STAX SR-L700 MK2 + STAX SRM-D50 Electrostatic Headphone Amplifier : Mini Review
Jan 17, 2023 at 2:28 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 3

FullBright1

Headphoneus Supremus
Date : 1-17-2023.

Amplifier Box : Its outstanding. One of the best opening experiences i've every enjoyed.

Headphones Box : Good quality, but not impressive.

Headphones Comfort : Perfect

Headband : Perfect

Cups : Leather - Perfect.

First, before i dive into the SQ of this Stax Package/Set, let me admire the Amplifier.

I have to tell you that i seldom feel that expensive Headphone related gear FEELS expensive and worth the high cost. But in the case of the Stax SRM-D50....This amp just oozes "High End" quality.
Its heavy, its built like a tank, and its just impressive regarding the Eye of the Beholder, and it gets very warm as the Aluminum heat sink body deals with it.

Next. The Stax L700 Mk2, are comfy. All day comfy.

And....I am new to the world of E-Stats, and i can only speak to the sound im hearing that is the end-product of this Combination.

=
STAX SR-L700 MK2 + STAX SRM-D50 Electrostatic Headphone Amplifier

SOUND :

Years ago, i owned the Koss E-stat $500 set and liked it, tho its extremely bass light.
It reminded me of the HD600 on sonic steroids, yet devoid of any bass. So, when i purchased this STAX Set-Up, i was concerned that i'd paid a bit of cash flow for a nice package, that was going to sound thin and trebly.
= NOT AT ALL.
Have you heard the SADE song....>"Smooth Operator", from the '80s?
Well, this perfectly defines this Impressive all STAX Combo im now evaluating for you.
This particular set of E-Stat Stax Headphones being powered by this particular Stax Amp is velvet perfection FR wise, and otherwise.

Sound Wise :

In a nutshell the review is.....>" Stuff sounds REAL". "Wow". "Can't stop listening". "Right out of the box, the sound is magical". "why can't any Planer headphone sound this amazing"....

For the extended version of the Review........(see below).