What is a good side step from HD598?
Oct 14, 2015 at 9:45 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 7

whosaidpigeon

New Head-Fier
Hi everyone,

I'm an (almost) total noob when it comes to all of this headphone stuff. I know enough to get myself in trouble :)  Been lurking these boards for a while, but just joined up as I am seeking some advice.

A bit of background:

About 6 months ago I got a pair of Sennheiser HD598s for a great deal. I grabbed them based on the fact that I wanted a pair of open cans and a lot of people on Head-Fi and other sites gave them great reviews. It also helped that I own an old pair of Sennheiser MX270 (i think) ear buds and I think they sound great.  6 months in and the HD598s are great. I use them for gaming and music and they are super comfortable for long sessions, have great sound detail and I'm finally getting used to the colour scheme, BUT... the neutral sound is a double edge sword. I find with some of my music it is lacking any sparkle and sounds a bit dull.

So in summary I love my HD598s, but sometimes I want something with a bit more oomph. I listen to a reasonable range of music genres, most sound great, but I find that hard rock & alternative really suffer under the 598s.

From reading around I'm thinking that maybe the Grado SR80e or Alessandro MS-1 (depending on which I can find here) might be a good option. I'd also be willing to go with ear buds, but I've found in the past that canalphones don't seem to fit my ears too well and I find them uncomfortable. I'd be willing to try them though if anyone can suggest a comfortable pair.