I'm writing a paper for my E&M class about audio equipment and I could use some help
Nov 30, 2011 at 5:24 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6

Owwmyeye

New Head-Fier
Basically, I want to explore the relationship between the circuitry and the frequencies produced, or what type of sound is produced by different circuitry. My E&M class has only dealt with the theoretical aspect of electricity and magnetism, so I'm new to electrical engineering. Does anyone have any sources of information they could share? (Alas, if only AES papers could be seen for free...)

Also, I'll post bits of my paper as it gets done. 

Current sources (no puns):
http://gilmore2.chem.northwestern.edu/tech/index.htm
http://www.soe.rutgers.edu/sites/default/files/gset/silence.pdf

Nov 30, 2011 at 8:55 PM Post #4 of 6
Actually, are there any reliable websites where I'd be able to find information on the topic in general? I've been googling and my college isn't exactly the most science-friendly school so it's hard to get anything from it. 

Nov 30, 2011 at 9:00 PM Post #5 of 6
You're welcome. Its amazing that so many think that vacuum tubes are extinct. I tell them that guitar amps still use them, in audio equipment and ham radios. But they are even amazed when I tell them that they are still being manufactured, mostly in China and Russia. And there are so many different types of vacuum tubes. You can write a book just on that topic.

Good luck.

Dec 1, 2011 at 2:39 AM Post #6 of 6
Here are some quick notes I took from various sources...

Inductor – pass high, block low
Capacitor – block low, pass high
Both – creates mids
Passive crossover network – no power supply needed to operate: amplified by external source first
Passive units waste power – cause more heat than sound and can’t be made loud
Passive system, like monitor speakers are usually passive because they don’t need to be loud