Headroom recommendations for audiophile startup
Nov 9, 2007 at 4:45 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 11

StickMang

New Head-Fier
I am very new to this audiophile gig. From what I've read on these forums, people are very helpful in getting a n00b started down the irrevocable path to the Dark Side of audio bliss, so I would love all help.

I am posting here because I have enjoyed reading the Headroom site, and the descriptions of the products, and it seems that there's a wide variety of headphones and amps from which to chose with varying price and entry points.

I am obviously disappointed in my iBuds, and with my Sony Street Style headphones, and I use mostly an iPod as my source (occasionally an analog out CD player). I would also consider using my laptop with iTunes or WMP.

Assuming I step right in with a well-reviewed headphone like the Sennheiser HD595, what would be the best source to achieve improved listening? Can I get great sound from the iPod, or is it better directly from the CD or from a laptop with USB?

Secondly, what products would you recommend with those various sources. I don't want to buy too much product, but I want to balance performance as well.

Would that be a 2007 Micro Amp with my iPod, or Micro Stack with my laptop, or is there incremental improvements with the Ultra Micro Amp or the Ultra Amp and DAC stack? Or should I go back to the Mobile series since the iPod is not enough of a source to get sonic quality from the Micro or Ultra Micro amps?

Please help this confused, but enthusiastic n00b; thanks up front.

And please re-direct me if I am posting in the wrong area, and apologies if so.

-Mang

Nov 9, 2007 at 10:12 PM Post #2 of 11
Welcome aboard, StickMang! Sorry about your wallet.
wink.gif