Greatest increase in audio clarity and enjoyment - the DAP or the IEM?
Jun 19, 2023 at 4:11 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 12

Malthus101

New Head-Fier
Howdy

So I'm new to DAPs and IEMs.

I've bought a handful of good IEMs recently and yes, they certainly reveal more detail than the $10 ear-buds I got off amazon, probably more than the $60 Sony ear-buds I had for ages... But I'm wondering, are they really THAT amazing? And is that actually down to the fact that my source is still my crappy smartphone with Blackplayer playing compressed 192kbps AACs?

Will I get the "aha!" moment when I'm playing CD quality files off a dedicated high-end DAP?

Is it 50% IEM - 50% DAP?
Or 80% IEM - 20% DAP?
Something else?

Curious to hear your thoughts! Thanks.

Jun 19, 2023 at 10:44 PM Post #2 of 12
In general, upgrading the transducer (IEM/headphone) first, will usually give the best sonic returns, up till maybe when you go to TOTL range gear.

I would rate in increasing priority to upgrade in the chain for most sonic benefits:
1) Transducer (IEM/headphone)
2) Eartips/earpads
3) Source file eg Mp3 128 versus FLAC/WAV
4) Amp
5) DAC
6) last priority - cables, interconnects etc

Jun 20, 2023 at 6:12 AM Post #3 of 12
Right....

So with my current high end Campfire Audio IEMs, and my source being my phone playing 192kbps AACs files.. I'm really not going to notice much change if I go to CD quality FLACS and a quality DAP?

It's crazy that the eartips affect the sound more than the compression of the file!

Kind of makes a mockery of all this HiFi level audio being touted about the place, no?

Jun 20, 2023 at 8:25 AM Post #4 of 12
Right....

So with my current high end Campfire Audio IEMs, and my source being my phone playing 192kbps AACs files.. I'm really not going to notice much change if I go to CD quality FLACS and a quality DAP?

It's crazy that the eartips affect the sound more than the compression of the file!