1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

HAVIT® HV-H2555BT NFC HD Stereo Bluetooth 3.0 Wired / Wireless Headset with Touch Control & 12 Hours of Hands-free Talking and 14 Hours Wireless Music Streaming, with Potent Bass, Crystal Audio, Built-in Mic (Black)

Rating:
3.75/5,
  1. Takeanidea
    More Hav than Hav not
    Written by Takeanidea
    Published Nov 24, 2015
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Wireless for under £25 - Ear Cup controls - No batteries required - folds up into a tiny space
    Cons - Cups don't twist to the left and right - no carry case -
    Hello and welcome to my review of Havit's Bluetooth On Ear Headphone. These were sent specifically for review purposes after I was kindly picked as a member of the headfi review team by Gary Zhang of Havit. Thanks Gary [​IMG]
     
     
     
     
    Havit HV-H2555BT Bluetooth Headphones
     
    How much cheaper can you get for a pair of on the ear bluetooth headphones! These retail at £24.99. And what’s more- they work! With even a few extra touches, or should I say, sweeps thrown in.
     
    HavitBTMainView.jpg
     
     
     
     
    Features
     
     
    There are touch switches normally found on a bluetooth headphone on the left and right cups which control volume , take and end phone calls, pair to your device and switch the headset on and off.
     
    In addition there are sweep gestures on the outside of the left cup which pause and play, skip and reverse and volume up and down.
     
    HavitBTGestures.jpg
     
    A few hours of use and this quickly becomes the easiest way to control your music and offers even more convenience over the conventional limitations of a wired system with a phone in your pocket or in an armband.
    The wireless function of the Havits work as an NFC device or as Bluetooth. My Samsung Note II works as NFC. Activating the function in the settings of the phone and sweeping the phone over the headphone soon gets things working, 
     
    HavitBTNFCExplained.jpg
     
     
    Alternatively Bluetooth was equally as painless to set up on my Macbook. Once pairing had taken place there was no need to repeat this process.
     
    Sound quality
     
     
    Given that everything worked successfully , I proceeded with some trepidation into proper listening sensing the sound would be the fatal flaw. Something offering so much for so little was too good to be true. I have been a casual browser of the headphones available at HMV to try and keep up with the flavour of the month stuff out there and have been appalled at some of the sub £100 gear.  I am pleased to tell you that despite some flaws, I can give the sound of these little things a thumbs up. What a relief that there’s stuff like this out there for those on a limited budget. 
    There are a few preconceived ideas I have about budget headphones and how their sound will be tuned. I assume there will be huge bass , muted mids and shrill highs, the V of vengeance for the high end headfier……
     
    HavitBTSideView.jpg
     
     
    The bass
     
     
    The low end was strident and glaring on all the tracks I tried using the normal eq I have set up for all my current headphones. What suits an HE-6 does not suit the Havit - not one bit!  I made the bass so much better by taking 3 db off the 3 bands.
     
    ScreenShot2015-11-24at18.01.03.png
    Vox Music Player for Mac
     
    Still plenty enough there with no pushing into the mids and no fatigue to listening to the drummer or the producer putting a bass wash around everything.
     
    The Mids
     
     
     
    The mids found their space once I had pulled the bass where it belonged. Voices were easy to follow. I left the mids fairly flat across the EQ and thought they were perfectly acceptable at this price point.
     
     
     
    The Highs
     
     
    When I first put these headphones on I honestly expected a shrill noise instead of cymbals strings and echo. Instead I found the highs to be pleasantly rolled off with no hint of harshness. I eventually turned up the 4k 8k and 16k bands very slightly to get more detail and texture.
     
    Screenshot_2015-11-24-00-33-15.png
     
     
     
    The soundstage
     
     
    The soundstage was somewhat closed in compared to more expensive models out there but what you get is perfectly good enough for £24.99. Instruments can be followed in the mix with concentration and the highs and mids being so good for the price offset any small loss of airiness in the presentation.
     
