Value for money portable amp for Ultrasone Ed8
Oct 3, 2012 at 10:02 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 12

DoomForce

100+ Head-Fier
Hey guys,

I'm quite new to the world of high end headphones and for some strange reason I purchased a pair of Edition 8s. I understand those are easy to drive (I am using a smartphone as source, galaxy nexus/s3), but I would like to know if I could achieve a substantial acoustical improvement through a <=100€/$ portable amp (and if so, please suggest one :))

Thank you for your time and excuse the slight vagueness of the thread.. I am just completely clueless and with serious lack of time to browse around.

Oct 18, 2012 at 5:49 PM Post #2 of 12
No replies.. is this question daft?

I have pretty much no experience with amplifiers, so I dont know what difference they would make compared to a laptop dac. I am currently looking at an E10 or an E17 by Fiio. I would like more bass out of the Ed8s, I'd say.

Oct 18, 2012 at 7:16 PM Post #3 of 12
Edition 8s but looking for a cheap amp?  I have to say it doesn't make much sense.  You could probably sell them and buy some cheaper headphones and an apropriate amp but perhaps you have reasons not to.

When you say portable amp what do you mean?  Are you planning on running the amp from the onboard laptop DAC line out?  Generally speaking oboard DACs aren't great and amping a non great signal isn't going to fix it.  If you're talking about getting a USB DAC/amp then there will be improvements to be had but I'm not sure what to recommend as I have very limited experience.

I can say that using an ipod nano 3g compared to the headphone socket line out to an iBasso T3D is an improvement, then putting the T3D in high gain there is a further all round improvement to my ears.  But if you want more bass especially you might want to look into a Digizoid Zo - that's what they're made to do!

Oct 18, 2012 at 8:07 PM Post #4 of 12