Michael Jackson & Binaural Audio...interesting info!
Oct 20, 2012 at 4:10 PM Post #16 of 19
Quote:

Holophonics (as named by Zuccarelli) is nothing more than a dummy head recording using a custom Head And Torso Simulator (HATS). This is NOTHING unique about Zuccarelli's dummy. HATS are known to produce very accurate 3D recordings and depending on the companies algorithms, can be EXTREMELY realistic.

I'm no expert on these things, but I was under the impression that although the industry suspects Zuccarelli's 'Holophonics'  is a 'dummy head' process, there remained some uncertainty as to whether he was doing something else, too. Perhaps times have moved on and more is now known about his process. I do know that he attracted some severe criticism in the press, for his explanation of the psychoacoustic basis of his model.

I must say, although I realise that phase-coherence is a major problem with a 2-way (or more-way) loudspeaker, but, even making allowances for this caveat, I was very disappointed with how unconvincing my 'Virtual Audio' demo track sounds through my (entirely respectable) hi-fi, by comparison with listening through single-driver headphones/earphones. I know the technology has been used in hybrid situations on Rollercoasters etc. in theme parks, so as to have a small speaker integrated into each side of the headrest.

Oct 20, 2012 at 10:59 PM Post #17 of 19
Quote:

I'm no expert on these things, but I was under the impression that although the industry suspects Zuccarelli's 'Holophonics'  is a 'dummy head' process, there remained some uncertainty as to whether he was doing something else, too. Perhaps times have moved on and more is now known about his process. I do know that he attracted some severe criticism in the press, for his explanation of the psychoacoustic basis of his model.