the other HPs do not invert the phase.
Why this choice ?
Thanks a lot
gino

P.S.  for me Stax are the best, lets be clear. Especially the circular ones. 
i do not like the rectangular drivers at all. 
There must be a reason why the use circular drivers for the TOTL models. 

Mar 16, 2017 at 2:32 AM Post #3 of 5
I can't hear inverted phase even on speakers. If one of the channels gets inverted, you will hear but both you will not. Tested with Foobar plugin, switching fast.

Hi ! thanks a lot for the valuable advice. 
I have a cd test with an out-of-phase track and indeed it sounds strange.  For instance the soundstage gets worse.
Anyway, i see that instead other Stax models  drivers are connected in phase.

http://cdn.head-fi.org/b/bc/1000x1000px-LL-bce51af3_ScreenShot2014-06-13at2.44.46PM.png

and at least in some reviews someone prefers these cheaper models. They mention a better attack ? 
As a principle i like when the output signal reproduces accurately the input signal. 
I know it is a very trivial statement.
The vast majority of HPs are connected in phase.
They could have provided a phase switching option because i understand some recordings are recorded out of phase ?
Thanks again,  gino

Mar 16, 2017 at 4:00 AM Post #4 of 5