Audio Precision Analyzers For Everyone! (Well, Kind Of...)
Jul 7, 2020 at 3:48 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6
I think we're going to start seeing a lot more Audio Precision measurements soon, from a lot more people.

At the center of our measurement lab at Head-Fi is an Audio Precision audio analyzer. Whether we're measuring headphones or electronics, the Audio Precision analyzer and its companion APx500 software generates the stimulus signals we run through the device under test (the DUT), and then resolves the differences between those signals and the DUT's output to generate countless different measurements.

Audio-Precision-APx-At-Head-Fi.jpg

What's so democratizing about APx500 is that it allows someone who is not an engineer by trade (like me) to run very advanced analysis of audio gear of all types (both electronic and acoustic) without scripting or coding. And despite its ease of use, it is still considered the highest standard in the industry for audio analysis. Every audio engineer I know either uses Audio Precision or wants to.

With the help of APx500 I came up with a headphone placement method (for headphone measurements) that I've been sharing with headphone engineers. Again, I'm not an engineer by trade, but APx500's easy multi-instrument views even enabled a relative pleb like me to come up with this novel technique. (We'll be posting a video of the latest version of this procedure soon.)

APx multi-instrument bench view.JPG

If there's been a problem with Audio Precision APx500 software, it's that you needed to have an Audio Precision hardware audio analyzer to use it -- and that can be an expensive proposition for smaller companies and measurement enthusiasts.

That has now changed. Recently, Audio Precision decided to make their APx500 software suite available to use with the ASIO-capable audio interface of your choice, and it's called APx500 Flex, and comes with something called an APx500 Flex Key. From Audio Precision's APx 500 Flex page: