suitable car amp to work with x3 + 2 8's
Sep 18, 2014 at 11:42 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 11

krazydeal777

New Head-Fier
Hey  i just got a fiio x3 , i got custom car speakers , subs, and a custom deck. However im missing an amp that connects to the subs and i feel something missing. Any recommendations for a amp? I really don't need to get a really expensive one but one that would fit nicely for that setup. Theres 2 doorspeakers and the subs i think are 8s or 10's so something that will work nice there maybe 600-1200 watts? Let me know what you think . I am kinda new to this stuff.

Sep 18, 2014 at 12:36 PM Post #2 of 11
Why use the X3? What's that "custom deck" anyway? Time alignment processing is a lot more important in a car audio environment. In my car I don't use the EQ anymore after setting the T/A properly. Not even the best CDP or DAC in the world will correct the bigger problem of not sitting smack in the center of two monitors (and instead you're sitting closest to the driver side tweeter, driver side midwoofer, passenger side tweeter, passenger side midwoofer, and subwoofer - in that order).

In any case using a T/A processor will require five channels of amplification as well, since such a processor will use a DSP (and therefore do everything in the digital stage, prior to the DACs) and will send out analog signals that can already be set with active crossover settings for the tweeters, midwoofer, and subwoofer (my "new" processor will use a midrange as well, so that's a 3-way set-up in front with a sub in the back, and seven channels of amplification).

Sep 19, 2014 at 1:30 AM Post #4 of 11
  its 50w - 4x and So are u saying i should have a amplifier in the front and with the subs? and what channel amps?