Would using an amp without a DAC on a PC be alright?
May 20, 2009 at 8:37 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 20

driver 8

1000+ Head-Fier
Note: I'm new to DAC's and headphone amps and have never owned or experienced either.

I was originally looking for a DAC/AMP combination to use with the HD650's I ordered for my PC, but I read that DAC's bypass sound cards and therefore can't make use of gaming specific features, which I'm interested in preserving. Can't say I really want to switch between my sound card and hypothetical DAC on a regular basis, so whatever solution would allow me to improve the driving power behind my HD650's and keep my sound card in use would be perfect.

My sound card is an X-Fi Xtremegamer. I know it's not a high quality audio source by any means, but an amped HD650 would still sound pretty great through it to someone who's been using an unamped HD555 for the past few months, right? Or is there something I'm overlooking here?

My budget is $200, but I'm willing to go a bit above that if need be. Was strongly considering a Cute Beyond but am obviously open to suggestions.

Thank you.

May 20, 2009 at 8:45 PM Post #2 of 20
I have never heard of DAC's disabling certain features in games, more specifically what were you refering to??

As far as an amp with a PC i would not recommend it as an amp basically amplifies what comes out of the source. I am not sure how good your soundcard is but i would say the old "garbage in garbage out" addage may apply.

I like the cute beyond amp very much but have never tried it with the 650's so i am not sure how well they pair up

May 20, 2009 at 8:52 PM Post #3 of 20
In a thread about a USB DAC I was reading earlier a poster stated that a DAC is pretty much an external soundcard, and that features like EAX can't be used with one since the X-Fi chip isn't technically your source. Another poster said that they didn't use their DAC while gaming for that reason, so that's where the notion in my original post came from.