weed whacker
Apr 25, 2008 at 10:14 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 22

daycart1

Ceremonial old guy, bifocals and all.All the philosophy he can muster can't solve the mysterious double-post.
Will someone please help me with hand held weed whacking, lawn smacking, string whipping devices?

Brand names, relative merits of 2 vs. 4 stroke engines, etc.?

I had a battery powered one that sucked for about 20 hours of use before the battery died, so I'm not looking to go battery or electric (have to cover large area).

Thanks!

Apr 25, 2008 at 11:14 PM Post #2 of 22
There is no substitute for a gas powered grass trimming device. You need the power and the operating time to perform the job you need to do. I am a headphone system newbie, but I appreciate the performance of a good lawn maintenance tool.

Being that you are in Chapel Hill, Lowes is your home store. Look for any gas-powered unit in your price range. Brands like Black & Decker, Homelite and Echo are sufficient for most any genral trimming needs. Do not skimp on quality as it will pay off in the long run. I use a Homelite trimmer that has been inpoeration for more than 10 years and still keeps rocking. Go for one with a straight ( vs. bent) neck. they just seem to work better.

Apr 26, 2008 at 12:32 AM Post #3 of 22
Almost all gasoline-powered string trimmers are two-stroke. Four-cycle engines are usually more massive than this application allows for.

Stihl or Husqvarna are also good manufacturers. Craftsman (the Sears proprietary brand) string trimmers and chainsaws are actually rebranded Husqvarna products.

Apr 26, 2008 at 1:25 AM Post #4 of 22