Want to upgrade from my akg k240s'. Looking to spend ~$150. Need advice!
Oct 8, 2011 at 10:07 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 5

mjcarrxx12xx

New Head-Fier
Hi all, longtime lurker but decided to make my first post.  I have a pair of akg 240 studios that i have been listening to and pleasantly enjoying for about 6 months.  After researching on this site i also added a fiio E7 amp/dac and have been enjoying that as well.  I have really been wanting to upgrade and have done some searching on this site but due to lack of availability in my city i can't really find a place to try out different  cans.  My question is, what are the best headphones i can get for around $150?  My music listening consists of just about everything but mostly indie rock, reggae, folk, and blues.  My current headphones are semi open but i'm thinking i want to go full open back since i love wide soundstage.  I also want the headphone to sound great with my fiio E7 since i cant really spend money on an expensive amp at the moment.  I've been looking at the audio technica ath ad-700's but the reviews have been mixed.  Any advice will be appreciated.

Oct 8, 2011 at 10:10 PM Post #2 of 5
Yep, you're going to struggle.

$150 spend for a totally open, big sound-stage headphone with limited amping to replace
your perfectly good AKG 240 but you won't consider the AD700?

Sorry mate, just being realistic.

G

Oct 8, 2011 at 10:15 PM Post #3 of 5
i never said i wasn't considering the ad700's, i've just seen mixed reviews on them and was wondering if they are worth getting considering my current status.  Also, would a better amp maybe be the better purchase than new headphones?

Oct 8, 2011 at 10:52 PM Post #4 of 5

Quote:
i never said i wasn't considering the ad700's, i've just seen mixed reviews on them and was wondering if they are worth getting considering my current status.  Also, would a better amp maybe be the better purchase than new headphones?