     
    Overall impression of the Sound Quality
     
     
    Straight out of the box I would not expect many headfiers I know to be happy with the sound the Havits produce. But with some time on the EQ these phones can be easily tamed and their positive attributes can come to the fore with the over zealous nature of the lows can be quietly moved into the corner.
     
    Field Testing
     
     
    The final testing was less about sound quality and more about field testing the HVs where they were designed to be used (and abused). So I took them for a run to see whether they would fall off. How they fare when being pushed against a sweating head is a good way to separate the men from the boys in the headphone world. Let’s get them working….. 
    Bluetooth headphones are more comfortable to run with. For me I dislike the constant movement of a headphone cable slapping against my chest when I run. I have also had problems with sweat running down the cable and into the unit I’m using as a source. Not to mention the ever present evil of microphonics. So in my opinion , wireless headphones were made to run with. And I intend to put these to the test with my longest medium paced run in 25 years. Stand by…..
     
    treadmill-rotator.jpg
     
     
    Wireless Reliability
     
     
    I found the Havits dropped out on average once every 2 minutes for the first 10 minutes of my run , only for a split second each time. I had my phone approx 6 feet from me. After 10 minutes I experienced no dropouts in the sound at all and had 81 minutes of uninterrupted music.
     
    Isolation
     
     
    The isolation was not the last word in noise cancellation , ballads were wrestling with my pounding feet, the whirring of the treadmill and the gasp of my rather loud breathing (especially after an hour). The volume I set by default to maximum, more than loud enough to follow any song and distract me from the pain I was going through!
    I am heavy footed and although the Havits clamp well enough I was experiencing a movement noise from the left pad of the HVs. This disappeared after 50 minutes and at the 75 minute stage I got a minor vibration noise from the right pad. All vibrations , breathing, pounding, whirring etc disappeared once the music got going on any particular track.
     
    The Music - it's all about that Bass
     
     
    Only 2 tracks were problematic from a listening point of view in over 90 minutes of hitting the treadmill. Road Tripping’ by the Red Hot Chilli Peppers
     
    [​IMG]
     
    - wow the bass guitar on this was unlistenable at full volume and was tamed with a 50% reduction in volume. This was done in a fraction of a second using the sweeping motion on the left ear cup.
     
    Stan by Eminem featuring Dido
     
    [​IMG]
     
    - again the bass on this is ridiculous - that’s hip hop for you I guess. The synthetic drum and bass sound was not as painful as the Chillis so I listened through. A disturbing song in more than one way….
    I did not believe that the irritation of these 2 songs was the fault of the Headphones or my EQing - some tracks have certain traits that I find grating, I’m sure we all have particular songs we can’t listen to without wincing. The new type of scrunchy ultra low synthetic bass found in “Stan” is not something I would need to change my EQ settings for because it wouldn’t be something I would listen to often enough for this to be a problem. 
     
    Survival
     
     
    The Havits survived the 90 minute run intact, I survived too more importantly. The sweat on the headband and the pads and the cups was wipeable easily enough and had not intruded into the middle of the inner pads. This is where the drivers are situated.
     
     
    Conclusion - are they worth Having? 
     
     
    Retailing for one fifth the price of a ticket to a reunion ELO concert
     
    ScreenShot2015-11-24at17.47.18.png
     
    I had very little expectations of these bluetooth phones. The last phones I bought were slightly south of £600 and that was second hand and I was apprehensive to say the least that I no longer had my feet in the budget market enough to properly evaluate a £24.99 headphone. I was pleasantly surprised that I had not become some sort of an Audiophile Snob who sees no good in anything under £100. 
    Are there things I would change? Yes , I would make both ear cups twistable to the left and right as well as up and down, I would  put a little more material for the pads to try and absorb any extra vibration and I would tune some of the bass down. Whether this could be done at the price level is debatable. And none of these issues are major issues ; they would not affect whether to hav or to hav not in my opinion. I could live with all of these issues no problem. 
     
