IEM Sensitivity, Frequency response & Impedance
Dec 1, 2010 at 4:44 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6

WaiY

New Head-Fier
Hi

I'm totally new to the hifi world so forgive me if I ask very basic questions and my ignorance.

I've looked up the definition of impedance within the context of earphones and headphones. Am I right in saying that, basically the lower the impedance the less output from, say, portable players like ipod, that is needed to produce a higher volume on e.g. an IEM? Conversely would it mean that IEMs with higher impedance will sound quieter due to a relative lack of power from the player?

If that's the case, does it mean I'd need to increase the volume setting on higher impedance IEMs (e.g. Shure 535, over 30ohms) to get the same volume as lower impedance IEMs (e.g. Sennheiser IE8 at 16ohms)?

I have a pair of Sennheiser IE8s but for me it's too bassy even at the lowest setting and I don't want unnatural sound by messing with the EQ setting on my ipod. I was thinking of getting the Shure 535s or Westone 3s both of which have higher impedance and have a flatter more neutral sound compared to the IE8s.

I've read reviews on both the 535s and W3s I think I really like the sound of them (no pun intended!). I got this idea that as with headphones (which have higher impedance than IEMs), the 535s and W3 should have a much bigger soundstage than the IE8s. Am I right? If so I'd definitely want a pair of either.

On another matter, can someone explain to me what specs indicate good quality IEMs, I've no idea when looking at Sensitivity (loudness?)and Frequency response (the bigger the range, the bigger the soundstage?) etc.

Also, if you compare only the following specs (subjectivity aside) of the W3s and the 535s  would it indicate that one or the has better sound, if not then what's your comments?

Westone 3                                                                    Shure 535
Sensitivity: 107 dB SPL/mW                                       119