What goes in-between my Denon AH-D5000 and laptop/Ipad.
Sep 23, 2012 at 3:36 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 18

syryanyang

100+ Head-Fier
I'm a total newbie when it comes to hi-fi. I recently bought Denon AH-D5000 which is my first high-end cans. I really enjoyed it but still feel something is missing. After tons of research I realized I need a DAC, but not sure about whether a headphone amplifier is necessary. My budget is a bit tight at this moment. I'm looking at Fiio E10 or/and E11 or E17. Can anyone give me some opinion? On a side note, I can get little dot I+ for just under $100.
Thank you all for helping me out.

Sep 23, 2012 at 5:04 AM Post #2 of 18
I do not think "need" is the appropriate word here. The D5000 are very easily driven, and will work with most devices quite swimmingly. Adding an additional component may give you more features or similar, but it really depends on what you're trying to "fix" - what specifically are you after, what is "missing"? (Is it simply that the initial out of the box "wow" has worn off and you want to recapture that? or what?).

Sep 23, 2012 at 7:33 AM Post #3 of 18
Quote:
I do not think "need" is the appropriate word here. The D5000 are very easily driven, and will work with most devices quite swimmingly. Adding an additional component may give you more features or similar, but it really depends on what you're trying to "fix" - what specifically are you after, what is "missing"? (Is it simply that the initial out of the box "wow" has worn off and you want to recapture that? or what?).

I agree with you on the "wow" part. I can't really elaborate what's missing except the volumn's a bit low. And the audio card on my laptop's quite crappy.

Sep 23, 2012 at 9:01 AM Post #4 of 18
How much do you want to spend?
evil_smiley.gif

Sep 23, 2012 at 10:31 AM Post #5 of 18
The e17 is a very nice budget setup for your denon's. You can't go wrong with it and it also makes for a great portable.

Sep 23, 2012 at 9:59 PM Post #7 of 18