    I recommend these Bluetooth Headphones unreservedly for the price…… well, providing you have the patience to tailor the sound to your personal preference , this is, after all, what EQ settings are all about.
     
    And one more thing before I go......
     
    ScreenShot2015-11-24at17.51.09.png

    https://www.prohavit.com/
     
    Don't say I don't do anything for you.....
  2. Vividcard
    Budget Bluetooth with Big Value
    Written by Vividcard
    Published Oct 20, 2015
    3.5/5,
    Pros - Comfort, Clean mids, audio controls on side
    Cons - Bass heavy, instrument separation, Low bleeds into mids
    Bluetooth connection, Unique haptic-style track and volume controls, and NFC pairing make for a very unique and oddly likeable Bluetooth headset. The Havit HV-H2555BT is all of these things at a very fair cost.
     
    *Disclaimer: I received this product from Havit at no cost in exchange for an honest review of the product. While this in no way affects my review, I wanted to make this clear.
     
    Unboxing:
    WP_20151020_16_55_22_Pro__highres1.jpg WP_20151020_16_55_33_Pro__highres1.jpg
    WP_20151020_16_52_27_Pro__highres1.jpg
    As shown in the pictures, the packaging for these headphones make them look to be very expensive. I have never been a person who has been completely enthralled by the look of a box, but this box is extremely eye catching in a good way.
    The product is nicely displayed through the front window. More details on the phones are shown on the back of the box, as well as the sides. I will list these details below for those interested. As for the contents, you will find the following included: 
    1. H2555BT Headphones
    2. Micro-usb cable for charging
    3. 3.5mm male to male adapter
    4. Quality and warranty card 
     
    Specs: (from the box)
    Weight: 147g
    Dimensions: L-130mm W-100mm H-75mm
    3.5mm cable length: 120cm
    USB Cable length: 65cm
    NFC Connectivity: Yes
    Bluetooth Version: 3.0+EDR
    Range: 8-10m (no obstacles)
    Battery: 400mAH
    Profiles supported: HSP/HFP/A2DP/AVRCP
    Talk Time: up to 12 hours
    Play time: up to 14 hours
    Standby time: Up to 500 hours
    Charging time: 2-2.5 hours
    Voice chat: Supported
    Voice prompt: Supported
    Frequency range:
    Sensitivity:
    Impedance:
    Cable length:
    Microphone:
    Type:
    Frequency Response:
    Impedence:
    Sensitivity:
     
    Build Quality/Comfort:
    WP_20151019_11_00_59_Pro__highres.jpg WP_20151019_11_01_22_Pro__highres.jpg
    WP_20151019_10_58_48_Pro__highres.jpg WP_20151019_11_00_38_Pro__highres.jpg
    While the headphones may not cost much, the quality of the materials is not bad at all. The band is wrapped with very comfortable faux leather, which is repeated on the cans. Without tearing the headphones apart, I would assume the inner band is made of plastic, but seems to be durable enough that I would not be concerned with longevity.
    The adjustments for fit are made of durable plastic as well as metal sliders that attach to the cans. A fabric covered wire extends from the band and wraps the metal to the cans. The adjustment has a built in hinge for folding as well, making these headphones very compact and portable.
    The headphones accommodate a very large dimension, so having a larger head should not be much of an issue. I have worn these for a few hours without comfort issues. However, I can find them a bit fatiguing after an hour or two. My only complaint is I find the headphones very finicky to adjust to fit my head. My ears have a bit of a forward tilt, meaning that headphones that are straight on clamps do not make a solid seal all the time. I can get a seal, but I have to play with the adjustment a lot to get the fit perfect.
     
    How They Sound:
     
    The 2555BT have a decent sound for being a budget Bluetooth headphone. While I will detail in sections below, the general sound is bass driven with forward highs. This can lend favor to certain styles of music, but can definitely hinder more complex sounds.
     
