newbie DIYer questions
Oct 23, 2001 at 2:58 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 5

greggm

New Head-Fier
Hi, I'm an electronics technician student. I'm interested in starting my first independant project. All others have been related to school. Just a couple of questions that I need some clarification on.

I've just ordered a pair of Sennheiser 580s. I sold my mid-grade amp to get them, so I'd like to build an amp.

I'm interested in building the Meier crossfeed amp with a buffer output.

http://www.headwize.com/projects/meier_prj.htm

After speaking to a collegue with expereince in audio he recommended the OPA134/2134 for the front end and the BUF634 (TO-220) for the driver, both by Burr-Brown. I've been checking up on metal film resistors and polypropylene caps.

1. Is it better to have a small compact ciruit when it comes the headphone amps or can I spread it ot over the board without worrying about interference?

2. I plan to use an amp in the home and not for portability. Which brings me to the next question.

Would the sound quality of a larger circuit better that of a pocket amplifier or are they comparable?

3. I like listening to my records. The output on my record player is very low compared to my CD player:

Should I create a circuit with a separate phono input or will the intended circuit perform well?

Would a screw for chasis ground do the job of chasis grounding or is there someting more I need to do?

4. Does anyone know of a high frequency filter that would reduce the pops an cracks from the records?

An help would be greatly appreciated.

Matt Gregg

Oct 23, 2001 at 8:56 PM Post #2 of 5
The Burr-brown OPA134-BUR634 is an excellent combination. A benefit of using it is it is more stable than the LM6172's used in the orignal design, which will give you more flexibility for the layout. Still it is a good idea to keep the board as small as you can, and keep all wires as short as possible. This will keep it more stable and prevent noise pickup.