To optimize the sound quality of an USB-DAC (including CORDA ARIA)
Mar 17, 2006 at 2:18 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 4

Jan Meier

King Corda
Member of the Trade: Meier Audio
Dear headfellows,

It is now 3 months ago that the CORDA ARIA hit the market and the amp has shown to be a tremendous success. Especially the sound quality through the analog inputs the amp has received many positive comments.

The comments on the sound quality of the USB-DAC were not all that unanimous. Whereas some people attested a sound quality superior to that of a decent CD-player other people found the sound flat and liveless. However, going into more detail with the new owners it was found most of the negative comments were caused by non-optimal settings of their PC.

If therefore feel it’s a good idea to make a list of “possible errors” that allow people to check whether their system is working optimal. I have to admit that I’m not an expert in PC-Audio so my comments will be rather limited. I hope people with more expertise will join this thread and add their own ideas, experiences, comments, ….

Of course this thread is not limited to experiences with the CORDA ARIA only. Any USB-DAC will react very similar to such optimisation efforts.

While using an USB-DAC like the ARIA it is possible to control the sound volume in three ways.
1.Change the analog amplification factor by the volume control on the ARIA.
2.Change the digital amplification factor in the media-player.
3.Change the digital amplification factor in the sound card device settings in the operating system.

The problem with digital volume control is, that the effective resolution of 16 bit is strongly reduced. Consider a sample that is digitally lowered to 25% of its maximum value. Mathematically this implies the removal of the two right bits and adding two zero bits to the left.

Original sample

0 1 1 0 0 1 1 1 0 1 0 1 1 0 1 1

Image sample send to the USB DAC

0 0 0 1 1 0 0 1 1 1 0 1 0 1 1 0