Suitable replacement for Tri-Port
Aug 18, 2011 at 1:21 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

Robear9992

New Head-Fier
I love my bose tri-ports, but alas, they're not longer being sold and its replacement (AE2) isn't holding up to its legacy of great sound quality. One pair is broken and the other isn't aging well.

I'm in the market for headphones ~$150. I'm a software engineer and may go 12 hours straight wearing the headphones, so comfort is probably my #1 concern. The tri-ports were really light and never made me sweat. Second, I really liked the deep, full bass the tri-ports delivered.

Does anyone have suggestions? Any thoughts from people who have used the tri-ports and moved on?

Thanks!

​

Aug 18, 2011 at 2:12 PM Post #2 of 9
I haven't found much that sounds similar to the AE1. I always liked them back in 2002-2003. I got another pair recently and still felt they were very good.

One idea is to try the Shure SRH-440. They have some similarities maybe but the comfort is not that good, so that's out.

The only thing that comes close to the comfort is the KRK headphones with memory foam pads. They have good bass extension, but not really a lot of bass impact. I love the KRK KNS-6400 with memory foam pads. The 6400 runs about $99. The 8400 is $150 but comes with memory foam pads. I don't like this as much though so I just bought new pads.

Seriously you could wear these all day without any pain. The signature is non-fatiguing too. Probably a lot less treble than the AE1 for sure, but the 6400 has more forward mids.

There is also the Maxell DHP-II which looks like an AE1 clone sort of, but it's getting very hard to find and not worth more than $75. They were going for $35 about a year ago. They sound very good despite being Maxell.

Aug 18, 2011 at 4:00 PM Post #3 of 9
I have the BOSE tri-port and used it for several years.