Almarro for K1000
Dec 19, 2007 at 8:04 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

rowdy

New Head-Fier
Any forumers out there using Almarro Integrated Tube amps? How are they? I recently stumbled upon the rather small A205A MkII amp from Almarro that comes with an XLR jack specifically for K1000s.

As I am new to the K1000, any owners out there can advise on whether this will be a good amp for the earspeakers. Reason I am asking is that the Almarro apparently puts out only 5WPC whereas some forumers have remarked that the K1000 needs at least 7WPC.

Another issue is the XLR mod, plugging the hardwire part of the K1000 into the amplifier would negate 10ft or so of the other part of the cable. I understand as well that the K1000 need at least 8ft of cable to sound optimal.

Essentially, I am looking for a smallish integrated amp to drive my K1000, preferably tubes, so if the Almarro is OK, will probably make a beeline for it.
tongue.gif

Thanks!

Dec 19, 2007 at 8:33 AM Post #2 of 9
Rowdy,

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rowdy
Essentially, I am looking for a smallish integrated amp to drive my K1000, preferably tubes, so if the Almarro is OK, will probably make a beeline for it.

I'd say make a bee-line for it!

Having heard the baby Almarro drive the might Zu Def floorstanders, I could not believe what an outstanding amp this is for the $$$. Not sure, however I believe H'Fier JonL might have this same setup and perhaps he might weigh in or you may PM him to get his take. Nevertheless, 5W / channel should be sufficient for the K1Ks. Good luck.

Cheers,
Garry

Dec 19, 2007 at 8:53 AM Post #3 of 9
Quote:

Originally Posted by rowdy /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Any forumers out there using Almarro Integrated Tube amps? How are they? I recently stumbled upon the rather small A205A MkII amp from Almarro that comes with an XLR jack specifically for K1000s.

.. I understand as well that the K1000 need at least 8ft of cable to sound optimal.