MG Head OTL arrived today
Aug 20, 2002 at 4:09 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

jvh

Head-Fier
I am fairly new to tube headphone amplifiers. I have had a Mapletree audio Ear + for about 2 weeks and a Wheatfield HA-1 for 4 days.

My MG Head OTL arrived today thanks to daycart1, The amp is absolutely noise free, no hum no buzz. Dead quiet at max volume w/no source signal.

I let the amp warm up for about 30 minutes and began listening.

I auditioned the amp with it's stock tubes for about an hour out of the OTL jack through my HD 600's w/equinox cable upgarde. (the cable just happened to arrive today also.)

A few days back a I picked up a pair of NOS Brimar 6BQ5's and a Siemens 5751 Gold Grade from Brendan D. Biever at Tube World.

I rolled these tubes in and allowed another warm up period. I began auditioning again with the same material. The change was very noticeable. The sound became richer and more detailed. More separation between instruments and tighter controlled bass.

I can only expect the sound to get better as the new tubes and cable burn in.

I do have a RCA 7025 that Alan supplied with the amp and a Raytheon 12AX7 to compare in the future with some lengthily serious listening sessions.

John

Aug 20, 2002 at 5:45 AM Post #2 of 9
Quote:

Originally posted by jvh
I am fairly new to tube headphone amplifiers. I have had a Mapletree audio Ear + for about 2 weeks and a Wheatfield HA-1 for 4 days.

My MG Head OTL arrived today thanks to daycart1, The amp is absolutely noise free, no hum no buzz. Dead quiet at max volume w/no source signal.

Wow, you're in a position to do some great comparative reviews! Can the MGH and Mapletree stand up to the highly regarded Wheatfield? BTW, your new amp's tubes weren't quite "stock". Stock is Ei and Sovtek. You got JJ and Electroharmonix which should be somewhat better. Good to hear that you've already improved on them!
smily_headphones1.gif

Aug 20, 2002 at 12:03 PM Post #3 of 9
jvh