"Disc Ejector" center hub question....
May 7, 2003 at 5:46 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 7

soundboy

Headphoneus Supremus
This will sound like such a stupid question, but here goes....

I have always used Panasonic portable CD players. One feature that I like very much is the "disc ejector". For those who are not familiar with this feature, it is a buttom on the center hub that, when pressed, "pops" the CD free of the hub. I don't think any other brand has this particular feature. Anyway, I am considering buying another PCDP and want to expand my choices beyond what Panasonic is offering. So, will "prying" the CD from the hub of a non-Panasonic PCDP harm the CD in anyway??

May 7, 2003 at 6:13 PM Post #2 of 7
I've been using Sony PCDPs since 1993, with their much more 'standard' system, and nothing (touch wood) has ever happened to either the players, or the CDs in all that time
smily_headphones1.gif

May 7, 2003 at 9:11 PM Post #3 of 7
one of my 7 yr. old sonys lost a few ball bearings in the center hub which holds the cd. I replaced them with gold metal beads from local craft store for .30 cents. They just push into the slots on the hub.

May 7, 2003 at 9:38 PM Post #4 of 7
Thanks for everyone's comments so far....keep 'em coming.

Perhaps I'm just anal about this. I figure companies like Sony must've consider these factors before manufacturing something that may damage the CDs, but you just never know....

May 8, 2003 at 8:30 PM Post #6 of 7
Thanks for that, doobooloo....

I was wondering about that because I don't see the "Disc Ejector" feature mentioned on the new Panasonic PCDP packaging.

I hope Panasonic doesn't cheap out on their headphone amps, since I feel that they are better than Sony in this regard.

May 8, 2003 at 10:27 PM Post #7 of 7