    Lows:
     
    I would consider this a downside to these phones. The bass is heavy, and sometimes muddy. As a result, songs with heavy bass tend to wash out and cover up other lows, and sometimes the lower mids.
    However, I have found that music with less bass influence, or even music with simple varieties of instruments tend to sound fantastic. The beat comes through and allows most instrumentation to be heard without issue. This was well displayed in the song Too Hot to Stop (pt. 1) by the Bar-Kays.
     
    Mids:
     
    The mids are well represented. They are controlled and clear. They can be a little forward, but not overly so. As stated in the lows section, there can be a bit of bass that bleeds in, and can mask some of the lower mids. Again, this only seems to come into play with really bass heavy tracks. Roll off can be short here as well.
     
    Highs:
     
    Highs are definitely forward in these headphones. Well detailed, but like the lows and mids they seems to have trouble providing detail to multiple instruments in the same range, at the same time. It was sometimes strange to hear cymbals over powering guitars when they are typically a background noise in the track recording. This was very noticeable in the track You Make Me Wanna by Thomas Rhett
     
    Isolation:
     
    Don’t hold your breath here, as a set of over ear cans, they do let in noise. It can be masked pretty well, but expect noise to come in. This can be problematic if you find that you have trouble getting a good seal like I did.
     
    Soundstage:
     
    The soundstage on these phones is a little quirky, because they are forward in the highs, the stage is very small. It can also be a bit confusing as the drums are definitely displayed in the back, but the cymbals and other highs come from right up front.
    Instrument separation is not the strong point of these phones. Often times when more than two instruments are fighting in the same range, the headphones practically give up and merge them all. This happened in pretty much all ranges. Provided the music had simple instrumentation, this didn’t seem to be an issue.
     
    Misc:
     
    Using the headphones with the included 3.5mm wire did not really change the audio in any way, but did allow me to play around with the EQ on my phone, as well as connect it to my Fiio X1. As it didn’t change anything, it can be handy to connect through the wired connection if the phones died or if one of your devices does not have Bluetooth.
     
    Controls:
     
    One unique thing that caught my attention was the controls on these headphones. You have your usual power button that doubles as a tap to voice dial. You also have a set of volume control buttons. But what is really different is the haptic controls on the left ear. In short, the left ear cover is a haptic control board. Using this you can change volume, change track, or pause/play music. I found myself using these controls a lot when listening to Spotify from my phone.
    My only complaint about these buttons is that the haptic controls are very sensitive, meaning I frequently paused my music when adjusting the phones fitment (which I already described as finicky). I wish there was a lock option for the haptic controls so I could avoid this issue.
     
    Conclusion:
     
    These headphones are COMFORTABLE. They can be hard to align with my ear correctly, but once aligned they will not need to be messed with for some time. I enjoyed using these phones for my music that had simple instrumentation, but did find that more complex tracks seem to blend. Lows can sometimes bleed if the track is bass driven, but overall a very good bang for the buck!
     
    Songs Used:
    MP3:
    Cheating – John Newman(320kbps)
    Too Hot To Stop (Part 1) – The Bar-Kays (320kbps)
    You Make Me Wanna - Thomas Rhett (320kbps)
    Until She Saves My Soul - The Fratellis (192kbps/320kbps)
    Seven Nation Army – The White Stripes (320kbps)
    FLAC:
    Fly Me to the Moon (Vinyl Rip) – Frank Sinatra (96/24bit)
    Give Life Back to Music (Vinyl Rip) – Daft Punk (96/24bit)
    Obsession – OK GO (44.1/16bit)
     
    Hardware:
    Fiio X1/Q1 (wired)
    Asus Zenfone 2 using Spotify Premium/Tidal (Wired/Wireless)
    Nokia Lumia 1520 (Spotify Premium) (Wired/Wireless)
    Onkyo TX-NR626 (Flac files/Spotify Premium) (Wired)
    HP ENVY DV6T quad with HD audio (Bluetooth and wired) (Wired/Wireless)
    1. Takeanidea
      Well done great review and the first one ! 
      Takeanidea, Nov 24, 2015