Where to find ASIO for Winamp/windows XP?
May 26, 2010 at 12:11 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6

Kreyson

Head-Fier
Ok, i admit it, i am a complete newb when it comes to computer audio.  I just bought an HT OMEGA CLARO HALO with built in headpone amp and has ASIO support and i am using Winamp as the media player (windows XP OS).  I hear using ASIO will greatly improve audio quality and want to try it.  My question where is a good asio program to use and how do i set it up?  What file types will it play?

My confusion mounted when i tried otachan asio, but it does not play my 320 kps MP3 files. 

May 26, 2010 at 12:28 PM Post #3 of 6
With otachan activated under winamp options (note, when i DLed the file it gave me two files and i put them in the plug in folder) i can not play MP3 files.  Currently i only have MP3 files.

If i deactivate otachan, and go with default winamp settings i can play files just fine.  From what i understand, the sound card offers ASIO support, hence asio4all is not needed and i just need a basic ASIO plug in.

May 26, 2010 at 12:31 PM Post #4 of 6

Quote:
With otachan activated under winamp options (note, when i DLed the file it gave me two files and i put them in the plug in folder) i can not play MP3 files.  Currently i only have MP3 files.

If i deactivate otachan, and go with default winamp settings i can play files just fine.  From what i understand, the sound card offers ASIO support, hence asio4all is not needed and i just need a basic ASIO plug in.

If your card has ASIO support, seems like a configuration error on your plugin. 
If you want the best sound, I would start looking to higher quality media, such as FLAC or other lossless files.

May 26, 2010 at 12:41 PM Post #6 of 6

Quote:
Trying to avoid lossless files (HD Space), can you recommend a different ASIO program for me to test.

Thanks.