Flattest+Detailed closed headphones around 200-400€
Nov 27, 2021 at 8:57 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 16

adrjork

New Head-Fier
Hi everyone, newbie here.
I usually do Musique Concrète, Soundscapes/Ambient and classic music mixing. I'd need a pair of headphones the most flat and detailed as possible with a budget around 200-400 euros. My place is not silent, so I'd prefer a closed pair. I have a pair of DT770 Pro, and I wonder if I can get something better.

I read great reviews about:
Monolith M1060C;
Shure SRH-1540;
Ultrasone PRO 750;
Audio-Technica ATH-M50 X.

Do you think one of these (or others) could be a real improvement over the DT770 Pro in terms of details and flatness?
Thanks in advance.

Nov 27, 2021 at 10:14 PM Post #3 of 16
I have yet to hear the DT770, but if you want a headset that's both bass flat and extremely detailed, go with MDR-CD900st. They're made and sold in Japan, but they can easily imported because they're now sold on Amazon and also go for under $200, or even cheaper, like $60 if you find a used pair on ebay.

Additionally, if you do pick up a CD900, the stock Sony pads aren't very comfortable. There are these red and blue ringed yaxi pads that a lot of people recommend online, avoid them; the CD900 has a very enjoyable and natural tuning despite being a reference grade headphone, it's very mid and treble focused while not adding too much energy to either region and maintains very good dynamics. Those yaxi pads change the tuning greatly and aren't actually that much more comfortable; I would recommend you spend an additional $40 dollars on some large Meze 99 Classics pads; with those, you get an extremely comfortable fit, and better isolation while also retaining the stock sound signature (looks like they go for $20 now and not $40 anymore).

Nov 27, 2021 at 10:35 PM Post #4 of 16
Audio Technica ATH-M50X is a step down from the DT770.
I would go for the Monoprice M1060C planar headphones, if picking from your list.