My Cmoy is Finished!
Jun 23, 2001 at 11:57 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 11

eric343

Member of the Trade: Audiogeek: The "E" in META42
Well, I finally finished rebuilding my Cmoy. I built it in stages, checking everything before moving on. It's housed in a nice case that's a bit big, but the switch and jacks are mounted on the end, so I can stick it in my pocket. The case has a clear front, so you can see the red LED when it's on.
cool.gif
Pic is attached.

However, the left channel is much louder than the right one!
eek.gif
confused.gif
I've even shorted the input reduction resistor (R1 if my memory is correct) on the right channel, but it still isn't equal
mad.gif
So what could be the matter? The volume difference is big enough that it's hard to listen to.

Also, the amp distorts the sound. I checked the PS and it outputs +4.62 and -4.65 (or the other way around), so I don't think it's that.

Any tips?

Jun 24, 2001 at 1:01 AM Post #3 of 11
Eric,

Just a guess as I am a real newbie. From my former reading at Headwize the problem COULD be the volume pot not tracking equally side to side. The fix, however, I'm not sure of. Hopefully someone else will elucidate.

BTW, where did you find the OPA's? Still waiting for my order of 50 2134's from Insight - August!!

Jun 24, 2001 at 1:44 AM Post #4 of 11
Ok, so what you're saying is the title is wrong... your cmoy is NOT finished.
smily_headphones1.gif

This is where not having access to the HeadWize historical threads is bad.

Ok, let's go... Also, can you shoot the top of it without the iced plastic in the way? can't see anything!
smily_headphones1.gif

One channel is louder than the other and there's distortion. Is there distortion in both channels or just one? Give us as much info as you've got.

In the meantime, start at one end and work towards the other... verify each component is going where it should, and each joint is good. Be methodical. Very methodical. This is my mantra.

Jun 24, 2001 at 3:00 AM Post #5 of 11