Is Digital output another name for Coax
Jul 23, 2012 at 10:44 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

Rawdawg3234

100+ Head-Fier
Hello, Im having all sorts of trouble here. I'm new to the audiophile world and need some help..
I have a wadia 170i that i want to connect to my bifrost amp. Trouble is the the only OUTS on the wadia are rca and digital. 
and the IN for the bifrost is Coax. My question is if i can use the digital out as a coaxial out or am i gonna have to get a specialty cord? I am currently trying to use only Monster cables for my connections and i want the same quality.
HELP!!!!!!

Jul 23, 2012 at 10:51 PM Post #2 of 9
If they're both RCA plugs then they're both coaxial RCA. Coax can have a locking connector, which is called a coaxial BNC. Same cable, just different connectors.

"Digital" audio is usually spdif, which is either coax RCA/BNC or optical toslink. But it could mean AES/EBU, USB, etc.

Jul 23, 2012 at 10:56 PM Post #3 of 9
so what your saying is that i can run a single spdif coax from the digital OUT to another single spdif coax? sorry to keep asking but the cord is $90 and i don't wanna waste my money.

Jul 24, 2012 at 1:52 AM Post #4 of 9
You can find coax cables from cheap to uber expensive, but if both ends are RCA something like this would work:

http://www.amazon.com/GE-Digital-Coaxial-AV23324-AV-23324/dp/B0000D89M6/ref=sr_1_5?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1343108977&sr=1-5

Obviously there's better out there, but you get my point.

Jul 24, 2012 at 2:45 AM Post #5 of 9
Quote:
Hello, Im having all sorts of trouble here. I'm new to the audiophile world and need some help..
I have a wadia 170i that i want to connect to my bifrost amp. Trouble is the the only OUTS on the wadia are rca and digital. 
and the IN for the bifrost is Coax. My question is if i can use the digital out as a coaxial out or am i gonna have to get a specialty cord? I am currently trying to use only Monster cables for my connections and i want the same quality.
HELP!!!!!!