need a portable amp without a DAC
Feb 24, 2018 at 9:43 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 12

MROOD

New Head-Fier
hi

I have been using my FiioE12 Mont Blanc for 2 years now

As I have purchased/collected multiple high end headphones I thought its time to upgrade my portable headphone amp.

I have now gone into hi res music as I have bought a hires walkman

Headphone collection I own many from 32ohm to 250ohms i.e M50x Fostex Tr90s senns and beyers

I use my zxr to drive my headphones and they are do its job perfectly, bought a few desk top amps and the ZXR just blows them away.

now I bought the Creative E5 and I have used it for a week, and I dont like the sound quality either, its got a built in dac which i will never use as well as other functions, im gonna sell or return

Hence why I want a dedicated headphone amp without a DAC, it will be solely used only for portable use to be connected with my HiRes Walkman

I know when you buy a portable headphone amp its price increases because of a built in dac,s

So other than the Fiio range anyone know of a quality headphone amp without a dac?

can be old or new...

thanks

Feb 28, 2018 at 8:52 PM Post #3 of 12
There are quite a few options. What's your price range? Any feature requirements?
about 200 or a little more

bought a sony pha1a and i do not like it, sound options disable so when listening to music there is no bass cannot tweak the sound settings, all i get is a volume knob, sound quality is good either, lack of power distorts at full volume and its a digital connection inly why usb sound settings dont work

got a fiio mont blanc but i want to upgrade and i bought a few high end headphones

creative e5, didnt like either, once again a dac that i dont use and the sound isnt that good either, the thing is 99% of portable headphone amps have dacs in them which i will never use.

Feb 28, 2018 at 10:11 PM Post #4 of 12
about 200 or a little more