Vinyl Rig Setup Question
Mar 3, 2007 at 3:28 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 10

jjhatfield

Frank
Hello Dedicated Source Components Forum-

Lets say I was to buy a vinyl rig: turntable with tonearm and cartridge, and a phono stage. What else goes into setting all of this up? I read lots of thinks about setting the cart, setting tonearm pressure, etc. What else would I need to purchase to do all of this? Or can you recommend me a good vinyl resource website for newbs where I can read up a bit on rig setup?

Thanks.
smily_headphones1.gif

Mar 3, 2007 at 3:58 AM Post #2 of 10
I'm no expert, but I found enough information here to make it work. I didn't need anything in addition to the turntable and phono to get sound. I got the following (my first vinyl setup) up and running today.

Pioneer PL-12D > VPP-1 > MPX3 Slam SE > RS-1

If you want to optimize the setup, then you'll want a stylus pressure gauge (I think that's what it's called) to measure the pressure of the stylus on the vinyl and correctly balance the arm. There was a thread on some supplies that you should have if you want to play vinyl (stylus pressure gauge, record brush, cleaner etc.).

Mar 3, 2007 at 4:06 AM Post #3 of 10
Quote:

Originally Posted by jjhatfield /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Hello Dedicated Source Components Forum-

Lets say I was to buy a vinyl rig: turntable with tonearm and cartridge, and a phono stage. What else goes into setting all of this up? I read lots of thinks about setting the cart, setting tonearm pressure, etc. What else would I need to purchase to do all of this? Or can you recommend me a good vinyl resource website for newbs where I can read up a bit on rig setup?

Thanks.
smily_headphones1.gif

At a minimum:

-Alignment protractor (may be available for download - see vinylengine.com)
-Stylus tracking force gauge (Shure SFG-2 is the standard, about $20-25)
-Bubble level to level turntable
-Jewelers screwdriver to mount cartridge