DC/DC transformer--GOOD IDEA?
Jun 22, 2001 at 8:31 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6

hsnam

New Head-Fier
hi all,
glad to know there's a place to continue my latest addiction.
biggrin.gif

anyway, i was reading through headphone.com a while back, and apparently they use a DC/DC transformer or converter in their portable amp. this allows the amp to use only one 9 V battery, and also run the opamp at a higher voltage.

is this a "GOOD IDEA"? if not, why has nobody tried this? (which implies this is not a good idea..)

Jun 22, 2001 at 11:48 AM Post #2 of 6
Yes. No. Depends.

You might be able to filter out all the switching noise; then again... You might get one with an adjustable switching frequency or one that's high enough that you don't hear it, then again... you might not have to shield it or move it as far away from your analog amp stage as possible, then again...

I mean, I'm not a competent engineer - I've tried it with a couple of them. With a beefy Pi filter, noise on the line can be very low... a couple mV.. but it still sounds different than batteries. "raspy-er", is that a valid term?

Your mileage may vary. Me, I just carry big battery packs.
smily_headphones1.gif

Jun 22, 2001 at 3:31 PM Post #3 of 6
I totaly Agree with Apheared on this. I have tried as well as listen to Equipment using DC to DC Converters and Thay sound Harsh Cloud up Detail and lack Slam with Low Z Cans. Prior to My 1998 Portable Amp I origenaly Designed and since Upgraded i was all set on a Headroom Suprreme But wen i heared thay used a DC to DC converter I was Turned Right off. And the Supreme would have Been A good solution at that time for me because Designing an amp from scratch and laying out the Board as well as the Small Mechanical Details is A Pain. and I am lazy Why Build when you can Buy. But I Build because what i want is Not available so i Build Rethink Build again.... Again..... Again....... This madness has got to stop i am to Old for this Kind of Addiction.